We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in Bangalore City”
Review of The Lalit Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lalit Ashok
Ranked #42 of 659 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Bangalore City”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is definitely an excellent choice for business and leisure travellers, visiting Bangalore. Love the pool and the Gym over looking the pool side. This hotel also has a spa and all the five star facilities one would expect, such as salon, steam sauna etc.
The rooms and bathrooms are very modern and contemporary. The hotel staff was very friendly. Right next to the lobby is a lovely cake shop which offers discounts post 9. The hotel is undoubtedly popular amongst locals in Bangalore.
The cons of this hotel is its not Very Grand like the other hotels in Bangalore like ITC Gardenia and Windsor Manor, and is quite expensive. Having said that I believe all Bangalore hotels are very very expensive.
Overall a good hotel if budget is not an issue.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFarhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    257
    88
    28
    27
See reviews for
128
76
74
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This place is right in the center of the city and is equipped with one of the best Ballrooms for any occasion. Our occasion was a conference, however, the place is equally excellent for sleeping, food and a bit of sightseeing in the city. The location is close to the bus terminus and railway station. One can get a good communication by taxi. Overall, very appealing to a week long business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaprava N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
172 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This hotel may have been 5 star years ago. Now it has faded for sure.I travel the World and I am aware that Indian standards differ from standards elsewhere. However, there are also 5 star hotels in India, like the Taj-chain, Radisson and a few more. The Lalit Bangalore are miles away from those.
Some examples: they do not know what espresso coffee is, but serves standard black coffee at a horrible rate of 450INR ++!! They failed to make up my room until I approached the manager at 8pm in the evening. I had to ask 3 times, waiting more than 30 minutes to have a Wi-Fi voucher delivered (included in my rate plan).
After spending 5000INR in their Spa (which is decent) they charged me for a cup of tea (which the offered me during treatment).
All of this being said the staff on an individual basis are very kind and service minded. After raising these issues with the manager I was served a bottle of wine (no wine opener tough), fruit and cookies in my room.Nice gesture, but not enough to prevent me from writing this review. I think this hotel suffers from a severe lack of good management. Until they get their act together and spend money on general refurbishment of the hotel you should rather spend your money in the Bangalore Taj or Oberoi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0ggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I stayed at Lalit Ashok for more 20 days and was closely attached to the place. Lalit Ashok is located near the heart of the city which allows you to travel anywhere in Bangalore with ease. The hotel is located right opposite a golf course and has some of the best facilities within the grounds. Rooms are well built but well maintained and heve decent size (neither luxuriously large nor crampy). The staff is willing to help you at all points of time but there is a shortage of hands when it comes to peak timings (monring check outs etc). All said its a great place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oracle_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This place has been my constant choice of stay whenever I visit Bangalore. We used to stay when it was "The Grand Ashok" before and even though the name has been changed, the hotel still maintains it charm.

The hotel is in a good location and one can get to most places fast. The reception we got upon check-in was excellent. We arrived a bit early for check-in but it was handled well as our room was vacant and we were given the room immediately.

The room was maintained well and the room service was good! The food was tasty and served hot too. We did not have to wait long for the room service to be delivered to our room.

Regarding the other facilities, we used the pool and the health club for a while. When we went there, we were the only ones there. The maintenance was good.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience staying at the Ashok!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasi1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

a little aged 80's charme... else ok clean and nothing to complain.
breakfast not international standards but very nice view from the breakfast room
where you can see lots of animals walking the grassy area next to the pool.

rooms are a bit cold and the feeling was not very comfortable - but that is individual impression.... no highlights - nothing out of the ordinary....but would still go there again...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoergBielefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed here for 4 days , & this was my first stay in The Lalit Ashok, a very great experience,
The hotel is in center of Bangalore , very near to MG road but with a very pleasant surrounding of Old Golf course at Bangalore right in the front of Hotel & this is a unique & USP feature of this hotel, simply Ideal location for a hotel of kind Lalit is.
The staff members are very cooperative well behaved & social with all politeness. great feeling to interact with them.
cuisine were fantastic , all restoration was pretty good & well arranged & dishes was yummy.
the architecture of hotel room interior, swimming pool, fitness center, Spa were splendid & very comfortable ,
Overall it was nice to stay in this kind of atmosphere , I will recommend this hotel as one of the best luxurious place to stay in heart of the city but very near to nature, which difficult to find in the crowdy city like Bangalore

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vasanth Nagar
Le Meridien Bangalore
Le Meridien Bangalore
#30 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
#17 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#18 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Bangalore
#53 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Ulsoor
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
#86 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
The Chancery Pavilion
#104 of 659 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Ashok

Property: The Lalit Ashok
Address: Kumara Krupa High Grounds, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#23 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#37 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#39 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of 10 acres of sprawling landscape and manicured lawns, The LaLiT Ashok is one of the finest five star hotel amongst all Bangalore luxury hotels. Built in 1971 The LaLiT Ashok has welcomed guests over more than 35 years and has been an experience of luxury in contemporary and relaxed homely comfort. This 5 star hotel in bangalore is strategically located in the highly secured diplomatic enclave, while sharing its wall with the Chief Minister’s house and offers a lovely view of the sprawling Bangalore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lalit Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Ashok Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing