We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Chinese and Wednesday Indian buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Ranked #33 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Chinese and Wednesday Indian buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

Stayed at Taj Residency Bangalore or 6 nights.
Cannot miss: Wednesday night Indian buffet, it is an Indian street food buffet. Very good and unique, do not miss it.
Chinese restaurant in Taj Residency Bangalore is really good, the chef is from Malaysia and the food quality and taste is above standard from my opinion ( Taiwanese/Chinese American).
Over all service is good, hotel employees greeted you warmly. But the price difference between I paid for Taj Residency Bangalore and my friend paid for Leela Palace (7 stars ?) are only 50 dollars, which make me think Taj Residency is a bit over priced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A bit old
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Karhu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    567
    116
    34
    21
See reviews for
181
131
115
1,013
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Very good business hotel and nothing more. It has everything you need .. good restaurants (three), gym, book shop, excellent room service, free DVD's, swimming pool but ...it's Bangalore. So a lot of noise from the street, nothing to shop around the hotel. Very crowded everywhere you go. Use the drivers and the cars from the hotel. Thye are paid by the hour. Most guests stay in the hotel in their room.

  • Liked — services of the staff
  • Disliked — noise of the street
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JJN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

I was there at the Taj Residency for 4 nights. The service was exceptionally good. The people in the hotel are very helpful and cordial. The only negative is the hotel is very pricey for the level of service that it provides. The price of room was about $300/pn, for that price you can probably stay at the Leela Palace which is a much better hotel than Taj. I organized a symposium at the hotel. It was quite well done. Pricing was reasonable, food was good.

The restaurants are also pretty pricey inside the hotel for the class of restaurants. Be careful about ordering room service. They had a two egg in the breakfast menu for INR300. I ordered that and they asked me if I wanted to put anything else in it. I mentioned onions and pepper. They charged me INR780 ($20)!! Without letting me know that was the case.

Overall though it was a good experience staying at the hotel in the heart of Bangalore.

  • Liked — Service of the staff was exceptional.
  • Disliked — Price was higher than what I would have expected for a hotel of this class.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HuskerDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

This hotel has a lovely charm about it - what makes it charming is the people at the Taj. Located just on the corner of Mahatma Ghandi, it was a great hotel in a great location for me. The hotel targets business goers and also a great place to go and relax with the family for a meal.
The staff were absolutely fantatstic - the hotel has obviously worked hard on making sure that the business traveller is treated well. From the moment I walked into the hotel, the welcome from the front desk, to the staff who cleaned the rooms and attended to all my needs to the wonderful staff in the dining area (the food was excellent - fresh and superb mix of different styles) nothing was too much trouble for the staff - Brunch on the Sunday is very BUSY. Probably the most attentive and welcoming I have ever come across - other so called luxury hotels could learn a few things from the Taj!!
The hotel itself was very clean, quiet and the rooms were functional rather than anything special. The beds were great.
I stayed 14 days and would come back here again. Given its location, its great. Good security and nice bar which is teeming on a Friday. There is a great Gym in the hotel and given that the food is so good, a few sessions were spent in the gym to just keep the spare tyre in check. The trainer is great!
On the downside - its not a family friendly hotel - little for the kids to do and I certainly would not have them wondering around the grass area outside the gym as the fence overlooking the pool area was just a little bit on the low side.
Overall - superb for the business traveller (everything you need).

  • Liked — Cleanliness of Room
  • Disliked — Room slightly small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nxakram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

I arrove at the hotel at 3 am after traveling around 26hours. I was greeted by a manager outside the front door with a big welcoming smile. He escorted me to the room to ensure it met my needs and checked me in right there.

The room was beautiful and I loved the bathroom. My only complaints were that the bedding did not include a top sheet and there was no alarm clock. Otherwise it was incredibly comfortable and stylish. The room attendent didn't miss a thing. I had fresh flowers in my room every day, stocked water, fresh towels, a clean room and fruit and cookies each day. The laundry service was great as well.

The fitness center was better than any other I've ever seen. It had new machines and weights. I worked out almost every day prior to having breakfast at Cafe Mozaic. Their breakfast buffet included all of the traditional Indian breakfast items, made-to-order omelettes, juices, and pastries. This was included in the price of the room - a big bonus.

I've stayed at five-star hotels in the past and would have to say that the service at the Taj Residency topped any service I've had at a five-star. Their staff truly makes you feel like you're the most important guest in the world. I hope to make it back some day.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank klmille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

The Good:
Rooms are a tad on the small side, but not cramped. Bathrooms are actually quite nice.
Rooms are cleaned daily by a proficient staff

The bad:
hotel restaurants. The Chinese place is Horrible. The breakfast buffet was average at best.
The bar is microscopic.
The pool is in a weird location, everyone eating dinner or drinking in the bar literally stares at you. creepy.


overall it was an uneventful stay (which is always a good thing) but this place is pricey, so i expected more...

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jddssc121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

Excellent location!. Rooms are nice, breakfast is very good. Nice bar and a chinese restaurant. But really expensive :-( . Nothing is free !
They charge you a fortune for picking you up from the airport (complementary for most other hotels), They charge you for wireless internet access.
If not asked they dont tell you whether the breakfast is included in the room rent or not. Taxix booked from the hotel are more expensive compared to other hotels but of inferior quality.
But stay was nice and the quality (if you forget the price) was above average for everything !!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kaustabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#29 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Ulsoor
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
#76 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 649 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta By Taj Whitefield
#31 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
The Taj West End
#12 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Property: Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Address: 41 / 3 Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Ulsoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#19 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#23 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the space that's bang in the centre of Bangalore's business and entertainment areas. Drive in from the airport delighting in backseat surprises (we're not revealing here). You'll see how we mean business in a quiet efficient way from the moment you step in. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - m g Road, Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Taj Residency Bangalore
Taj Residency Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing