We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location... at reasonable price...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location... at reasonable price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Gateway is a great option if you want to be located close to the city centre. The common amenities of the hotel such as the lobby, restaurants etc have been upgraded. However, the rooms are still a bit tired and in need of an update. The staff are excellent and the service is typical of Taj standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Nev911,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback.

I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and you felt great about our location. Thank you for your compliments to all our associates at the hotel for the excellent service.

I appreciate your feedback on the up-gradation of our Lobby and Restaurants.
We are considering up-gradation of rooms in our future plans.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant “Karavalli” has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore soon and assure you of our best always.


Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    320
    57
    9
    5
See reviews for
97
71
50
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took 2 rooms for 1 day for a meeting of old friends who all happened to be in the city together after many years. We took one suite and one executive room. The rooms are clean and well appointed with nice fittings. The fittings are modern and contemporary. The room service was excellent and the staff were very responsive when we wanted their help to connect devices to the TV etc. The excellent location is a very major factor. The breakfast spread was good and the restaurant staff were eager to please by bringing hot and customised options to the table.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Kumar M,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback.

I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and you found our rooms were clean and well appointed with good fittings – modern and contemporary.

I appreciate your positive feedback about the breakfast spread and thank you for your compliments to our Associates at our GAD Restaurant and Room Service.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant “Karavalli” has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Thanking you and assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, great Taj standards, conveniently located just off M. G. Road. Rooms are small but ok for single business travellers. However they require to be upgraded as compared to newer hotels. The Karavelli restaurant has maintained it's high standards for coastal and south Indian cuisine over the years. The new menu is exhaustive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BurzinDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BurzinDN,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for taking the time out to share about your experience at the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore.

I am happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and the location was convenient just off M G Road / Brigade Road. Thank you for your compliment on our Karavalli Restaurant.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant “Karavalli” has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

With regard to your suggestion on room up-gradation, we will definitely look into this in our future renovation plans.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Thanking you and assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the big plus is the location.......close to the business area and the shopping on Brigade Street which is a short walk away. The lunch in the coffeee shop is very nice and so is the breakfast. Unfortunately the South Indian fish restaurant was closed for lunch. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and airy. For the price, a recomendable hote.

Room Tip: understand that all rooms are of same type and good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear rayochoksi,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback.

I am happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and you were delighted about our great location. I appreciate your positive feedback about breakfast and lunch at our GAD Restaurant but unfortunately you missed having lunch at our Coastal Cuisine restaurant Karavalli.

I am pleased to inform you the timings of our Karavalli restaurant:

Lunch time – 12:30 PM till 3:00 PM
Dinner time – 07.00 PM till 11.00 PM

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant “Karavalli” has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Thanking you and assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First impression on arrival, the lobby looks compact and low key but the warm welcome by friendly obliging staff more than overrides this. Nothing seems too much trouble from the flexible check in/outs, advice and directions on shops and bars, arranging transport / pick-ups etc. Brilliant service throughout so much so that after our first stay on the way down to Kerala we cancelled our reservation at Vivante by Taj (plush lobby but very corporate, full of seminars, conferencing etc.) and re-booked Gateway Hotel. It felt like coming home! Mr. Satish Babu, Front Office Manager is delightful and via e mail prior to our arrival, made all arrangements for our transport at airport and railway station.
The pool area is small but well staffed and just ideal for a dip to relax after exploring the city.
Ivory Tower Hotel Bar on floor 13 of the Barton Center was recommended by the charming concierge and we sat and watched the sun set over Bangalore skyline before returning for dinner in the delightful award-wining Karavalli restaurant in the hotel garden. Delicious taste of Kerala fish, friendly chat, croaking frogs in the pond and reminisces at the end of a wonderful trip. Vasantha Gopal. K, Senior Chef de partie even took the trouble to e mail us recipes!
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would not bother looking at anywhere else in the city but definitely stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor for better views. E mail ahead for transport and early check-in where p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear TeddingtonGap,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you liked our overall service and facilities at the hotel and thank you for your compliments to our colleagues - Satish Babu and Vasantha Gopal. I have conveyed your appreciation to them.

It is indeed a pleasure to understand that you have chosen to stay in our hotel during your next visit to Bangalore, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again and enhance our quality of service to ensure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant “Karavalli” has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Thanking you and assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed there for business for a bit less than a week, hotel modern and clean, service extremely close and people friendly, walking distance from many restaurants, do not necessarily follow the hotel recommendation it is better to go and find by yourself, alternatively the hotel restaurant at the back with an outdoor terrace is really nice, al fresco dining with excellent service and ability to accommodate with your preference regarding the level of spice in the meal.

The pool looks great, could not enjoy because there was a private venue, of course beware the mosquitos but this is Bangalore, repellant is required outside.

Only the breakfast was a bit behind but marginally.

Room is perfect in quality and size and accessories available, you feel like home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djaypee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Djaypee38

I thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback and I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with the excellent service and convenient location.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant Karavalli has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

Looking forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed with my family at the Gateway. Though a partially business and partly family break, the Hotel is well equipped. Location is perfect. With two young kids, it was easy to go shopping in the nearby shopping malls or the ever busy Brigade Road and still be back for the well needed rest within two three hours.
For people revisiting after a long time, the road (residency) is now one way
Food was excellent. The chefs went out of the way to prepare any dishes specific to our needs.
The room was excellent. Housekeeping excellent and prompt for any requirements. Bathroom amenities were of very good quality Room service was prompt and the food very good.
Swimming pool was small and there were poolside parties/get together discouraging the guests from using it. Checkin/check out was very smooth. Wi-fi is charged.

Room Tip: We were on first floor. Helped us to climb the stairs instead of the elevator since it required the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schungath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear schungath,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am happy to understand that you liked our service and facilities at the hotel. Also nice to hear that you appreciated our location which is convenient for nearby shopping malls.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant ‘Karavalli’ has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Thanking you and assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Banga...
#28 of 632 in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#2 of 632 in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Iris - The Business Hotel and Sp...
#18 of 632 in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#25 of 632 in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
The Taj West End
#11 of 632 in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#24 of 632 in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Address: No 66 Residency Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing