We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chancery Pavilion
Ranked #101 of 665 Hotels in Bengaluru
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Simply Avoid!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had made a bulk booking this month for a family function and it was indeed the most horrible experience of the hospitality especially because I have always found Bangalore Hotels a notch above most cities that I have traveled. The rooms provided were totally dilapidated, old, hackneyed and broken furniture for which the most arrogant set of staff have no apology instead right from the front office guy until the GM of the hotel only argue. Top this up with the house keeping staff not making your room by replenishing the essentials. You go down and you are not allowed breakfast though all rooms booked were on breakfast inclusive rates. If you try to complain or reach the sales lady; she will simply avoid your calls. Apart from the usual humiliation of the guests, the double whammy is my booking advance was not returned until 2 weeks because, we complained and raised disputes on the services and handling. Guys! it is a property in which the staff are conspiring to close it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagarajan_udupa, General Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Greetings from the Chancery Pavilion.

Sir at the outset we met and I tried my level best to have a cordial discussion with you but failed due to your stubborn attitude. We explained to you as per our current practice breakfast is complimentary for every room night charged and only those check in early and have breakfast on the day of arrival pay for it. However we do not refuse breakfast in any which way.

We have noted your comments with concern especially regarding housekeeping, sales team member and advance not being paid back. You may wish to recall when you reached the hotel the account was settled in less than five minutes and I see no reason to delay your refund.

We believe you are entitled to your opinion and we respect that.

With warm regards
Nagarajan J Udupa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    336
    154
    80
    48
See reviews for
107
60
59
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed there for an overnight and spent sometime therefrom end of day 1 to middle of day 2.

Had a great experience and would recommend the place. The staff is modest and cordial; rooms are nicely done up and spacious for even colleagues to share in case that is the policy. Also it has enough place for conducting meetings / concalls during the daytime if need be, though was slightly surprised that the phone didnt have a speaker. i had a very late check in and requested for allowing to conduct a call / meeting in the room which i could do very effectively. Post check out i could leave my luggage at the counter there and spend couple of hours over a coffee at the coffee shop for meetings and it worked very smooth.

The bathrooms were clean and well contained. They would do well to fix the shower a bit as it was either rusty or simply not good enough to be adjusted.

The food at the restaurant was good enough not needing to go out. The buffet spread had good options for dinner and breakfast options were even better. The rooms, hotel and food are suitable both for families as well as business visits.

As compared to other hotels in the category, the taxi / concierge service was quite expensive.

All in all, worthy for a stay and just in case there is a good deal, you should not select any other option.

Room Tip: For those who would like to sleep late and / or get up a little later dont select the room overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was extensively used by me during 2009 through 2011.
Though it claims to be a 5 star hotel, but somewhere in subsequent years i.e. in 2013 I found there has been deterioration of services.
All people changed.
Check-in and check-out times are awfully longer.
Free WiFi but in few of the corner rooms lacked good signal strength.

Except the breakfast, I think food is not all that great.
The room services also takes time and possibly fish items were good.

There is a gym in the miuns 2 floor where some banquet hall are also there.
The location is great, like bang opposite of Bangalore club.
There are several nearby good restaurants.
Like Harima.
Also a more cheaper restaurant available for the continental preparation at the basement floor from road.
The hotel is on the one way traffic and therefore, one has to be very cautious about the speeding past vehicles while walking on the road.

Room Tip: You may choose non-smoking rooms as the smoking rooms stinks because of the absorption by the carpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probodh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagarajan_udupa, General Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Greetings from the Chancery Pavilion.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay during your recent visit to Bangalore and for the kind words of compliments. We have noted your comments with concern especially regarding breakfast service and food in general. We will do the needful to improve and hope that you will have a better experience on your next visit.

We look forward to your next visit.

with warm regards
Nagarajan J Udupa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was best business hotel in heart of city. room and breakfast was great. it is very close to brigade road. even you can enjoy mid night bufe. All the room is with bath tub. you can also the the bar in the lobby

Room Tip: Take the room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manzrisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

While I did not STAY there officially, I spent a couple of days & a night there for an event setup. Hotel staff are very co-operative to say at the least. Rooms are spacious, clean & well maintained. However, having CRTs in these modern times is something that I could not understand. Having said that, the stay there & overall experience was truly good.

Room Tip: Try getting road-facing rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parikhshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I chose this hotel based on some Trip Advisor reviews, and after confirming with a friend from Bangalore who had attended parties held in this hotel. We were quite a large group - we booked 3 rooms. I found the wait staff at the restaurant VERY helpful, and courteous - the food was safe, we had no food-related problems at all. The kids enjoyed the pool (they were one of the few who were in the pool). The rooms were spacious, and nicely furnished. Basically, it felt like any other good hotel room I'd have found in the US. We stayed for a week.
The travel desk was very approachable, and helpful with comparing costs for various options;
and arranged the hotel car whenever we needed it - which got to us (at various points in the city) quite quickly (except for 1 out of something like 10 trips) - quite good, I would say.
I must say that the room we had booked for my parents started having a faint, but noticeable odor. Our vacation got complicated and I didn't have time to work with the hotel to change rooms - but they were quite willing to work with us - so I don't fault them much for that at all.
All the staff were incredibly helpful, without sounding like they were looking for tips - for me that was such a relief.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagarajan_udupa, General Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Greetings from the Chancery Pavilion.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay during your recent visit to Bangalore and for the kind words of compliments. We have noted your comments with concern especially regarding the room allotted to your parents. We are undertaking corrective measures to ensure better experience for our guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

with warm regards
Nagarajan J Udupa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my first visit to The Chancery pavilion. I stayed with my family and my sister's family...

We took couple of rooms. rooms are ok... but surprised to see those old 90's style TV in the room.. that is not a problem.. we vacated the room as we had to go to mysore for a trip.. and we had a flight on back to Dubai after 3 days so we had planned to come on d day of d flight n go directly to the airport but due to some reasons we had to change the plan and leave d very next day to Bangalore. so I called the chancery pavilion to reserve 2 rooms. After my call got transferred 3 to 4 times.. finally my call was attended and booking was confirmed.

Next day i go to the hotel to check in funny part was that the reception staff is totally blank about my reservation. And then a lady named Nidhi (i am not sure if the spelling is correct) very warm, quick and attentive comes and attends us asking for what happened...I should say that i did not expect a person of this kind to be in the chancery pavilion after having such an experience and then she assured that each of our needs were met. i asked her that i wanted the same room 327 on the third floor that i stayed 2 days back she was go kind to consider that and gave me the same room. she apologised for what had happened very professionally yet genuinely... so quickly she finished all the procedure and handed over the keys within 5 mins everything was over and i had keys in my hand. this actually made me forget about all the hassles that i had experienced so far...After that we had to extend our stay by 1 more day she considered that as well and restaurant staffs were very attentive and well mannered... Over all I would considering staying in the chancery pavilion on my next visit as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saheedahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagarajan_udupa, General Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Greetings from the Chancery Pavilion.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay during your recent visits to Bangalore and for the kind words of compliments. We have noted your comments with concern especially regarding the reservation call and the booking not being there. We are investigating and will certainly do the needful to improve.

We look forward to your next visit.

with warm regards
Nagarajan J Udupa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#172 of 665 in Bengaluru
297 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#44 of 665 in Bengaluru
746 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#58 of 665 in Bengaluru
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#7 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery Pavilion

Property: The Chancery Pavilion
Address: 135 Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#64 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#92 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chancery Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancery Pavilion is a 225 room, 5-star hotel set on an elevation amidst the heart of Bangalore's central business district on Residency Road. With its close proximity to key places of interest, The Chancery Pavilion is the perfect destination for business travelers, tourists, medical visits and even quick getaways. With state-of-the-art banquet facilities spread over 20,000 sq. ft. this hotel is the ideal place to facilitate corporate workshops, wedding receptions or even informal gatherings. Signature restaurants offer the finest food and beverage experience serving Indian and global delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chancery Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Pavillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing