We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service. Not meant for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chancery Pavilion
Ranked #58 of 730 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My 2 colleagues and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.

Pros:
Location

Cons:
Horrible checking experience. The staff simply doesn't understand customer service. They take all the time in the world to check in and don't seem to be sensitive to the customers at all.
It is not.
By no standards, this can be called 5*. They still have CRTs in the room and not LCDs.
Both the days, we couldn't have the dinner at their restaurant because of the intolerable and loud music being played in a close by conference room hosting wedding functions. Luckily, since this is a central place, getting out and having dinner at a decent restaurant is not that hard.

Room Tip: Unless location is important for you, dont go for this hotel. You are better off with a 3* one inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hemalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 958 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here in Sept 2012 for 6 nights. I have previously stayed at The Taj West End which is excellent but I have to say that the food here was better than The Taj. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room was clean and spacious. All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: If you like Rock Music go for a beer in the Purple Haze Bar. Turn right as you come out of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel. The rooms a quite dated but clean and the king size beds are very comfortable with crisp white bed linen changed daily. Breakfast is good, serving both Indian and English style. No real complaints except for the Internet connection speed. It's worse than dial up, and I'm not kidding. Internet is free however, but I would rather pay and have a decent connection speed.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

10 min walk from mg and brigade road.
Good service, very good rooms. Breakfast ok. Room service was good but highly overpriced. Wifi was useless and the pool wasnt as clean as one would expect. Overall, comfortable and appropriate for a business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrARKCoimbatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in August on business. Room was large and bed comfortable but being picky decor was quite tired. Compared to other hotels in Bangalore cleanliness was very good. Some strange rules eg we were able to buy Kingfisher in the restaurant but not in the bar. Breakfast was good quality but western options were limited which might bother some people. Food in the evenings was good although my (Indian) companions found some of the food too spicy. Gym well equipped. Like other reviewers I left and arrived in the very early morning so airport transfers very simple. Hotel is a bit soulless but staff very friendly. I would stay there again - it was mouse friendly enough ......

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed for just one night on a business trip. Arrived late. The staff was helpful. Room was good, clean. The breakfast was average. The wifi connection was terrible. The bathroom was a little congested.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I just returned from a work trip to Bangalore where I stayed at the chancery pavilion. I was lucky to arrive and leave late and early, reducing the transfer time from the airport to about 45 mins. The hotel is centrally located l, near to MG and Brigade roads. It is possible to walk to the shopping and eating areas in about 15 mins.

The hotel itself has seen better days. While the lobby and restaurants appear to have been refurbished, the rooms are in need of a serious overhaul. Hard bed, leaking sink, patched up bathtub. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel.

The Indian food at breakfast and lunch was tasty and plentiful. Live egg and dosa stations at breakfast ensured they were hot and fresh. The western food is best avoided as it was made using poor quality ingredients, overcooked and tepid.

We used one of the conference rooms as well as the executive lounge for our meetings while we were there. These too are in need of some refurbishment. We found the equipment to be lacking and some problems with power supply which the hotel staff couldnt fix. The staff were nice in both locations but extremely ineffective.

Having said this, the reception, restaurant and cleaning staff were cheerful, welcoming and helpful. One day I had left a tea bag of my favourite tea in the room. When I came back from work, I found a pile of the same tea bags waiting for me!

An ok place to stay if you are in Bangalore for work and like a central location.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Pride Hotel
#49 of 730 in Bengaluru
823 reviews
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#107 of 730 in Bengaluru
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
J.P. Nagar
Quality Inn Shravanthi
Quality Inn Shravanthi
#238 of 730 in Bengaluru
151 reviews
Jayanagar
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#140 of 730 in Bengaluru
210 reviews
Cubbon Park
Springs Hotel & Spa
Springs Hotel & Spa
#91 of 730 in Bengaluru
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery Pavilion

Address: 135 Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#48 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#92 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: $65 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chancery Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancery Pavilion is a 225 room, 5-star hotel set on an elevation amidst the heart of Bangalore's central business district on Residency Road. With its close proximity to key places of interest, The Chancery Pavilion is the perfect destination for business travelers, tourists, medical visits and even quick getaways. With state-of-the-art banquet facilities spread over 20,000 sq. ft. this hotel is the ideal place to facilitate corporate workshops, wedding receptions or even informal gatherings. Signature restaurants offer the finest food and beverage experience serving Indian and global delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chancery Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Pavillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing