We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property But Reception Staff Are A Let Down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore
Ranked #131 of 669 Hotels in Bengaluru
Secunderabad
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Property But Reception Staff Are A Let Down”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After driving down to Bangalore for 564 kms, the first thing one would want to do is to check-in, as soon as possible, hit the bed and RELAX!!! But that was not meant to be, as the staff at the reception made us wait for a good 25 minutes, before we could check-in. We kept asking them if our room was ready and we got one answer repeatedly, that the room was being cleaned. When you are charging your guest Rs.6,500/- per night, the least they can do is provide their guest a hassle free check-in. The staff at the reception were busy chatting with each other and eating the mouth fresheners meant for the guests. They were not bothered about us and kept looking at the entrance, like they were expecting the Prime Minister. Finally, we did check in but were not given the room that we had booked (The Club Room). Instead, we were given another room ie. The Suite Room, on the pretext that we have been upgraded.
The room was spacious and well designed, so was the bathroom. Just outside our room (309) to the left, there was a service staircase, the door was always left open and we could see soiled towels, bed sheets, dirt strewn all over the place and the most obnoxious odour emanated from there. The complimentary breakfast was good. Wi Fi was free but we could not use this service, as we were told that due to the rains there was some connectivity problems. The dinner buffet at Kebab Studio was good. On day 1, we were served all the snacks but on day 2 we were told that the snacks were not included in our package. We found it really strange because we are not big eaters and on the 1st day we did not eat a lot of snacks, as they were not cooked properly. The staff need to go for a crash course in hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecbadRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadya s, General Manager at Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Goldfinch, Bengaluru!

I would like to thank you for giving us your valuable feedback on our services during your recent stay at the Hotel Goldfinch.

May I, at the outset, proffer my most sincere apologies for the reported inconvenience caused to you as a result of our indiscretion and lack of customer orientation and judgment. I am also appalled at the series of sequential service lapses.

May I request you to pardon us on this occasion and provide my team and me with another opportunity to ensure that you have a pleasant and impeccable experience at the Goldfinch. I would like to assure you that I have viewed your survey most seriously and immediate corrective measures are being taken to address the same. May I also request you to treat this as an aberration not reflective of our normal service standards and customer care.

Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter. Please feel free to contact me, should you need any assistance, whatsoever.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Goldfinch Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

S.M.Doss,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    128
    53
    17
    18
See reviews for
48
40
22
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed in Goldfinch Bangalore for three nights for attending the conference and I have enjoyed lot and rooms are big and clean, they have three restaurant and we tried all three restaurant and food is awesome. staff are really good and helpful.
The hotel situated in city centre and close to central railway station and Bus terminals.The Kabab Studio a speciality tandoori restaurant worth mentioning. The Spa is also very good. I recommend this hotel to all as i will use this hotel for my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahil-imtiaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadya s, General Manager at Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the Hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Goldfinch way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Goldfinch hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

S.M.Doss,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in Goldfinch Bangalore for three nights for attending the conference with our friends and we have enjoyed lot and rooms are big and clean, they have three restaurant and we tried all three restaurant and food is awesome. staff are really good and Ms.Steffi is very helpful. we use this hotel for our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadya s, General Manager at Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the Hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Goldfinch way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Goldfinch hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

S.M.Doss,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a meeting in the Goldfinch hotel and the rooms were booked for overnight stay.The hotel situated in city centre and close to central railway station and Bus terminals.The food and services were excellent in Kabab Studio a speciality tandoori restaurant. We enjoyed our stay.We recommend a stay at this hotel.

S.L.Gowda,
Mysore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shivalinge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadya s, General Manager at Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the Hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Goldfinch way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Goldfinch hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

S.M.Doss,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I am currently writing this review from the hotel room,booked this hotel through hotels.com 30 days in advance.we are a family of 4 with 2year old and 3 month old baby.arrived at the hotel at 12.00 pm .submitted passports and filled in the details.after waiting for 20 mins,i went and asked the reception about the reason for the delay,which they adviced i need to wait for some more time,which i felt was unnesessary and the room should have been ready by 12 pm to check in.
After 25 mins we were checked in superior room where as i had booked gold clubroom and the room smelled of cigarette smoke.i had already requested nonsmoking room,apparently the are no nonsmoking rooms existent in this hotel.as we refused to enter the room filled with cig smoke,we had to wait another 20mins in the corridor for a non smoking zone room..again they checked us in superior room which was run down and felt like living in hostel.Thebath room had broken marble and white shets spread on the corridor which were unsightly .after repeated requests for another 2hrs we finally got our club room with faulty air conditioner,We requetsed to speak to the incharge manageress Ms.Yogeshwari We foundher attitude absolutely rediculous as there was no regret about keeping us wait or all the inconvienience we had .She knocked our room to find out the problem.she was not courteous,no apology for inconvenience It took nearly 2 hrs after several attempts by technicians who had no clue how to rectify the problem.i would recommend not to choose this hotel and do not get fooled by the pictures on the website,it is not like what it looks on the internet,breakfast was very basic and no room cleaning even once a day.windows are not double glazed so plenty on road noise.there are plenty of good hotels in bangalore so my advice is avoid this hotel even if it is half price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadya s, General Manager at Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Goldfinch, Bengaluru!!!

I would like to thank you for giving us your valuable feedback on our services during your recent stay at the Hotel Goldfinch.

May I, at the outset, proffer my most sincere apologies for the reported inconvenience caused to you as a result of our indiscretion and lack of customer orientation and judgment. I am also appalled at the series of sequential service lapses.

May I request you to pardon us on this occasion and provide my team and me with another opportunity to ensure that you have a pleasant and impeccable experience at the Goldfinch. I would like to assure you that I have viewed your survey most seriously and immediate corrective measures are being taken to address the same. May I also request you to treat this as an aberration not reflective of our normal service standards and customer care.

Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter. Please feel free to contact me, should you need any assistance, whatsoever.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Goldfinch Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

S.M.Doss,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had been to Goldfinch for lunch with family and relatives. It's a star hotel or at least looks like one. So we knew this was going to be expensive. But anyways, the food was really good and we had a great time.

I would like to rate the hotel with respect to the following parameters.

Deliciousness: 4/5 -- Starters were pretty good and the main course was also yum. We were pretty full for the desserts so we skipped that :P

Ambience: 5/5

Cleanliness: 5/5

Quality of Service: 3.5/5 -- Service was decent. Nothing special to mention.

Bang for Your Buck: 3.75/5

Overall Dining Experience: 4/5

Visit again: Yes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abmutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadya s, General Manager at Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings from Goldfinch, Bangalore!!!

Thank you for your very encouraging and positive comments made at your recent visit to our Restaurant, Goldfinch Hotel - Bangalore.

It’s this reassurance of delivering the finest experience that aids us to strengthen our hospitality experience for guests as discerning as you. We are happy to have met your set standards that led to your enjoyable experience.

Do join us again to experience, our strive to deliver more and beyond. Walk in for a fine experience of hospitality and choose from a platter of offerings all distinct and varied to make your time a special one with us.

Sana Di Ge – 080-41291300, 8904036513
Banjara – 080 – 41291300, 8904036512
Kabab Studio – 080 – 41291300, 7760976603
Banquet - 080 – 41291300, 8904036514

Assuring you of a warm welcome at Goldfinch with its hallmarked quality of hospitality and service at all times.

Yours Sincerely,

S.M.Doss,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel looks very funky in photos ,but not in reality ,staffs are little stubborn they are not flexible in greeting guests which i think they should improve ,
restaurants are good
spa ambience is good
rooms are also good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vipin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadya s, General Manager at Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Goldfinch, Bengaluru!

I would like to thank you for giving us your valuable feedback on our services during your recent stay at the Hotel Goldfinch.

May I, at the outset, proffer my most sincere apologies for the reported inconvenience caused to you as a result of our indiscretion and lack of customer orientation and judgment. I am also appalled at the series of sequential service lapses.

May I request you to pardon us on this occasion and provide my team and me with another opportunity to ensure that you have a pleasant and impeccable experience at the Goldfinch. I would like to assure you that I have viewed your survey most seriously and immediate corrective measures are being taken to address the same. May I also request you to treat this as an aberration not reflective of our normal service standards and customer care.

Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter. Please feel free to contact me, should you need any assistance, whatsoever.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Goldfinch Hotels.

Yours sincerely,


S.M.Doss,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
37th Crescent Hotel Bangalore
#151 of 669 in Bengaluru
139 reviews
Fortune Park BBD, Lucknow
#82 of 669 in Bengaluru
481 reviews
The Lalit Ashok
#39 of 669 in Bengaluru
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domlur
Ramada Encore Bangalore Domlur
Radisson Blu Atria Bengaluru
#53 of 669 in Bengaluru
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore

Property: Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore
Address: 32/3 Crescent Road High Grounds | Off Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 669 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldfinch hotel,This 49 room boutique hotel located in the city center is the first choice among business travelers and tourists visiting Bangalore. Its understated luxury and sophisticated interiors enables it to be in a class apart amongst hotel chains vying to be in its league. With three of MRG Group's most successful and well known restaurant brands Banjara, Sana-di-ge and Kabab Studio located within the hotel premises, it promises the guests a delightful variety of cuisine to savour from during their stay. The hotel also houses a large and spacious banquet hall to conduct your meetings or conferences in, a luxurious Spa to cater to the guest's personal needs and a well equipped gymnasium to work away the stress after a hard day's work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing