We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #33 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night. Very decent & welcoming staff. Food's good. But area is very congested , centre of city & live. Rooms were clean. over all a good business hotel to stay. Not to forget the "Sphere" - Disc of the Hotel. On Friday night crowd's great and very live.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Gunjan,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to Bangalore and thank you for taking the time out to share about your experience at the Gateway Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on rooms and food and you were delighted about our Bar Sphyre. Our associates do try their best to ensure that our guests have a great experience at the hotel and thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

During your next visit to the hotel, may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’

We thank you for your high recommendation of our Bar Sphyre and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always

Warm regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    408
    76
    13
    6
See reviews for
139
93
70
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
614 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Gateway is a part of Taj group hotels. Its very conveniently located in the heart of the city on Residency road. There are lots of eating joints and shopping options around. The property is relatively old but has been recently refurbished and gives a very fresh and warm feel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Wi Fi is available. Sleep quality is excellent. Service level meets the standard Taj hospitality. Well equipped with Gym and restuarants.

Room Tip: Go for a room at higher floor facing the pool for a good view of the city and the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Bangalore and very thoughtful of you to review us on TripAdvisor and to post an excellent feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on rooms that are as spacious and comfortable and well equipped Gym and restaurants. Also glad to see that you were delighted about our great location which is just a few steps away from Shopping Malls and restaurants.

I am thankful to hear that our service level meets the standard Taj hospitality. Encouraging words like these go a long way to keep the team motivated at the hotel and we assure you that it will be our constant endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again some time in the near future.

Warm regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Hotel which is part of the Taj group of Hotels, is so comfortably located. Neat, and very pleasing helpful personnel. Just 2 minutes walk from Brigade Road and M G Road. A real boon especially with today's traffic. The Karavalli restaurant too is a must visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mblchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to Bangalore and thank you for sparing time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and I appreciate your compliments to all our Associates at the hotel. Also I am pleased to see that you found our location is great just a walkable distance to reach shopping malls, restaurants and the metro nearby.

We thank you for your high recommendation of our Restaurant Karavalli and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed with my family (me, wife and two smalls kids) at the Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, Bangalore for two nights in May. It was a very comfortable stay... we had a nice room. I think it was a standard room category, but may have been refurbished as it appeared to be fresh and luxurious in it's feel...

Food - good breakfast served in true Taj style with all that a good buffet should have. Star hotels in India have possibly the best buffet spread as compared to any hotel anywhere in the world, and the Gateway hotel was no exception. Tried their room service, and the food was nice...

Nice poolside - nothing spectacular, but nice and probably what you'd expect from a small Business hotel that this is. Did not experience the pool though, as did not have the time to do so...

Staff was excellent, always greeting with a warm smile. There was a little Deli counter at the lobby, and the staff was busy pampering my little girls with delicious bits of chocolates, with their compliments. I thought that was a good gesture...

Very good location, with some good shopping closeby and also a huge bookstore just across the road..

Given an opportunity, I will be happy staying at the hotel again...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Nikhil,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Bangalore and very thoughtful of you to review us on TripAdvisor and to post an excellent feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on rooms that appeared to be fresh and luxurious in it’s feel, and also you were delighted about our great location which is just a few steps away from Shopping Malls and Sapna Book House which carries the tag of being the largest Book Mall in the country.

We are really excited to know that our breakfast buffet spread you experienced at our GAD Restaurant was outstanding, and during your next visit to the hotel, may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

Your generous appreciations to all our Associates for their care and consideration have been passed on to them.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here a for a conference and we had a very good experience about everything right from excellent rooms, exquisite service, well arranged conference, buffet lunch etc. The breakfast spread was probably one of the best and varied we had experienced. The best part here was health food option (with Ragi Dosa etc options). This hotel certainly meets all expectations of a Taj Gateway hotel. Worth staying again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you during your recent stay in Bangalore and for posting such a marvelous review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear that your stay was excellent and you liked every aspect of the hotel that is, you found our rooms were excellent, superb service, well arranged conference and breakfast spread you experienced was superlative. It is guests like you who encourage us to strive for continued excellence and to raise the bar continuously.

During your next visit to the hotel, may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’

We hope to remain your favourite hotel at Bangalore and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business, and despite a few minor hiccups to start, my stay was very nice. When my colleague and I checked in, both our rooms smelt very strongly of mould, so we asked to change rooms, and then my colleague was put in a room which was vibrating from the Wednesday night disco below so she had to change rooms again. Third time was a charm though, and the rooms were spacious, shower was great, bed was comfortable, there was a good selection of TV channels (both local and American), and the wifi was complimentary and decent enough speed. The buffet breakfast was really good, although the coffee wasn't the best.

The service from the staff was fantastic, particularly those at the front desk. They even offered us umbrellas when walking outside which I thought was very nice of them.

The only real downside was the price - it is definitely overpriced for what it is worth, particularly when I compare it to other 5 star hotels I have stayed in in India which have been cheaper than this hotel was.

But overall great service, close to lots of bars and restaurants and nice comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room higher up facing the pool - the other rooms you can hear the disco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liztiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your visit to Bangalore and thank you for sparing time to post a review on Tripadvisor about our hotel.

With regard to your feedback on rooms that had smell of mould, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Your feedback has been addressed immediately. And I appreciate that you were happy on the change of rooms and had a comfortable stay.

Your generous appreciations to our Front Office Associates for their care and consideration have been passed on to them. Our Associates are our biggest asset and thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

I am thankful to hear that you were happy about the lavish spread of buffet breakfast and you were delighted about our great location which is just a few steps away from Shopping Malls and restaurants.

Your feedback regarding the room rate has been noted and we would request you to connect with us through email/phone or visit our website – www.tajhotels.com to avail of the best available rates.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was my second trip to the hotel, and i am going to be a regular visitor. In my first visit i provided a feedback regarding some service gaps at the front desk and i was glad to see no hiccups on the current visit. While i would not rate it as a luxurious property but the service covers up for the infrastructural shortcomings. I would recommend it for business travelers like myself or solo backpackers. The breakfast spreads across a section of hotel which i felt is small and they should look at a larger dining hall maybe. The staff however is very polite and helps you with anything you need.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocker_kaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for the second time and delighted to hear that you would be our regular guest. We will certainly ensure that you will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

We understand from your feedback that the space of the breakfast spread section is small, and we shall look into this.

I appreciate your compliments to all our Associates at the hotel and I shall personally pass on your appreciation to them. Your feedback will certainly motivate us to achieve higher standards.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
The Taj West End
#14 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,501 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#30 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#6 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,022 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#17 of 662 in Bengaluru
642 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing