We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most everything is good except the bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Ranked #36 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
SG
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Most everything is good except the bed”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room is quite nice. The hotel is small but central. They have a breakfast buffet spread that's good! So you start your day well. The Chinese dim sum stuff though was not so great but I'm spoilt on that front so I won't hold them to my standard. The staff are helpful including changes to say your transport. And they estimate times quite well and you know with India traffic, that can be an asset. I took the airport transfer from the hotel even though you can imagine that's going to be 2 times more expensive than hiring a airport cab or something along those lines (my local office admin could have at half the price). But they do greet you at the airport, escort and ensure you get to your car (which is normal) but also when you leave, someone is at the airport to help you through it all the way to immigration including filling out your exit form for you (that I have never had). The ONE thing that really was poor was the bed. So if you are more used to a fluffy bed, soft mattress, you should be aware that the bed I got was really hard and firm. I was told later they have softer versions but I don't know how soft those were but just beware of this and maybe you can get a softer bed from them. And a high floor facing the pool is best. Traffic on MG road, the honking still filters into the room if you are even on the 7-8 floor as I was. I didn't mind cause I had to get up early anyway to get to meetings but if you intend to sleep in then you should be aware of that.
Also while breakfast starts officially at 6.30 am. They usually are ready about 6.15 for most things and allow you to take a slightly earlier seating to eat if like me you need to get to early meetings.

Room Tip: if a light sleeper you really need your room to face the pool and not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    604
    128
    37
    23
See reviews for
205
148
123
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had an unfortunately very short stay in Bangalore, but was fortunate to stay here. I arrived from Frankfurt in the middle of the night and the staff had been prepared and expedited my check-in so I could get to sleep; they were quite friendly. The room and hotel themselves were quite nice, quite clean, and was conducive for me to get a proper sleep.
Some clients and I had dinner the following evening in the restaurant and it was tasty, with a good wine selection too. My company actually had an event here and the staff was helpful there, too, and even went to a lot of trouble to help us set up some of our materials (i.e. banner stands) that were giving trouble.
As I don't know the locales of Bangalore so well, my understanding is that it was well located, though not so close to the airport (which is not a bad thing, just a comment).
Overall, however, if this is an option for a stay in Bangalore, for me, it's a no brainer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai,India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel and was very impressed by the courteous service offered at the hotel. The buffet breakfast is also very good with many options for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. It is a good central location as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohitbhotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Company had sent for a short business trip to this hotel. Being new to the city, I just wanted to be closest to MG Road. And guess what, this hotel is right there. The hotel staff was very courteous in getting the conference arrangements done.
I would like to mention its a good place to unwind as I happened to attend their saturday night party, which was quite rocking. Overall good place to do business and have fun.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors to stay away from the noisy MG road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed mid May and the weather was good and hot. The hotel is like an "oasis" in the city of Bangalore. The facilities are very nice. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is very good. The staff are ALL very pleasant and seem very happy. Went out and around Bangalore which is a nice place. If you stay you should not be disappointed. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The food is very good , I ate the local food and it was most excellent.

Room Tip: High floors, but the road noise does lessen at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charleso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

stay here because of location, quite central, but off course bangalore, so traffic all over.
hotel arrange pick up at airport also when arriving late at night, and can arrange practically everything.
nice bar at the pool area

did not eat at hotel

Room Tip: get a room on one of the top floors in order to avoid trafic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnielsen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week. Near trinity metro station. The hotel staff picks you up from airport if you call them up. Good service overall. Nice breakfast buffet, the staff kept forgetting my coffee.

The airport transfer worked seamlessly. They have hotel staff holding your name at the arrival greeting area. The hotel has a few cabs, you can use them for getting around. May not be the cheapest option, but convenient and safe if you are not familiar with the city.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sdasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
#88 of 664 in Bengaluru
714 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#32 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,927 reviews
The Taj West End
#13 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,526 reviews
Vivanta By Taj Whitefield
#30 of 664 in Bengaluru
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Property: Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Address: 41 / 3 Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Ulsoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#20 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#23 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the space that's bang in the centre of Bangalore's business and entertainment areas. Drive in from the airport delighting in backseat surprises (we're not revealing here). You'll see how we mean business in a quiet efficient way from the moment you step in. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - m g Road, Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Taj Residency Bangalore
Taj Residency Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing