We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place n worth money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #32 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good place to stay . service is excellent. Staff very friendly.
Must stay for relaxation.eco friendly place. Eazy approach.
Very lovely surrounding. Very good pool. Children enjoy the sites. Good food and lovely deserts.
Overall experince is very good

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritulajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear ritulajmera,

I thank you for your feedback and am glad that you found our food and service is excellent and also I am happy that you loved our hotel surroundings. Your words of encouragement and appreciation will go a long way to motivate us to scale even greater heights in achieving Customer Delight.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore soon and assure you our best always.


Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at Gateway with family. I was upgraded because I was traveling on x'mas day & with family. The Taj hospitality was very much present & felt. But the biggest plus point, its LOCATION.
Next to the ionic "Pub World", opposite the famous "Nagarjuna's" & just across Brigade road, the lifeline of Bangalore, its locations is perhaps the best for a traveller. Walking distance to many popular places, saves much on travel time.
The food is great, though a touch expensive (maybe due to X'Mas).

Room Tip: Take a higher floor as if you get a room facing the road side, the traffic noise would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Manish2012

At the outset, I would like to thank you for taking the time out to share about your experience at the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore.

I am happy that you had an excellent stay with us and you were delighted about our great location.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore soon and assure you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at Gateway Hotel, Residency Road Bangalore during a business trip. As compare to other Gateway hotels I felt this one somewhat not so well maintained. It seems to be a old property so the look is bit old. options in breakfast was OK, food served in room dining was OK.
If you have experienced a Taj hospitality elsewhere you will feel the dfference and may not prefer this hotel for a second stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Bharat188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed again at the Taj Gateway hotel on residency road in Bangalore in last week of December. This place was under renovation when my parents had stayed last time around. The renovation is now done.

The hotel has one of the most convinient locations and the great service just adds up to the advantage.

We had requested for an early check in which was duly met. Also for the check out the hotel sugested we take a 1 hour extension at no extra cost, which was really nice of them.

The food was good and the rooms nicely done up.

If you are in Bangalore and want to stay in central areas, This would be the best hotel option available

Room Tip: Take the room facing the front side. There is significant space between the road and the hotel. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameyajoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Ameyajoshi,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you were delighted about our location and great service.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant Karavalli has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore soon and assure you of our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the end of December and had another great experience. The service was impeccable and the staff were always friendly and helpful. We have stayed at the oberoi before but the taj gateway was a better experience. The location is also very good close to Brigade and MG road. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to bangalore!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear TravelB24


I thank you for your feedback and am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and found our service to be impeccable. It is compliments such as this that motivate us to raise the bar and we look forward to improving our service further.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway hotel soon and assure you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just got back from a short stay at Bangalore with the family. The gateway is the only place to stay while at Bangalore, the service, staff and location are amazing. We have stayed at the oberoi Bangalore before which was nice but we were blown away by the service here. It is close to brigade and MG road which makes it convenient. The breakfast buffet was also nice. We are looking forward to our next stay here !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear TravelB24

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback again.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you were delighted about our location and great service. Also it is indeed a pleasure to hear that you have chosen to stay in our hotel during your visits to Bangalore, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again and enhance our quality of service to ensure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant Karavalli has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino.

Looking forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel with its central location near Brigade and M G road. The rooms are very comfortable, the customer service is wonderful and they offer an excellent breakfast buffet. There is a mall near by and there isa lot of shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Sue DOO,



I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the wonderful service and the excellent breakfast. Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback and we look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.



Assuring you our best always.



Warm Regards,



Albert Rebello

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
The Taj West End
#16 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,612 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#33 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,185 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#10 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: $93 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing