We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj - What?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Ranked #38 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I am surprised to see such disparities amongst the Taj properties. This one barely deserves to be called a Taj. Purely for the business travelers who prefer location over quality - this hotel is a strictly 3 star hotel even if it tries hard to project itself as a Taj. The room is very basic and very small. Amenities are strictly okay. The staff at times is not very efficient even if they try hard to be useful. Breakfast buffet is sufficient but again the floor lacks space. It just seems a bit congested compared to its other peers. Food was okay - nothing special. 3 star at best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuneetSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod V, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your comment.

We have taken a note of your feedback regarding your experience during your last visit to the hotel and shared it with our team for necessary improvements

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vivanta by Taj M G Road, Bangalore again on your next visit to Bangalore

Warm Regards,


Vinod Valson

General Manager
Vivanta by Taj – M G Road, Bangalore
41/3 Mahatma Gandhi Road
Bangalore 560 001 Karnataka, India
Telephone: +91 80 6660 4444
Fax: +91 80 6661 4444
Website: Vivanta by Taj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Its been a few weeks since I stayed there. Overall it was a fun stay. It was a hectic work week filled with lots of partying at the end. I will talk about good and bad chronologically because it will make it easy for me to remember.

Prior to check-in I was reading some reviews on TripAdvisor and tried to block a specific room. Called the hotel, the whole experience was horrid, people were transferring me around and not listening. And after wasting a good chunk of my time I couldn't block a room. So thats a big minus there because it worried me even before I set foot in the hotel.

The check-in was great, due to some pricing issues my stay was booked in day chunks instead of a date range, this ultimately caused confusion at checkout as-well. I got an email weeks later from the hotel mentioning that they forgot to charge me for 2 days stay, this made me connect them with my business traveldesk and verify. Again a big minus because more bills/receipts to me to look over.

I got a good room overlooking the lake on the 9th floor. The floor also had a lovely business centre where I could have my meetings. So if you are traveling on business I would definitely recommend the 9th Floor. I am not sure if other floors have it. Also the rooms on the 1st floor have balconies which open up into a garden, also quite nice if you are traveling with family/kids I would recommend that, since the kids can play and the gym is also right next door.

The gym is great, the trainer is an interesting fellow. One of the more well equipped and clean hotel gyms I've been to in recent times. Definitely a plus for me because I really hate losing my routine when traveling.

The room was nice, I was really surprised and happy that they had a home theatre in the room. My only gripe was that it didn't have a sub-woofer, that would have made it really amazing for me. I feel hotels should really keep optional apple tv's on call for people like me who travel with their Macbooks, iPad's etc so they can easily connect. The AV system came in really useful when I had to work out of the room (there was a local holiday in Bangalore).The chair they have is really nice and ergonomic and I could spend long amounts of time on it without fatigue. The only bad things were the expensive wifi and work desk. Otherwise for a business traveller the room offers a great mix of comfort and utility.

The bedding was great and I got great sleep, the room had a fantastic balcony. The hotel food was top notch and the filter coffee every morning really kickstarted my day. The staff was brilliant and I was left alone when I wanted to be and had great conversations with few people who work there when I was at leisure. I personally felt the rooms were a little expensive for what they offer and the bathroom was mediocre (I like the westin ones more). Also can hotels please stop using those generic horrid bath slippers, I hate how they feel. The housekeeping and room upkeep was great, I know this because I use a lot of the small face towels and the housekeeping started keeping more of those at cleaning.

There is a mall right next door which is really great if you decide that you forgot to pack something. Trinity metro station was also closeby. (I decided to start using the metro instead of calling a cab.) Also for some strange reason the hotel is not marked on Google Maps.

Checkout was great and superfast (I am sure thats why that error happened, but I am very happy with how efficient they were in the morning with so many people checking out. I might be back, but really want to check out the bangalore westin before I decide to make Taj my go-to hotel when in Bangalore.

Room Tip: Read the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quickdraw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have stayed at most Taj properties across india and this one has by far the best Breakfast. However the rooms look old and worn out. It is one of the old properties and needs renovation. Still the staff was amazing and the overall service was as usual taj standard. Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamshu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent hotel in rather squalled surroundings. The hotel and staff are making an excellent effort to promote tourism but just beyond the boundary is dilapidated Bangalore with its broken pavements, no pedestrian crossings, dangerous open man holes and unmanned busy traffic intersections. Litter, vermin in abundance and no sign of any effort made by the authorities or department of tourism to remedy the matter- highly ironical, because this supposed to be the city with highly skilled residents in many fields including medical and Information Technology.

No decent toilet facilities in the CBD and putrid bathroom facilities in the mosques that i visited.

All stakeholders should put pressure on the relevant departments to remedy the matter.

Room Tip: select room away from noisy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabeer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

One of the best and most hospitable staff one can come accross is at Taj. The food is good, but the way the staff is able to relate to you is outstanding. I would say perfect for family vacation at good price. True value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod V, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

I am glad to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and found our services measuring up to your satisfaction.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vivanta by Taj M G Road, Bangalore again on your next visit to Bangalore

Warm Regards,



Vinod Valson
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj – M G Road, Bangalore
41/3 Mahatma Gandhi Road
Bangalore 560 001 Karnataka, India
Telephone: +91 80 6660 4444
Fax: +91 80 6661 4444
Website: Vivanta by Taj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It a very nice business hotel located in the heart of the city. Stay was comfortable with excellent service, good food. Rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained... Breakfast spread is good, however, the time to prepare jain food is way too much. Must stay place in case you have a budget of 10k

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brvcool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

good hotel, gr8t comfort & hospitality in mid of business and shopping destination. must stay. dinner at pool side is awesome experience. fitness center and pool - gr8t place to relax.

would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anup308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod V, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

I am glad to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and found our services measuring up to your satisfaction.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vivanta by Taj M G Road, Bangalore again on your next visit to Bangalore

Warm Regards,


Vinod Valson
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj – M G Road, Bangalore
41/3 Mahatma Gandhi Road
Bangalore 560 001 Karnataka, India
Telephone: +91 80 6660 4444
Fax: +91 80 6661 4444
Website: Vivanta by Taj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
#96 of 670 in Bengaluru
738 reviews
The Taj West End
#16 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#33 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,186 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,015 reviews
Vivanta By Taj Whitefield
#36 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Address: 41 / 3 Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Ulsoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#21 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#23 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: $123 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the space that's bang in the centre of Bangalore's business and entertainment areas. Drive in from the airport delighting in backseat surprises (we're not revealing here). You'll see how we mean business in a quiet efficient way from the moment you step in. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - m g Road, Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Taj Residency Bangalore
Taj Residency Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing