We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #31 of 693 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located just off the MG Road.. The best part of the hotel was the amazing that is just a hallmark of all Taj properties.... Rooms are awesome and very comfortable, although they are just a bit small.. The hospitality of all Taj properties is just phenomenal and I am always impressed and this property is no different....Every person that you meet right from the darban at the gate to the reception to the housekeeping staff, the smile is visible everywhere... The only thing where the hotel can improve a bit is its high speed internet connection which was not really fast the day I stayed at the hotel... rest the place is amazing and I would recommend it to all....

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the main road as the view in the night is amazing.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear himjosh,

Thank you for staying with us in May 2013 and for posting a very encouraging review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It gives us immense satisfaction to hear that you had a very pleasant stay and found our rooms are awesome and very comfortable. Also glad to see that you were delighted about our great location which is just a few steps away from Shopping Malls and restaurants.

I am thankful to hear that our service level meets the standard Taj hospitality. Encouraging words like these go a long way to keep the team motivated at the hotel and we assure you that it will be our constant endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

Your feedback on Internet connection in your room has been noted and we shall definitely look in to this.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to the pleasure of seeing you at the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Centrally located and well maintained rooms. ideal location to stay when you are on business trips. they serve good breakfast menu with wide varieties. Being Taj group and very near to their Vivanta property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giri33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Giri,

Thank you for staying with us in June 2013 and for posting such a lovely review of our hotel on TripAdvisor!

I appreciate your positive feedback on rooms that are clean and well maintained and pleased to hear that you were delighted about our great location.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed breakfast buffet menu with wide varieties at our GAD Restaurant and during your next visit to the hotel, may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

We look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again some time in the near future.

Warm regards,


Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

i had pleasure in staying for two nights again on 20&21 Aug.2013 on my business trip,good property on this busy residency road,central banglore,with easy approach by car or by metro ,the new banglore metro station is walking distance,the staff are very courteous ,the rooms are good,
the food @ GAD @ breakfast is excellent ,the service is out standing

Room Tip: rooms facing to back side adwisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us again on 20th and 21st of August and we are pleased to see that you had a very pleasant stay. It is indeed very kind of you to review us on TripAdvisor and to post an excellent feedback.

I am thankful to hear that you found our rooms are spacious and the level of service and food at our GAD Restaurant was excellent. I appreciate your compliments to all our Associates at the hotel for their care and consideration.

I am happy to see that you were impressed with the location of the hotel just a walkable distance to reach shopping malls, restaurants, Sapna Book House and the new Bangalore metro station.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Glam Media worldwide announces that our ‘Karavalli Restaurant’ has been selected as one of the World Top 100 Restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife & I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 21 nights & were most impressed with the location & friendliness of the staff.Any queries that we had were answered straightaway & the level of service & food we received by the GAD restaurant team was truly outstanding.
Our room was a good size & had a nice view of the large swimming pool.The housekeeping team kept the room to a high standard & they always greeted us with a smile.
We really enjoyed our time at Gateway & would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerry421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Jerry,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for 21 nights during your recent visit to Bangalore and we are pleased to see that you had a very pleasant stay. It is indeed very kind of you to share your thoughts on our hotel with the TripAdvisor community.

It gives us immense satisfaction to hear that you found our rooms are spacious and had a nice view of the large swimming pool and the level of service and food at our GAD Restaurant was truly outstanding.

I am happy to see that you were impressed with the location of the hotel and friendliness of the staff here. Your compliments have been shared with our Housekeeping and GAD Restaurant Team who make sincere efforts every time to provide personalized services to all our guests.

We thank you for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rooms were small but fit for two adults. Neat rooms. Staff was courteous especially concierge. The food was good. They took good care even of the smallest details. Hotel is centrally located with malls, brigade road, M G Road at a stone throw.

Room Tip: Avoid interconnecting rooms as my room smelt of cigarette smoke possibly escaped from the interconne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLASMOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to Bangalore and thank you for sparing time to post a positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and I appreciate your compliments to all our Associates at the hotel for their care and consideration. I am pleased to see that you found our location is great just a walkable distance to reach shopping malls and restaurants.

During your next visit to the hotel, may I request you to enjoy the flavors of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here two nights mid week and as long as you get a room away from the thumping noise from the nightclub then it's a good stay in a great location. Free wifi, good restaurant in the gardens, and a decent pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your views about the hotel on TripAdvisor.

At the outset, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the music noise in your room coming from the Bar Sphyre. For your future room booking please rest assured that we will allot you a room which is away from the Bar Sphyre.

I am pleased to hear that you felt nice about our hotel and you were delighted about our great location.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night. Very decent & welcoming staff. Food's good. But area is very congested , centre of city & live. Rooms were clean. over all a good business hotel to stay. Not to forget the "Sphere" - Disc of the Hotel. On Friday night crowd's great and very live.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Gunjan,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to Bangalore and thank you for taking the time out to share about your experience at the Gateway Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on rooms and food and you were delighted about our Bar Sphyre. Our associates do try their best to ensure that our guests have a great experience at the hotel and thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

During your next visit to the hotel, may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’

We thank you for your high recommendation of our Bar Sphyre and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always

Warm regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#2 of 693 in Bengaluru
2,047 reviews
Rajajinagar
Sheraton Grand Bangalore Hotel at Brigade Gateway
Taj West End
#17 of 693 in Bengaluru
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
MG Road
Iris - The Business Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > MG Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: $96 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing