We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chancery
Nearby Hotels
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$413
$266
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$161
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj West End(Bengaluru)
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lalit Ashok(Bengaluru)
$98
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St Mark's Hotel(Bengaluru)
$84
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Bengaluru(Bengaluru)
$213
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
84
132
79
37
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
132
79
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavelle roadsouth paradechinnaswamy stadiumcorporate hotelvalue for moneycubbon parkbrigade roadlobby managersmoking roomub cityexcellent locationcommercial streetcomfortable stayrestaurant staffcentral locationbreakfast buffetspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 356 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I'm not quite sure what a corporate hotel is, but that is how its publicity describes The Chancery; it is very reasonably-priced for a business hotel in Bangalore. This may be because it’s less slick and glossy and ‘international’ than other business-oriented hotels in the city – it’s noticeable that the staff have a less competent grasp of English than in the other hotels I’ve used here (Oberoi, Park, Taj Gateway) but are equally pleasant and customer-focused. It’s a bit further from the city centre but ultimately no more or less convenient because of that. The building is quite venerable – lots of wooden fittings in the rooms – but has been well maintained and everything works. The in-room TVs are distinctly old-fashioned (4:3 22" CRT) but there is a stunning range of TV channels thanks to the in-room cable decoder which also provides a high-quality picture. The in-room a/c has no temperature control - it's either on or off, and there was no discernible difference between the three fan speed settings. In-room WiFi is free but connection to the internet can be temperamental at times of high demand. Breakfast (adequate) does not officially start until 7, which is sometimes difficult for someone with an early appointment, but in fact most of the buffet was in place by 6.30 and they were happy to let me start then even if there was as yet no one available to cook eggs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelling_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

We deal with a company in Bangalore who have regularly booked any of our representatives into the Chancery whenever we go to Bangalore, so, from colleagues tales I knew what to expect.

I would suggest the way to approach the Chancery is with a sense of humour. Its an Indian experience... The hotel may have been very grand some time ago, but is now relatively shabby, with a faded air. Sockets in rooms may or may not work, the same for lights, and any other facilities. The bathrooms are shabby, but passable.

The rooms however, smell and palpably feel damp - bedding, towels and eventually your clothes will all also feel damp. I took lavender joss sticks with me to try to counter some of the smell at least, which worked - sort of.

There are loads of staff around, including as security (which appeared totally unneccessary) 24 hours a day on each floor. However, I agree with the earlier review which said that you have to ask 3 or 4 people before you actually get what you want - and then maybe not even what you want, but some approximation of the same. For instance, a request for a cup of tea may eventually, result in a cup of something - maybe coffee, perhaps with or without sugar or milk regardless of what you had specified - and sometimes nothing at all! Despite this, several people will ask you if you are OK - even if you have just answered them!.

Reception, however, was fast, efficient and helpful.

The on site restaurant food was pretty awful, but at the front of the hotel (attached to the hotel) is a decent Indian restaurant, although again service is totally random.

There are 2 Chancery hotels in Bangalore - this one & the Chancery Pavilion, which is more modern & nicer - if you have booked here or your company has booked you here, check you didn't intend to book the other one, as you'll be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sparklerhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

The folks here at least didn’t expect me to drink water out of the toilet wash-basin!!

I stayed at Chancery around 10 times & never I had a problem with the staff - In a place like Bangalore where the hotel tariffs sky-rocket each passing day, Chancery's really reasonable. In terms of location, it can't get any better - it's the best location to have a hotel in Bangalore....close to MG Road, Brigade Road...but relatively insulated from the noise & pollution.

Yeah I agree, the towels aren’t exactly “just bought” & the furniture isn’t mahogany…. sure it's not a Leela or Taj....but what the heck…. it's economical, clean, functional & it has a good address...

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viswanatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Chancery!!!

We are delighted to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time off to share your valuable feedback. We constantly strive to deliver best experiences to our guests and it is highly gratifying to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Chancery.

Warm Regards,
Team Chancery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

The hotel's facade is in pink and tucked into a turn on Lavelle Road located near Hard Rock, MG road and the cricket stadium. The location is not bad with easy access to MG road although most of our drivers past it without realising.

The bedroom furnishings and bathroom fittings are relatively old. TV comes with about 100 channels. Rooms facing the back of the hotel are much quieter.

The hotel has a good and underused gym. There are spa facilities like steam bath, sauna but I wasn't sure about it's cleanliness.

I found the hotel staff generally friendly except for the reception. Maybe it was because my check in was around 11pm.

The cafeteria-restaurant food is ok although there are nice eating places within 15mins walk from the hotel.

Chancery's billed itself as a corporate hotel and by and large fulfills this service. Everything's a bit old except for the gym which for me was the highlight of my stay. Hotel's price is not much better than newer hotels of similiar class.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LED6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Chancery!!!

We are delighted to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time off to share your valuable feedback. We constantly strive to deliver best experiences to our guests and it is highly gratifying to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Chancery.

Warm Regards,
Team Chancery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

This was a relatively expensive hotel for what it offered. The rooms were shabby: The small number of electric sockets were badly installed, the room smelt of a combination of fly-spray and damp. The room, though fairly clean, had stained furniture.

The sheets and towels were cleanish - but had obviously been washed many times as they were grey.

There was little or no sound proofing and was woken up each at 2-30am on each of the three nights I stayed there by a barking dog!

The food was OK - but getting a tea/coffee in the morning was a frustrating experience. All I wanted was a tea bag in a cup of hot water!

Fortunately I was visiting on business!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kent_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews