We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for its property, service and location”
Review of The Chancery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chancery
Ranked #166 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Margao, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent value for its property, service and location”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We chose this hotel primarily for its location and it lived up to my expectation.

For what I paid, to get complimentary WiFi (even if for only one device), complimentary breakfast and the convenience of being able to walk to M G Road, Brigade Road, Commercial Street, it was an excellent deal.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the service of all the staff - it had a touch of being personal without being too intrusive.

As of Dec. 2013 sections of the hotel were under renovation. It didn't bother us since we were only there for a night but if someone is finicky about this, might be something to watch out for. At the same time, some fittings and furnishings that I felt had a worn-out look (e.g., sheets, bathroom fittings) will perhaps get addressed with this renovation.

The only thing I didn't like was that I was put up in a smoking room. I didn't complain because it was only for one night, but by default I would expect a hotel of this class to put me up in a non-smoking room and at least inform me if non-smoking rooms were all sold out.

Room Tip: Don't get confused between Chancery Pavilion and Chancery. Both are in the same neighbourhood, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhasmallya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

With regards to the Non-smoking room requirement, since we are in the process of upgrading our rooms and are operating on limited inventory, the front desk may not have able to deliver as per your request. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    114
    74
    35
    18
See reviews for
42
33
27
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Chancery Hotel in Lavelle Road is situated on prime property with easy accessibility to most tourist attractions as well as leisure centres. The hotel is great value for money considering that a lot of places in Bangalore are over priced but do not provide value for money.

The rooms are clean and the toilets acceptably clean. Do not order for a pizza from the hotel restaurant unless you like greasy par boiled vegetables and meat. The buffet breakfast which is complimentary with your stay can get a bit boring by day four as there is not much of a change in the morning menu. The nice part is that the staff is jovial and well mannered as well as are willing to help you out.

The UB city mall is only a ten minute walk that is pleasant as the roads aren't heavily used by traffic. MG road and Cubbon Park are to the left of the hotel.

Room Tip: Well the deluxe rooms are the simplest. If you choose to pick one that's fancy, you're bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A5hlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

With Reference to your comments on Pizza and breakfast menu, we have noted your comments seriously and shall ensure the same is looked into immediately on top priority.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a business trip for our Budgeting exercise. To my surprise the new renovated rooms were much better than other hotels we vist normally. Duty manager Mr Prem took care and ensure we are always comfortable. I was impressed by his hospitality and would recommend guest to try the new rooms.
Cheers Raj

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Buntyrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visited in month of january and was happy to find the accommodation given was worth every penny,food was awesome and the staff especially at check in counter were great,though the hotel was full,the level of service was the same

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragzreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel might be convienant to mg road but the rooms have a stale smell and mildew. Also staff service is poor and unprofessional. Rooms were not availabe at 2h30. Check your room service bill. Was constantly over charged. There are better hotels near mg in the same price range. I wont recommend using this hotel

Room Tip: Dont use the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navitha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to post your comments with the Trip Advisor Community.

With regards to your feedback on our product, I am pleased to inform you that we have renovated a section of the hotel’s bedrooms which are better suited for discerning travellers like you. Please do contact me whenever you plan your next visit to Bangalore I will be happy to block your accommodation in the renovated section of the hotel. Furthermore, we are undertaking renovation of the balance section of the hotel which is on going as I write to you.

With Regards to Over charge in your room service bill, we do apologize if the same has been committed due to over sight. Please do share the charges overcharged and I would be most happy to arrange for a Refund.

I have shared your comments with the team and we do hope to surpass your expectations during your future stays with us.


I thank you once again for your time and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Udupi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I booked this Hotel through makemytrip. We usually keep visiting bangalore every 3 months and book a 4-star or a 5-star hotel everytime we are here. This time we decided have a budgeted trip, hence we decided to stay in the chancery. The location is perfect, at the beginning of Lavelle road. We arrived at 7:00 am in the morning and I had previously mentioned about our early check in via email. But when we arrived, the hotel looked like a ghost house with absolutely nobody at the entrance which was quite weird. The person at the reception told us to to wait for a room for 30 mins. Eventually we got the room and I hit the bed only to realise that sheets weren't changed and were dirty. Rooms were quite nice but the bathroom was pretty shabby. We asked for an iron-box which never arrived. Finally during check out, we realised that they had charged us for one extra day for an early check in ! I have never experienced this in any other hotel. They didn't even mention about it any other time. Such kind of behavior is unacceptable. I would never stay here again despite the amazing location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavBhaaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to post your comments with the Trip Advisor Community.

With regards to your feedback on our product, I am pleased to inform you that we have renovated a section of the hotel’s bedrooms which are better suited for discerning travellers like you. Please do contact me whenever you plan your next visit to Bangalore I will be happy to block your accommodation in the renovated section of the hotel. Furthermore, we are undertaking renovation of the balance section of the hotel which is on going as I write to you.

With Regards to the Early Check-in Charges, Please note that our Check in time is 12:00Noon and as a Standard practice in hotels worldwide, Guaranteed early check-ins are provided at Extra Charge. I Have checked the details and a mail to this effect had been sent to you on 27.12.13, indicating that the early check in would attract additional charges

However, I have shared your comments with the team and we do hope to surpass your expectations during your future stays with us.


I thank you once again for your time and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located and the rooms are standard sizes and well kept. The housekeeping is of an excellent standard and the staff is extremely professional and helpful. We visited Bangalore after some 17 years and were looking for our old haunts all around the city. This place was excellent for it. The included buffet breakfast is a real treat and a cracker as there was food for all tastes from East Asia to Local delicacies. The food excellent, served hot and the wait staff were excellent and ever willing to help. The lobby staff were equally good and helpful. For long stay visitors like us it became a home and we soon enjoyed every dish in the menu with their excellent room service. Lets put it this way: it is 5 star standards for a value of say a 4 star. It is a place we will go back to any time. They have a good travel desk and you get served well if you plan in advance. Oh don't miss their fitness centre they have all machines, sauna and showers. Good stuff really made use of it.

Room Tip: Rooms all seemed to be the same as the views around are all city view. The place is set quite inward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcjkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Chancery Pavilion
#105 of 662 in Bengaluru
772 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#46 of 662 in Bengaluru
483 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#42 of 662 in Bengaluru
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#17 of 662 in Bengaluru
642 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 662 in Bengaluru
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery

Property: The Chancery
Address: 10/6 Lavelle Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chancery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though a 4-Star deluxe hotel, 5-Star luxury has been kept in mind while doing up The Chancery. Consequently, there are all the trappings that you would expect in a 5-Star. Starting with the location, to the splendid classic Gothic design, to the exquisitely furnished modern rooms, 24-hour service, fabulous restaurants,specialty Japanese Restaurant, i-phone docket, amenities like special business lounges, a fitness center, a beauty salon , a SPA . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Chancery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing