We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #29 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Feb. The hotel is nothing less than a luxury. The moment you enter to the moment you leave, you will have the sense of staying in complete luxury hotel.

The room which we got was huge. Clean and nicely decorated. The service was excellent. Everyone from the desk manager to the bell boy were helpful.

I did not like the food in the hotel though. No doubt, the food was clean and well served. I guess I have different taste buds.

One more thing we noticed that the maximum room temperature you can set was 22 degree centigrade. The technician told us that it is a old hotel and they do not have heating system. He offered us a room heater which worked out well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    389
    75
    12
    5
See reviews for
135
89
68
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Nice and fiendly service, good Indian food and sea food restaurant. Acceptable pricing and good location. Pool area could use a feshening up. 24 hr fitness is offered, though after 9 pm everything is dark and switched off. You have to ask for service.
European dishes are not spectacular (e.g. cesar salad did not taste freshly made and club sandwich was tough and taste non descript; why do Indian hotels still offer club sandwiches? Is this some English tradition? Stick to the Indian dishes which are great. Breakfast was wonderful with the option to eat 'al fresco'.
Rooms are noisy , could hear my next door neighbour snore. Fortunately next door room was not occupied every night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Over the course of a 10 day business trip to Delhi, Mumbai and Bangalore, Taj Gateway Bangalore was the most expensive and lowest quality hotel I stayed in. Rooms are overdue for renovation and yet the hotel cost US$200/night.

Concierge service was lazy and irresponsible. They tried to discourage me from going to most top 10 attractions listed on Trip Advisor. They helped me hire a taxi for 4 hours. The driver disappeared leaving me at a temple after 30 mins. I phoned the hotel duty manager for assistance as I was being followed. The duty manager gave directions to a taxi to return me to the hotel. The earlier driver returned to the hotel late in the day demanding full payment for 4 hours and concierge sided with a driver asking me to pay in full, even knowing the story from the duty manager. Incredibly, I had to convince the hotel staff to negotiate with the driver on my behalf!

The concierge also gave the wrong address twice for a national tourist goods store chain - i paid three times to get to it. a local finally gave the right address.

The one bright spot was Karavalli -a great restaurant with excellent quality food.

The hotel invited me to complete their online survey. I gave them same details as this review with no response after 1 week, hence I am sharing this feedback publicly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

I have been a frequenter to Gateway Hotel since 1991 though with some interruption during2002-06. The class of the Hotel has no comparison. The Hotel has been maintaining the same tradition of excellent hospitality all through. The food is good . The ambience is outstanding. The Hotel has all locational advantages what a visitor to Bangalore expects.The Karavali restaurant is a great passing time in the evening with excellent food options. The deserts you get there are unique and I dont think you will have them anywhere in other hotels. Room service is quick..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGPRASAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

Stayed at The Gateway, a Taj property, for one night in Dec 2010. Even though the hotel is nothing to look at and the reception is fairly simple and functional, the service and the staff are excellent. They were very attentive and hospitable and were on the ball. But the best part of the hotel has to be their speciality restaurant, Karavalli. The food is outstanding and maybe one of the best in India. Highly recommended. The rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors have been upgraded so if chekcing in there, request for those rooms. The breakfast was also very good, especially the freshly baked whole wheat croissants - refreshing change from other hotels where you had to make do with a ready made bread basket. Again, the staff were very attentive and catered to all requests.

Another good aspect was that even though I requested for a taxi for a short distance, they provided the hotel one free of charge which was a very nice touch. A disclaimer - since I was a corporate client, they prob went a little overboard but it was well worth it.

Highly recommended for the business or even leisure traveler who wants a quality hotel in the heart of the city. Very close to the shopping on Brigade Road as well as the business district.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

My lecture invitations take me to all parts of our beautiful country. A Pharma company hosted me at the Taj Gateway on Brigade Road at Bengaluru. The rooms were just about OK. The food scored only 5/10 at the reception post-lecture at dinner. What I found surprising was that despite billing INR 6000+, the hotel still wanted the businessman visitor to pay extra for Internet. I compare this to smaller hotel chains that have comparative comforts but always include Broadband complimentary in the room-rate. My colleagues stayed at three different hotels on Brigade road where they got complimentary broadband. The problem is that this property banks on selling itself on the Taj label. But it ends there. I would suggest passing this hotel. Bengaluru has a plethora of choices!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed one night at at the Taj Gateway on Residency Road. The room size isn't all that large, but the amenities and cleanliness is great. The shower is neat and superbly functional. The hotel is projected as one for primarily business travellers who look for functional comfort; this is not a luxury hotel, so don't expect a resort.
The gym is excellent - clean, spacious, good equipment. The treadmill overlooks the pool so you can admire the blue water while you walk your calories away.
The breakfast buffet spread is excellent - light, fresh and ideal for those who have to hit the road and go to work after their morning meal. There is plenty of fresh fruit, juice, vegetables, bread, cereal and lovely flavoured yogurt spread. We had special food requirements and the chef and his team ensured 100% accuracy.
A few days after our stay, I received an email from the Taj, asking for feedback about our stay at the Gateway. I gave them detailed feedback on all my observations and was pleasantly surprised when I received an email, mentioning all the points of feedback, with an appropriate response to each one! Now that's customer orientation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulllyversTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#5 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#19 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#31 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
The Taj West End
#13 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gateway Bangalore
Taj Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing