We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing stay at The Gateway Residency”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #31 of 659 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay at The Gateway Residency”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booked this hotel for 6 nites via the hotels website due to it's close proximity to MG and Brigade road. We were checked in immediately and shown to our room overlooking the pool. The room was of an adequate size and comfortable enough for the 3 of us. Housekeeping did an Ok job although in the initial 2 days they hardly replaced the amenities...a quick word with housekeeping and the matter was instantly resolved. I must say that the entire staff at the Residency are courteous, pleasant to deal with and go out of their way to assist ...be it at the reception, the security staff or the ones at the GAD restaurant. We enjoyed a buffet b'fast every morning which was adequate enough and the staff were very attentive I must mention Mr Dilbar Sheikh and Naveen along with the others whose names I cannot recall who were warm in their approach and encouraged us to try a few of their special dishes at the live station.
Thanks Vishal for the congratulatory cake sent to our room since our 8 yr old son won a Trophy for an International competition he participated in during the course of our stay at The Gateway Residency.
We didn't use the pool since it was a bit cold outdoors and the pigeons taking a dip all the while put us off.
All in all it was an enjoyable stay and although it is quite an old hotel, it does not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenmarkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Wenmarkei,


Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your views about the hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you had a peaceful stay and found our rooms were comfortable and you were happy about check-in experience. Good to see that you were impressed about the staff at the hotel. Your appreciation has been shared with the entire team at the hotel. It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay a memorable.

Thankful to hear that you enjoyed buffet breakfast spread with very good varieties of high quality ingredients at our GAD Restaurant. During your next visit to the hotel may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award winning Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

Good to hear that you were happy about our great location which is just a walk able distance to reach shopping malls, restaurants, entertainment and Metro Station.

Your feedback on pigeons has been noted and we are in the process of getting rid of them at the earliest.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Karavalli Restaurant has won the awards again this year - Glam Media worldwide announces that Karavalli has been selected as one of the World Top 100 restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book and voted as one of the 50 Best Restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We immensely value your patronage and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.



Warm regards,


Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    403
    75
    12
    6
See reviews for
137
93
69
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have just spent one night at the Gateway on a business trip to Bangalore and it worked very well for me. The airport pick-up and return were efficient and comfortable. The room offered everything that I needed. The bathroom was generally ok but the shower was excellent. The breakfast buffet was also of a high standard. Although I did not get time to explore the area, I noted that the hotel was very close to the busy shopping area of MG Road. All in all, an enjoyable stay in a hotel that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipTorque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear PhilipTorque,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore and taking time off to post a superb review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and you were impressed about the room that offered everything that you required, shower at the bathroom was excellent and found the airport pick-up and return were efficient and comfortable.

Thankful to hear that you were delighted about the buffet breakfast spread with very good varieties of high quality ingredients at our GAD Restaurant. During your next visit to the hotel may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award winning Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

We are pleased to note that you were happy about our great location which is just a walk able distance to reach shopping malls, restaurants, entertainment and Metro Station.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Karavalli Restaurant has won the awards again this year - Glam Media worldwide announces that Karavalli has been selected as one of the World Top 100 restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book and voted as one of the 50 Best Restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to the pleasure of seeing you at the hotel soon.

Warm regards,


Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our family stayed here for our son's wedding reception. Everything was excellent, the service, the food - all presented with a friendly smile. The wedding breakfast was very good with something for everyone.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the music is very loud in the bar at the weekend so request a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 828SusanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Susan,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was an absolute pleasure having your family stay with us during your son’s wedding reception and thank you for taking time off to share your experience of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and found everything was excellent, be it the service, the food and staff for their friendly care and consideration. Thank you so much for your compliments. Your generous appreciation has been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration. Encouraging words like these go a long way to keep the team motivated at the hotel and we assure you that it will be our constant endeavor to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

We thank you once again for your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Conveniently located this is a typical old Taj property. The rooms are from the 80s, with heavy wooden look. Maybe Taj needs to modernise the rooms the bit. the lobby / lounge etc is quite modern though. great b'fast too. The gym is quite shabby, with rusting machines and equipment. not the quality one would expect from the Taj. rather disappointing when a greta brand overlooks basics like these. and then there is karavalli the restaurant that is the real crown in the jewel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Sachin,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

We thank you for choosing to stay at Gateway Hotel and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and found our buffet breakfast spread at our GAD Restaurant was great. Good to see that you were impressed about our iconic coastal cuisine restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

Thank you for your compliments on our renovated Lobby Lounge and Sphyre Bar. We have made a note of your suggestions on rooms and the quality of equipment at the Fitness Centre, and we shall definitely upgrade this in our next future plan.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here over the week end with my family. The hotel extended a week end package to us and we all had happy moments in this facility. The main advantage of this property is its proximity to the shopping area in Brigade road. All the main shopping malls are quite nearby to this property and is an absolute bliss given the hectic Bangalore traffic ! The rooms are very good with fantastic bath rooms and other luxurious amenities.The complimentary break-fast was good too ! The staff are very kind and courteous. On the whole, we enjoyed the stay. Taj Gateway @ Residency road rocks !!!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthi1971-opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Karthi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore and taking time off to post an excellent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and found our rooms are comfortable with well equipped and great bathrooms.

Good to see that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast spread with very good varieties of high quality ingredients at our GAD Restaurant. During your next visit to the hotel may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award winning Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’

Thank you for your compliments to all our staff at the hotel. All of us at the hotel take pride in going that extra mile to create guest delight in each of our interactions.

We are pleased to see that you were delighted about our great location which is just a walk able distance to reach shopping malls, restaurants, entertainment and Metro Station.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Gateway hotel is located on Residency Road just meters from Brigade Road. It is close to great restaurants and shopping. the hotel itself has a great staff that treat everyone with respect and provide great service. Rooms are okay. Great showers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Richard G,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Bangalore in October and taking time off to post an excellent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and found our rooms are comfortable, great showers in bathroom and impressed about our service. Thank you so much for your compliments. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the entire team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.

Good to hear that you were delighted about our great location which is just right in the heart of Bangalore a few steps away from Shopping Malls, Restaurants and Metro station.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was really an adequate hotel. Just barely.

I booked it because I've have really good experiences with gateway hotels in Coonoor and Madurai.

if you are a non smoker make sure you get a non smoking floor - after a very long time we encountered a hotel where an entire floor smells of cigarette smoke.

The very expensive pick up car had no carrier.

Apart for the Karavalli restaurant which is superlative in terms of food and service this hotel really does not measure up to the Taj standards.

There is a general sense of lack of efficiency and cluelessness. Apart from the location in the centre of the city, very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank another-travel-diary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your views about the hotel on TripAdvisor.

We understand from your feedback that the overall experience did not measure up to your expectation. I am perturbed to hear that our front desk allotted the room without checking your room preference at the time of check in. I do assure you that we have rooms dedicated for guests who prefer non- smoking rooms. Also your feedback on car pick-up has been addressed with our Travel Desk service. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Please let me reassure you that this lapse is an aberration and corrective measures have been taken to ensure prevention of similar occurrences in the future.

Good to see that you are impressed about our iconic coastal cuisine restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’. Thank you so much for your feedback.

I do hope you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#7 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#19 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#32 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
The Taj West End
#13 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing