We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Mark's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Mark's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“one of the best hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

we were touring south India and our final destination was Bangalore. we booked st marks after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor and I am pleased to say , this hotel lived up to its reputation. we stayed here for five nights. the rooms were a reasonable size, very modern and well maintained. the room was cleaned daily and standard of the cleaning was excellent .toiletries were replaced daily and we were given complementary bottled water and cookies. there are tea/ coffee making facilities and a safe in the room. our package included breakfast and this was excellent with a very wide variety of food, perhaps one of the best I have seen in south India. the biggest asset of this hotel is the staff. excellent team work was displayed by staff at all time. they were all very helpful, polite and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. both Akshay and Raghu were particularly helpful as they guided us about the local attractions and also car hire for the airport. on one of the days i was a unwell and missed breakfast, the staff brought some toast and eggs to my room. on our last day we were also given packed breakfast as we left early for the airport. the hotel is in a good location within easy reach of mg road and shopping malls. we also ate dinner on most days at the hotel. the food was fresh, cooked nicely and the room service was excellent..I would definitely stay in this hotel again when in Bangalore.

Room Tip: stayed on fifth floor, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhu931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    220
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
147
160
114
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed again. Our third time in three years. Centrally located and quite. Excellent service is provided and any small issues are very quickly resolved. Breakfast is amazing Indian and Western dishes are available an enormous choice. However I wish they would get the tea and coffee service sorted! This time we stayed in a suite. To be honest I prefer the deluxe rooms. The roof terrace is great. Complimentary tea and coffee and a place to meet and have a relaxing cigarette. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel from 02/March/2014 to 07/March/2014 and i didn't have any simple bad experince to comment. Thier service was so excellence. I would like to recommend that hotel to every one who wish to stay in Banglaore.

thanks
Prasad

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w mids
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A hotel of extremes!

The rooms are a good size and spotless. Beds are very comfortable.

Staff in reception area are excellent and will support any request.

The food when it arrives is good.

Problems - only one restaurant which is quite small. So, they struggle to cope with breakfast service - people often left unattended for ages. Lunch and dinner are even worse, you can wait over 20 minutes just to be given the menu, never mind a drink or any food. We gave up eating here because of the poor service. This appeared to be down to the management of the restaurant rather than the individual serving staff, who just appeared to be poorly trained.Limited food selection.

The bar is the size of a small cupboard and resembles a manned mini bar! It does not open until 6.00pm (if you are lucky), some nights it seemed to invent its own opening times. Constantly do not have basic items such as tonic water. There is no draught beer!

The roof terrace is really nice (the ideal place for the bar). But, they don't serve drinks up there and kick you out at 11.00pm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richmondfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President & General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time off to review us on TripAdvisor.

Obviously this visit of yours have been a mixed bag.Though you were pleased with most aspects of the hotel, you found us wanting in the restaurant operations.Please be assured that we have taken a very serious note of your observations and corrective measures have been taken to prevent a recurrence of the same.

We look forward to your next visit to our hotel to showcase a much improved performance.Do write to me when you plan your next visit to the Garden City.

Warm regards,

J.P.Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel
Bangalore,India.

E mail: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Mobile: +91 9845582000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed during a week end at St Mark's and we thoroughly enjoyed it. St Mark's has a good special week end rate. The service is great, starting with airport pick up, at a decent price and very reliable which we very much appreciated as our plane landed at 2 AM. The buffet breakfast offers a large choice of food and juices. The hotel has a reasonably priced car service to visit the main tourist attractions. The rooms are spacious enough and the bath rooms brand new. We also appreciated the complementary WI-FI. Staff is courteous and helpful: the safe box was not working, they changed our room immediately. Overall an excellent hotel in its category.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on my first trip to India. From booking the arrival airport pick-up to the airport departure everything went well. Well located hotel, with clean facilities and rooms - including excellent buffet breakfast and complimentary wireless internet. Staff are very helpful, especially in the restaurant, where they explained and recommended dishes. Recommend that visitors use the in-house travel desk for all cars - our driver Rama did a great job. UB city is close for shopping and an early morning run is possible at the nearby Cubbon Park. Definitely staying again on my next visit to Bangalore.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I spend too much time in hotels. It is rare I will write a review as I am very fussy. This hotel has manage to exceed my expectations. Why? The incredible service! You will see it in other reviews. I thought yes more people after tips, with the American "I will be you waiter tonight". I was wrong the service is very genuine and caring. I mentioned to a lady in the lift one morning that I had not slept much due to work commitments. That afternoon returning from my office the GM asked me if there was anything he could do for me to help me sleep better. Late that night I was having a beer in the bar and the F&B Manager approached to say he was sorry that I had not been sleeping well. He asked if there was anything he could do, I jokingly replied that a B52 Shooter would help me sleep. He explained the bar did not have all the ingredients but he said he would see what he could do. He went to the kitchen and got Baileys from the Chef who uses it in a desert and then he came back to the bar and made the drink for me personally. Wow. The communication care and teamwork in the hotel is amazing. I felt like I was actually seeing what the business books say should happen but never does. By way the hotel is very clean as are the rooms and it is very well located. I will stay again. Now I need to learn how to bring my team here?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard952013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#11 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#19 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mark's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mark's Hotel

Property: St Mark's Hotel
Address: 4 / 1, St Marks Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#5 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Mark's Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark’s Hotel is a value for money 4 Star Business hotel located in the heart of Bangalore, the garden city of India. Situated 38 kms from the airport and a stone’s throw away from the city center, the hotel has 96 smart and comfortable rooms with excellent amenities including Complimentary Buffet Breakfast & Unlimited Internet Connectivity (Wired & Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Mark's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing