We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE AND FRUSTRATING EXPERIENCE OVERALL !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chancery Pavilion
Ranked #108 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE AND FRUSTRATING EXPERIENCE OVERALL !!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were a part of corporate and do regularly visit Bangalore, where this is my first experience with Chancery Hotels and was indeed horrifying and frustrating to the extent possible.

Few points that are a major concern and areas for further improvement in case you would like to adapt:
1. The front desk staff / Duty Manager completely denied having any conversations with me which is a shocker as I have been speaking to them regularly about my reservation since last week. Not a sign of integrity on behalf of hotel authorities. I have multiple data points to substantiate this issue…
2. I had to waste 3 hours in this entire process today trying to request and chase people for no reason but nothing came to rescue. It was all so messy and instead of figuring out a solution we were trying to shred off our responsibilities.
3. I would like to bring to your attention the harassment that has been done and a very poor service quality exhibited from the Hotel Staff. During the entire discussion which lasted for more than 2 hours, it was a shocking experience that a 5 STAR property staff is not even courteous to serve at least glass of water to the guests. I have never experienced this anywhere, even a roadside cafe has this etiquettes, a total miss on the level of hospitality.
4. This issue got sorted only when I resorted to file a Customer Complaint as a litigation in the Consumer Court where I have been exposed to harassment and cheating from MakeMyTrip as well as Chancery Hotels and they have completely failed to keep their promises and were also not able to handle such issues. The service quality level to deliver and handle issues is way beyond expectation.

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share with us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. At the outset, please let me extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you at the hotel.We have noted your concern and have investigated the entire incident and taken corrective action to avoid any re occurrence of this sort in future.

We have also spoken to Make My Trip and taken corrective action as your booking was made through MMT and not directly with the hotel

We always endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    320
    151
    76
    47
See reviews for
95
59
57
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a room in this hotel at the last minute. We had actually booked elsewhere and wasnt happy, and on the off chance ask the Chancery if they had a spare room. They did, on the 8th Floor. It was great, a clean modern room with friendly staff. We ate breakfast and dinners for one week in the restaurant downstairs, and the food was perfect. It had a good mix of Indian and western food to keep everyone happy, and the quality of everything was excellent. We couldn't have been happier. The location was good, just a Auto Rickshaw ride from Commercial Street for shopping ( I think we paid 200 rupees, about $3.80 - $4AUD to get there). A Chemist that spoke good English across the road. Next door was a currency exchange.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpertot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We thank you for your feedback. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind comments on the buffet spread & services that you experienced.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chancery Pavilion.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puttaparthi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Provides clean and well maintained rooms. Has nice cuisine. Bed and Breakfast deals are good. Has a lavish spread of breakfast options including continental and Indian. WiFi connectivity is good. Located on a busy traffic street. You will need a vehicle to get in and out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors tend to be quieter and noise free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind comments that you experienced.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chancery Pavilion.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing and Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was on a business trip with my US delegation to Bangalore and had to stay at this hotel.
This is definitely not a 5 star and barely a 4 star facility.
For the price they charged us, this hotel was expensive.
Even though I had opted for non-smoking floor, it had this smuggy smoky odor on the entire floor.
They did offer all of us the club room but it was not impressive at all. Just an average.
Nothing fancy, impressive.
FOOD as well was average, nothing exclusive about it. Most of the time we ate outside and used the restaurant only for breakfast.

Would not recommend for business trips!!

Room Tip: Don't keep your room keys next to Cellphone, it stops working for 5-10 minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundipK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share with us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. At the outset, please let me extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you at the hotel.We have taken a note of all the points mentioned and will do the needful required.

We always endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you're travelling for work and need an accomodation, Chancery Pavilion is probably the most ideal hotel with comfortable and extremely clean rooms, unless ofcourse you need some help or room service. I stayed there for 2 days and I could wish for nothing more than to find another hotel to stay in. Food ordered in the room is delivered after an abnormal gap of 1 hour and 3 reminders. Complementory wifi mentioned on the webiste or elsewhere is just a hoax to mislead the customers. Wifi (if atall, it works) is extremely slow, and 98% of the times does not work. Not only this, but the hotel does not repsond to any grievances raised in this regard, expect for a standard answer that our servers are presently down and the IT person is fixing it. Something simple like getting a print of my boarding pass was told to them and the reception re-assured me that the same will be ready the momemt I'm done with my meeting. Not only that same was ofcourse not done but also nobody in the staff had much or idea of these instructions. I trip full of inconvenience and disappointment, I would suggest you rather choose another hotel for a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoojaThacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out to share with us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. At the outset, please let me extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding delay in room service order , internet not working at the hotel and reception staff not meeting up to your expectation.Kindly note we have taken up your concerns with the operational and IT team and will do the needful to avoid any re-occurrence of this sort in future .

We always Endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have been using this hotel for the past three years and its been a revelation. Located bang opposite the Bangalore club, it easy to find and is on a busy road. The service is quick, room are modern and suited for a corporate guest. Good wifi and an excellent breakfast spread. The Gym and Pool arent worth talking about. The TV could have been upgraded. Otherwise they ensure speed and efficient movement in and out of the hotel.

Walking distance from UB city makes it easy for food and evening entertainment options.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are better as they give a view of the Bangalore Club and UB city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OshoKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. At the outset, please let me extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding Gym & pool not meeting your expectation and TV up gradation, However, for discerning travelers like you we also have our Club Pavilion rooms which are a higher category room type, should you wish to book the same during your next visit, I would be most happy to assist.

Let me assure you, that, we are deeply committed to the comforts of our guests and we will continue to strive for your best experience. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit. Kindly note we have taken a note of your comments and will do the needful required in this regard.

Warm regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Excellent members of staff, very humble though some like those cleaning rooms do not speak English but still you are able to communicate and make your request. You also get as much of mineral water as you wish for free which is remarkable considering this is a commodity that has to be purchased in other hotels.

I enjoyed my experience. Nice spacious rooms and fantastic breakfast menu.

Room Tip: You can take a walk on the streets without feeling any threat of insecurity despite the fact that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggithaiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind comments on the services that you experienced.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chancery Pavilion.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing and Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#154 of 652 in Bengaluru
291 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#43 of 652 in Bengaluru
694 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 652 in Bengaluru
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Bangalore
#53 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,270 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#5 of 652 in Bengaluru
977 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#51 of 652 in Bengaluru
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery Pavilion

Property: The Chancery Pavilion
Address: 135 Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#66 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#92 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chancery Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancery Pavilion is a 225 room, 5-star hotel set on an elevation amidst the heart of Bangalore's central business district on Residency Road. With its close proximity to key places of interest, The Chancery Pavilion is the perfect destination for business travelers, tourists, medical visits and even quick getaways. With state-of-the-art banquet facilities spread over 20,000 sq. ft. this hotel is the ideal place to facilitate corporate workshops, wedding receptions or even informal gatherings. Signature restaurants offer the finest food and beverage experience serving Indian and global delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chancery Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Pavillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing