We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #29 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

The greatest business trip I ever had, thanks to the service gateway gave us. The business centre and the conference room had everything we wanted and completely tech-savy. Rooms were relaxing and service great.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AllyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    389
    75
    12
    5
See reviews for
135
89
68
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Nice Hotel with a great Manglorean Restaurant in the property. Lot of security displayed at the entrance, but people can enter the hotel from the back without any security drills.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRADEEP1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

The issue with the Gateway is that it is better known for its coastal cuisine due to the famous restaurant there. And I can say this straightaway - the quality of the food at that restaurant is very good - excellent like all Taj Hotels
I stayed there 2 nights - checked in for 1 night, checked out and checked in again - but as an inner circle gold tier member, they considered it 2 successive nights and gave me an upgrade to their suite.
I did find the smaller room better - though can't complain about the space in the suite - but it was too opulent for my tastes ( but that's a personal choice)
The staff was very good - as is expected. I think the hotel loses out to its big brothers - which have the Taj brand tagged to them - and not many people stay here - but I believe it
is a great business hotel- though the location is slightly difficult to get to
The coffee shop buffet was very nice and even the lunch buffet was good. All in all, I would not hesitate to come back again here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Our company decided to have their 2 day Management offsite at this venue-I wonder why as it is such a busy place, near the heart of shopping centers in Bangalore. Nevertheless they must have got a good deal.
The Gateway is a nice business hotel and I was reasonably happy with the quality of the rooms-although its no where near compared to its contemporary namesake, TAJ. I was pleasantly surprised though with the room service and food was nice with a pleasant staff. Before we dashed into the conference room for day long grill I Went for a massage in the morning which was OK and other facilities like the gym, pool are not up to mark for a star business hotel. The hotel Lobby could definitely do with a redo!
The conference hall was quite good with large projector facility and seating for about 30. The hotel also has a swimming pool and a barbecue by the pool. The lunch was served by the pool. In the evening you could relax and unwind by the bar having a couple of drinks, but being a business hotel purely there were not much other facilities to speak of. I would suggest only if you are a looking for a not very expensive but reasonably priced mid category business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunjanjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vapi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Date: 08/01/2009
we booked this hotel fr our weekend
we stayed at many hotels over the years, but our stay at this hotel was comapratively good than other hotel..
the service provided here is good
location is really nice
rooms are spaceous
we had great time over there....

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paritoshmishra08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

The Gateway is a nice business hotel and I was pleasantly surprised with the upgrade to the suite (was new, large and plush). Room service and food was nice with a pleasant staff. Went for a massage in the morning which was OK and other facilities like the gym, pool are not upto mark for a 5 star business hotel.
Looby could do with a redo! The location though seals it!! Would recommend on your trips!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris69Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed in this hotel When I came to Bangalore on Offical visit with my colleagues. Its at the heart of the City accessible to everything and to the most happening brigade road and MG Road. Service is superb and the staff is so good at service. Food served is very tasty. One concern is that rooms are not that big as per my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#5 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#19 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#31 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
The Taj West End
#13 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gateway Bangalore
Taj Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing