We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel......Good Location.....”
Review of The Chancery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chancery
Ranked #173 of 681 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed May 28, 2014

One of the best hotels in Bangalore with great discounts for corporates....Always loved the stay here when working with a Big 4 audit firm....Still remains one of my favourite hotels in Bangalore...The location is great and away from the busy city, but well within the city...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahoof-rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure of having you stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore and we sincerely appreciate you for taking out time from your busy schedule and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more opportunities to be at your service in very near future.


Thank you,
Yours sincerely,
Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery Hotel
VP - Sales & marketing - The Chancery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 307 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

The location of this hotel is next to Chinnaswamy stadium. The rooms are big and comfortable. Breakfast is elaborate and very good. If they could educate their staff not to haggle the guests for tips, it would be great. In april, 2014 the hotel was under renovation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandygmaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore.

We thank you for taking time to share your compliments on Trip Advisor and are delighted to learn that you found our facilities, product and food to your satisfaction.

We also thank you for your feedback on our service. Whilst apologizing most sincerely for any inconvenience caused, please may I assure you that the team has been briefed on the same and this will be the subject of training in all our guest contact areas.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,
Yours sincerely,
Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery Hotel
VP - Sales & marketing - The Chancery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Rooms are nice , big and comfortable with all amanities. Very near to MG road and at center of Bangalore. Though the hotel is old but very well kept and you can see traditional style of wood been used on doors and wardrobes . Breakfact is good and elaborate. Staff is nice. Howver I felt the price if compared to Chancery pavellion is little on higher side. Rest is nice

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashgupta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you for sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful to you for appreciating our product and Services. Such kind words of appreciation motivate us to further deliver our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Average hotel at a good location. Also confused with Chancery Pavilion hotel while making the booking. Breakfast was great and so were the staff at the hotel. Rooms have central air conditioning and temperature cannot be controlled at the room

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenkateshCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure of having you stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore.

Thank you for your feedback and words of appreciation for the staff & food.It is our continuous endeavour to provide highest quality of service to our valued guests.

With regards to your comment on the A/C controls, as you are aware that all our rooms are in the process of renovation and this point has already been looked into for all renovated rooms.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to welcome you back at The Chancery.

Thank you,
Yours sincerely,
Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery Hotel
VP - Sales & marketing - The Chancery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Right in the heart of the city, off MG road and chinnaswamy stadium. The best place to stay at. Comfortable and clean rooms.Really good decor. Amazing selection at the buffet. The lunch was excellent. Will try out the Japanese restaurant the next time am there and write a review.
Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Chancery and do sincerely appreciate for taking out time to share your feedback on our hotel.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

It is our continuous endeavour to provide highest quality of service to our valued guests. Please let me know the details of your next visit to our property so that I can book a table for you in our Japanese speciality restaurant "Matsuri" as per your convenience.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to welcome you back at The Chancery.

Thank you,
Yours sincerely,
Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery Hotel
VP - Sales & marketing - The Chancery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is located at a ideal location near the city center and if you are someone who likes to go for a working walk then this is the best location in Bangalore. The famous Cubbon park is right across the hotel and you cannot find a greener place in the city for a walk.

The hotel is clean and well maintained, they have renovated the upper floors and the renovated rooms are much better than the older rooms that they offer. The service is courteous but a little slow.

The hotel has made quite some efforts to meet the expectations of Japanese guests. The room and bathroom fittings are marked in English and Japanese. Their is a Japanese restaurant too which serves good food and some staff can speak Japanese as well.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are a class apart compared to the older ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacr0sanct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Chancery and do sincerely appreciate for taking out time from your busy schedule and sharing your feedback on our hotel.

I am pleased to inform that we are renovating and upgrading our product so that the good facilities can be developed to better for our valued guests like you. Thank you for your appreciation for our Japanese restaurant "Matsuri".

We are grateful for recognising our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to provide highest quality of service to our valued guests.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to welcome you back at The Chancery.

Thank you,
Yours sincerely,
Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery Hotel
VP - Sales & marketing - The Chancery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times on a business trip. The only reason for booking this hotel is the location, owing to the chaotic Bangalore traffic if you need to travel in and around MG Rd area, then there is no better place than the Chancery. The building is old with a very basic lobby and reception area. Some rooms have been recently renovated. Although I was given a room on the 1st floor which was old and not worth the price. The furniture was old and cranky, the AC temeprature could not be controlled, and the bathroom had old fittings, Overall the whole room gave a lodge like feeling.The restaurant serves very basic food, more of South Indian flair. The breakfast had a limited spread. They do not have happy hours, so better walk down to MG Rd, Brigade Rd which is nearby in the evening.

I would recommend staying here only for convenienece of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomrang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking time to post your comments with the Trip Advisor Community and sharing your feedback on our hotel.

With regards to your feedback on our product, I am pleased to inform that we are renovating and upgrading our product so that the good facilities can be developed to better for discerning travellers like you. Please do contact me whenever you plan your next visit to Bangalore. I will be happy to block your accommodation in the renovated section of the hotel.

I have shared your feedback with my team and we do hope to surpass your expectations during your future stays with us.

I thank you once again for your time and look forward to welcome you back at The Chancery.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,
Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery Hotel
VP - Sales & marketing - The Chancery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Chancery Pavilion
#77 of 681 in Bengaluru
871 reviews
The Monarch Luxur
#8 of 681 in Bengaluru
859 reviews
Richmond Town
Southern Star Bangalore
Southern Star Bangalore
#70 of 681 in Bengaluru
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Royal Orchid Central
Royal Orchid Central
#63 of 681 in Bengaluru
757 reviews
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#127 of 681 in Bengaluru
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery

Address: 10/6 Lavelle Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 681 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range: $55 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chancery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though a 4-Star deluxe hotel, 5-Star luxury has been kept in mind while doing up The Chancery. Consequently, there are all the trappings that you would expect in a 5-Star. Starting with the location, to the splendid classic Gothic design, to the exquisitely furnished modern rooms, 24-hour service, fabulous restaurants,specialty Japanese Restaurant, i-phone docket, amenities like special business lounges, a fitness center, a beauty salon , a SPA . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chancery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing