We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of reasons why they are Numero Uno in Bengaluru”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Mark's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Mark's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lots of reasons why they are Numero Uno in Bengaluru”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

There are lots of business hotels in Bangalore, you have all the usual suspects with their 4 and 5 start properties. St Marks is not exactly a big hotel but they easily beat anyone else when it comes to taking care of their guests.

1. Check-in is quick and the staff is friendly. They have enough people there to take care of everyone in a minute.

2. The room - spacious, big windows, nice TV, restroom was big enough and shower, bath tub etc was all of top quality. I could use a slightly bigger bed though (and i am only 6 feet tall and average built). I was in a room with twin beds and they were just about ok in terms of size for me but surely not uncomfortable.

3. I tried room service for snacks and dinner. While the menu is not exhaustive (in fact that was the only complaint if at all.. that they could consider having a bit more options, especially, the main course), food was great and the guys who take your orders and serve you are just about fantastic: always on time, courteous, smiling and make you feel comfortable.

4. Check out was smooth, cab for my airport transfer was ready when i walked out. One of the manager walked out with me and made sure everything was right on time (and I am not a frequent guest to this hotel)

The location - close to MG Road, Brigade road, UB city is barely few minutes of walk away and . You can walk to another restaurant or a pub or a brewery if you would like to try something other than what the hotel offers.

Highly recommend and would surely consider staying here any time i am in Bangalore and need to be in the area.

Room Tip: stay on 5th or 6th floor to avoid any traffic noise (in case you feel like opening your windows). do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheshagiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President& General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to the Garden City.We really appreciate your glowing review of our hotel on TripAdvisor and the whole team at St.Mark's joins me in conveying their regards to you.

we are very happy to note that you had a very pleasant experience at the hotel and your special compliments to the Room Service and Front Office team has been passed on to them. Our city centre location is certainly a great plus and good to see that you could take advantage of the same.

We have made a note of your comment about the bed and the Room Service menu. We will certainly try our best to give you a queen sized bed on your next stay with us.We also have Executive and Suite rooms with king sized beds to choose from.Our chefs will be more than happy to prepare something special for you on your next visit.We will certainly work on the menu selection as well.

Thank you again for such a whole hearted recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to the pleasure of treating you to another memorable stay at St.Mark's in the near future.Please feel free to write to us when you finalise your travel plans.


Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    220
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
147
160
113
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My second stay and believe I will go again. Very customer oriented staff, really kind and proactive all the time. Service is great, location is good (MG Road is just 10mins walk away) and anyway auto rickshaws are stopping right in front. Cleanliness at 5 star level, room quiet and comfortable. Just a poor choice of western food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank federico747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President& General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short and sweet review of us on TripAdvisor!We were certainly delighted to have you stay with us.

we are happy that you found our hotel location excellent with great connectivity.Your compliments to our associates for the quality of personalised service has been conveyed to them. However, we are concerned to see your comment on the choice of western food at the restaurant- our chefs will be more than happy to customise a special meal on your next visit to make amends.

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you and we look forward to your next visit .

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Was on a biz trip & stayed there.Guest relations very good,often enquiring,abt comfort.In the heart of the city.Good food,good rooms,good service.Will stay there when ever i go to Bangalore.Good for families also.Staff very helpful

Room Tip: Best for biz travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shibutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President& General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent business trip to Bangalore and for taking time off to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to note that you were very happy with the downtown location of our hotel,quality of rooms and persolalised and pleasant service. We certainly look forward to remain your hotel of choice whenever in Bangalore.

Thank you once again.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

As a frequent traveler I kind of consider it my duty to write honest and unbiased reviews.

In term of look and feel St.Marks look like any average upper end 3* to 4 star hotel nothing fancy or glittering.. but as they say don't judge the book by its cover ... this hotel has art and skill of making every customer their fan with warm attitude and personalized service its simple yet elegant.

I was given an option ITC Gardenia \ Vivanta but ended up picking this one as I had some fond memories of this place. I absolutely don't regret picking this one over Vivanta.

The room rate was very decently priced and my package came with breakfast & wireless internet.

Room Tip: Choose a room on 6th floor and preferably one that doesn't face main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President& General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Yash,

We were delighted to have you stay with us again and thank you for posting a marvellous review of us on TripAdvisor.

We feel genuinly happy to see that you chose to stay with us and that your decision was vindicated.It is our constant endeavour to provide highly personalised service to every guest at St.Mark's and your comments do help us to know if we are achieving that objective.

Thank you once again for your recommending our hotel to the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my second stay and I can only echo NickandEd’s comments below.

St Mark’s hit #1 hotel in Bangalore on Tripadvisor the week I stayed. On paper, that looks crazy against some of the luxury hotels in Bangalore, but anyone who has stayed at St Mark’s understands perfectly why they are number 1. The staff were all so proud of this achievement, with several staff bringing it up entirely unprompted, with big grins on their faces.

I’ve visited hotels that have fancier fittings, more toiletries, more facilities…….but I have never encountered a hotel where I have felt more welcome. Everyone, from the maintenance guy to the manager genuinely cares about you.

They go out of their way to provide great service, without being obsequious.

You’d like a bathrobe? There in 2 minutes.

You’d like to pay the evening before you leave to save time in the morning? No problem. (My pet grumble is the 30 minute wait to sort out a bill at 3am in the morning in many Indian hotels.)

Fruit platters are available free of charge on request, and every room has a jar of home-made cookies.

If you’re leaving early they instantly offer to provide a packed breakfast.

The place is absolutely spotless, the food great. I hate hotel buffets in general, but opted for the buffet one night as it looked so good, and wasn’t disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeToTravelAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President& General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us recently and thank you for endorsing NickandEd's and many of our other valuable guests' view of St.Mark's Hotel on TripAdvisor.It is guests like all of you who have made us No.1 in Bangalore and we feel humbled by the trust you have shown in us and the kind words of encouragement you have for us.

It is the people who make a difference in a hotel and I am so lucky to have a great bunch of associates who are willing to go that extra mile,any time!Your comments and observations of our hotel and the team are very encouraging and we are certainly committed to delighting every guest at St.Mark's.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the near future.


Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This gem of a hotel is located right in the heart of Bangalore, a few minutes from the main shopping streets, Cubbon park, UB city and more. The style is 'contemporary Indian', with a light and airy marble lined foyer. From the moment you arrive, it is apparent that the staff will go out of their way to make your visit comfortable.

The rooms are well appointed, with little touches, such as large bottles water awaiting you, and replenished daily. The bathrooms have excellent and powerful showers, which are perfect after a days shopping in the heat. The linen is soft and welcoming. There is a great wifi signal for those that wish to stay connected.

If you are feeling energetic the air conditioned gym is bijou, but has everything you might want from running and elliptical machines, a static bike, free weights and a multi gym. Bottles of water and towels are available. For those who would prefer, there are three yoga mats on the roof for your sun salutations.

The restaurant lays out extravagant and varied buffets for both breakfast and lunch, with fresh cooked eggs (breakfast) and chaat/other hot dishes (lunch). There is a wide mix of both western and Indian dishes. We enjoyed two lovely indian dinners in the restaurant. The dishes were cooked to perfection and were flavourful. The desserts were wicked, especially the kulfi (Indian ice cream) which soon became a firm favourite.

The hotel has a number of cars available, which we used for our airport transfers, short trips around Bangalore, and a day trip to Mysore. The cars are clean, the drivers friendly and more importantly, the hotels transport team will pre-send the driver name, telephone number and sometimes the 'badge' number, so that you know you have the right person. We found this to be more cost effective than some of the other companies offering a similar service.

Our driver for the Mysore trip was super helpful and really helped us maximise our day. He was patient and happily answered the barrage of questions we had, imparting snippets of useful information and pointing things out as we went along. We slept most of the way home after a busy day.

At this hotel, nothing is a problem, when we arrived at 2am, the first thing the desk established was our return flight home time, at which point they immediately offered a late checkout. It is this attention to detail which puts them at #1 in the rankings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President& General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

The entire team at St.Mark's joins me in thanking you for posting such an elaborate feedback on our hotel,to the benefit f the TripAdvisor community. Such keen observation to details is certainly amazing and does tell us that our guests miss nothing!

It is so thoughtful of you to highlight each and every aspect of the hotel so vividly.It certainly gives us immense satisfaction to see that all our efforts are so well recognized and will certainly spur us on to achieve high degree of guest delight at the hotel.Your words of true encouragement have been shared with all our associates for whom this will be a great source of inspiration.

Our heartfelt gratitude once again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I’m not surprised this place is rated as #1 in Bangalore. In comparison other places I’ve stayed in India, St Mark’s is a much higher standard of accommodation and service.
Excellent rooms and attentive staff really made for a pleasurable stay.
No pool though….can’t have everything I suppose. Lovely roof terrace to watch the thunder storm though.
I cannot comment about the food as I only had a snack. Good cocktails in the 1st floor bar.
I wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else when I’m back in Bangalore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,Vice President& General Manager at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to post a great review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see that you think that we are one of the finest in India in terms of standards and service and that you found our rooms excellent and staff very attentive.Your words are very encouraging and we will do our best to continue the good work.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the next opportunity of being at tour service.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,808 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 652 in Bengaluru
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#11 of 652 in Bengaluru
864 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,830 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#19 of 652 in Bengaluru
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mark's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mark's Hotel

Property: St Mark's Hotel
Address: 4 / 1, St Marks Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#5 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Mark's Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark’s Hotel is a value for money 4 Star Business hotel located in the heart of Bangalore, the garden city of India. Situated 38 kms from the airport and a stone’s throw away from the city center, the hotel has 96 smart and comfortable rooms with excellent amenities including Complimentary Buffet Breakfast & Unlimited Internet Connectivity (Wired & Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Mark's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing