We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of The Chancery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chancery
Ranked #172 of 669 Hotels in Bengaluru
Bombay, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights from June 21st to 24th. It’s a cute little hotel at a good location. It is situated at 5 minutes walking distance from HRC and 10 minutes from UB city. So there were some good party places nearby. However, while checking in I was quite turned off by a few things:
when the person at the reception told me " No guests after 10PM". I mean, I've never heard of a curfew in a hotel anywhere in the world. So, if our friend wants to drop in after partying with us he cannot do so. We were told that it is for our security. A good hotel should be able to ensure security while allowing patrons their own freedoms. Moreover, it is completely illogical since if I take a guest into my room before 10 PM and he/ she doesn't come out for the whole night, how are they gonna stop it?
Any which way, then we told them that our friend is going to come over and may come in late and so we took an extra bed for the three nights. When we asked them for the rates we were told two different rates by two different people ( 1000 + taxes and 800+ taxes). The hotel staff does not seem to know the hotel rates very well.
At that point in time they didn't have a smoking room which we had asked for so they told us to move into a non-smoking one and they would give us a smoking one by evening. However, when we asked for the smoking room in the evening the person at the reception ( a different person than when we had checked in) told us without batting an eyelid that apparently they are completely booked out and there are no rooms left in the hotel. I refuse to believe this. I think the lady was just too lazy to check. And my doubt was further established when after a few hours I again enquired and they could give us a smoking room. So I feel that the reception staff were quite lazy.
However, I cannot complain about the other staff of the hotel since they were extremely courteous and polite. They always provide any help that we required no matter what the time of the day/ night was.. The room was a bit small but okay. However, the bathrooms are not 4 star standard. The bathroom do need upgradation. Since we were on a weekend saver rate it did not pinch us but had we paid the full rate we would have regretted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay with regard to the discrepancy in the charges of the extra bed and non-availability of Smoking Rooms initially.

Please may I assure you that I have addressed this matter with the team and all internal procedures have been strengthened and as a corrective measure the concerned associates have been sent for an immediate training session to make sure that incidents of this nature do not occur in future.

I would also like to keep you informed that the safety and security of all our guests are of utmost importance to us, hence after 08 pm we request our guest visitors to meet our in-house guest in the lobby or in our restaurant. Only guests who are registered with us can stay overnight in the room. We allow only a maximum of three registered guests per room. This is done keeping your security in mind.

I thank you once again for your time and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
VP Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    114
    76
    35
    18
See reviews for
42
33
27
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

a great deal of weekand package very nice hotel at this rate .weekend holday with family.at excellant location.smiling faces of good staff make your day great .breakfast is proper food & tasty with so many choices.a great package

Room Tip: front room with two single bed with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemant j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore.

We thank you for taking time to share your compliments on Trip Advisor and are delighted to learn that you found our facilities, product and food to your satisfaction.

We also thank you for your feedback on our service. Whilst apologizing most sincerely for the inconvenience caused , we are sure to complete the up-gradation work by this September.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great Location. But more than that friendly staff - from the door man to the waiters, the house keeping and every one of their staff seems to be one happy family. They exude warmth and bonhomie in their greetings. Hats off to the fine management, I should say !. Food is fantastic and value for money. Rooms are neat though dated. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. The only grouse, i may point was the renovation work on the building was bit of a bothersome. But it is only temporary,I know.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation of our restaurants, rooms and the team!

It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Now that Shinzo Abe has taken over as the PM of Japan,the augeries are bright for a quantum increase in India-Japan cooperation. The Chancery Hotel has decided to ride this coming trend and is reserving some floors exclusively for its Japanese guests. An authentic Japanese restaurant has been launched,as well as a Help Desk staffed by an attractive Japanese lady in figure hugging trousers. There is also a mini-spa at the lobby level with Japanese trained masseurs ready to ensure that the human foot has quality circulation. If you are Japanese,homesick and in Bangalore,The Chancery is the place for you. For the rest of us,it's good but not great

Room Tip: Speak in Japanese to get one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhav n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation for our property.

It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
VP Sales & Marketing- The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice hotel and excellent location.
However I had difficulty in reaching this place as the cab driver mis-took this to Chancery pavillion another hotel in the same region.
Food and service was good. Ambience was grand.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation for our location, food and services.

It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
VP Sales & Marketing- The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at Chancery along with my family on 12th, 13th & 17th of April, 2013. A great experience and value for money. Staff very courteous and always ready to help. My kids enjoyed thoroughly and would like to visit again in future trips to Bangalore. The Japanese connection with the Hotel is an added attraction as I had the feel of Japan which I missed since my return from Japan in 2010.
Excellent property, excellent location and A1 service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manijyoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation of our hotel.
It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
VP Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed in this well located hotel in this lovely city of Bangalore. But the distance from the airport was far. But my work required me to stay in this part of the town. The hotel is very big, nice rooms and nicer ambience.
The breakfasst spread in the mornings was truly amazing - infact skipped lunch both the days i was in Bangalore. Had to entertain some people in the restaurant one night - food was good. Overall a good hotel and recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation of our hotel.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager- The Chancery
VP Sales and Marketing- The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Chancery Pavilion
#93 of 669 in Bengaluru
809 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#16 of 669 in Bengaluru
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#9 of 669 in Bengaluru
1,057 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#44 of 669 in Bengaluru
752 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#42 of 669 in Bengaluru
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery

Property: The Chancery
Address: 10/6 Lavelle Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 669 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chancery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though a 4-Star deluxe hotel, 5-Star luxury has been kept in mind while doing up The Chancery. Consequently, there are all the trappings that you would expect in a 5-Star. Starting with the location, to the splendid classic Gothic design, to the exquisitely furnished modern rooms, 24-hour service, fabulous restaurants,specialty Japanese Restaurant, i-phone docket, amenities like special business lounges, a fitness center, a beauty salon , a SPA . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chancery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing