We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All day diner and prompt service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #33 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good All day diner and prompt service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have been to the all day diner in this hotel recently and we called them before we went there as we wanted to eat pancakes at around 330 in the night ( i know it sounds a bit weird), we called couple of hotels and none were ready, but these guys called us back after a while and were ready to do it for us, and as promised they gave us wonderful pancakes, we had both apple and Raisin filling ones, GAD restaurant is something which i would recommend to anyone who wants to have great food any time of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipun Kumar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Nipun,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for taking time off to post a positive and superb review of our GAD Restaurant - our all day dining on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to see that you had a great food and you were impressed about wonderful pancakes. Also, good to hear that you were delighted regarding our associates prompt service at around 3.30 in the night. Thank you so much for your compliments. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the Kitchen and Service team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.

During your next visit to the hotel may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Karavalli Restaurant has won the following awards in 2014. .

1) Glam Media worldwide announces that Karavalli has been selected as one of the World Top 100 restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book.

2) Voted as one of the 50 Best Restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino.

3) Time Out Magazine announces that Karavalli is the winner in the Category “Favourite Coastal Food”.

We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level

Thank you once again for recommending our GAD Restaurant to the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to having you with us again.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    408
    76
    13
    6
See reviews for
139
93
70
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
181 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is right on residency road, the heart of Bangalore. The best shopping areas and plenty of gardens with in 5 min drive. The rooms are well furnished and staff are very courteous, typical TAJ style. The best thing about this hotel is the restaurant. Excellent food (a bit expensive though). they make sure that you are completely satisfied with the food. I strongly recommend that you skip your breakfast, directly go for their THALI meal, every item in the thali is a must try and you need lot of room in the stomach......dont miss the dessert........

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kranthikpebbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Kranthikpebbile,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us in January 2014 and we are happy that you had an excellent experience at the hotel. Thank you for taking time off to post a positive and superb review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad to see that you liked every aspect of the hotel - be it the rooms that are well furnished, excellent food and staff are very courteous and as usual the typical Taj Standard. I appreciate that you were impressed by Thali meal at our iconic coastal cuisine restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’

We are pleased to learn that you were delighted about our great location which is just right in the heart of Bangalore on Residency Road/M G Road which is just a few steps away from Shopping Malls, Restaurants and Metro station and as well plenty of gardens with in 5 minutes drive.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
144 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived here approx. 7am looking and feeling rather dishevelled after an overnight train journey from Madurai so we greatly appreciated being able to check in immediately to our room, number 227.

As you'd expect of a Gateway hotel the room was spotlessly clean and well maintained with a luxuriously comfortable king sized bed, heaven especially after our bunks on the overnight train!

The buffet breakfast was nicely laid out with a very good and varied selection of high quality ingredients, the waiting staff were very helpful and attentive. Once we'd been fed, showered and relaxed in our room for a short while we felt ready for our half days sightseeing tour of Bangalore which is a very busy business focussed city. It was good to make use of the pool facility in the afternoon, we were the only ones there so it was nice and peaceful and just what we needed to unwind.

We found the hotel restaurant in the evening to be quite expensive compared to other hotels that we'd dined in on our trip. There was no buffet just a la carte, I would imagine this is because it's more targeted at the business traveller rather than tourist travellers due to the nature of the city. I must say though, the food was well cooked and delicious but being the only two people in the large restaurant it did rather lack atmosphere.

We had a little walk outside but couldn't easily see an alternative for our evening meal that sold alcohol, we probably should of tried harder but we were just too lazy!

The one thing that amazes me is the lack of free wifi in all, apart from the CGH earth experience hotels, that we stayed in on our tour of India. I was especially surprised that a hotel in Bangalore, a city so renowned for it's connections to the IT industry, didn't offer free wifi, I'm not sure why this is?

We did however thoroughly enjoy our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Bangalore in February 2014 and for sharing your views about the hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and found our rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained with a luxuriously comfortable king sized bed. Good to see that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast spread with a very good and varied selection of high quality ingredients at our GAD Restaurant as well you liked the pool facility wherein you found it was nice and peaceful.

We are also happy to learn that you were impressed about the service of our associates for their care and professional behaviour and I have conveyed your compliments to the team.

We are delighted to see that you loved the hotel located in the midst of Bangalore, and you found our hotel is a good mid range business hotel in a good location.

We have made a note of your feedback regarding Internet wifi cost, and we shall definitely look into your suggestion and understand how we can take it forward.

We thank you once again for your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email :Albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely hotel in the midst of Bangalore (or Bengaluru as it is called now). A good mid-range business hotel in a wonderful location. The food options are great especially their wonderful health options for breakfast. And the Karavalli restaurant still continues it tradition of bringing very authentic south indian non-vegetarian fare. The service standards are good. Certainly needs a dash of refurbishing which will bring back some lustre to the place, nonetheless, certainly value for money even now.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTS2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are happy that you had an excellent experience at the hotel. Good to see that you were impressed about our wonderful health options for breakfast and you were happy about our service standards.

We are delighted to see that you loved the hotel located in the midst of Bangalore, and you found our hotel is a good mid range business hotel in a superb location.

I appreciate that you found our Karavalli restaurant has set a traditional and standard of excellence for its very authentic South Indian Cuisine for years. Thank you so much for your feedback.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The nicely located hotel in heart of Bangalore. the hotel is very close to the hyper market location like Residency Road, M G Road and Brigade Road. The hotel is also located near garden to have very fresh experience in early morning times for your walk & jogging. the hotel is having nice swimming tank. the airport can be reached within one hour. the rooms are clean and nice. The rooms towards swimming pool side and higher floors give very nice feel.

you can enjoy the leisure of this hotel after lots of shopping that you can do within walking distance 5 minutes by relaxing with nice SPA

Room Tip: the rooms are clean and nice. The rooms towards swimming pool side and higher floors give very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANJAY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Sanjay,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore. It is indeed very thoughtful of you to post a positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and found our rooms are comfortable and kept clean always as well you were happy about our swimming pool and Spa.

I am thankful to see that you were delighted about our great location which is just right in the heart of Bangalore on Residency Road / M G Road / Brigade Road, which is just a few steps away from Shopping Malls, Restaurants, Metro station and Sapna Book House - India's 2nd largest Book Mall.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Glam Media worldwide announces that our ‘Karavalli Restaurant’ has been selected as one of the World Top 100 Restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while on business. Though not the luxurious hotel in Bangalore, this hotel is ideally located at the centre of the city. Good for an evening stroll and shopping. The hotel staff were very friendly and kind as if you were at your friends home. The breakfast had the best idli I could eat on my business trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ilango_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear IIlango,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Bangalore and for sharing your views about the hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to see that you had a comfortable stay and nice to hear that you had the best Idli served during the breakfast at our GAD Restaurant. During your next visit to the hotel may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

I appreciate your compliments to all our Associates for their care and friendly support, as you felt that you are at your friends’ home. Many of our guests do appreciate the value that they receive when they stay with us and we are glad that you have endorsed it as well. Encouraging words like these go a long way to keep the team motivated at the hotel and we assure you that it will be our constant endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

Your generous appreciations to all our Associates for their care and consideration have been passed on to them.

It is nice to hear that our location was a great attraction just a walk able distance to reach shopping malls and restaurants.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur,India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a small hotel and seemingly quite old. Service is good and so is the food. However, it lacks the Taj Finesse! The china-ware and bathroom fittings are not even 3-star standard. In general, no complaints but this hotel does need a serious refurbishing.

Room Tip: At all cost, avoid rooms overlooking the main road. Noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secondpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at Gateway Hotel and also for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on food and service.

With regard to your feedback on our hotel, I am pleased to inform you that our hotel is a business hotel and has been graded five Star by the Classification Committee on the basis of the product offering, services and the availability of an iconic restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’. It is an old property and our Lobby and Bar ‘Sphyre’ was renovated in the year 2012 and has a pretty contemporary look. However, we have made a note of your suggestion on bathroom fittings and shall definitely look into this during our future renovation plan.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Glam Media worldwide announces that our ‘Karavalli Restaurant’ has been selected as one of the World Top 100 Restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
The Taj West End
#14 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,503 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#31 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,880 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#6 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,022 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#17 of 662 in Bengaluru
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing