We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable service as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Ranked #37 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

On business for 5 nights. Booked online and got a good rate for one of the Allure suites. Without doubt a most impressive suite with a seperate living room that had surround sound television system for which you can order DVD's from the hotel who deliver it with popcorn and a coke :) Nice touch. The bathroom had a steam/shower cubicle and a seperate bath tub. There were 2 balconies overlooking the pool.
A special mention must be made for the quality of the food the hotel serves up. Be it room service or in the restaurants the quality of cooking never failed to impress. The breakfast was particularly good. In India all the hotels no matter what star, seem to have a problem getting good sausages for the breakfast spread. I do like my sausages and was pleased with the quality that was served in the hotel.
The service given by the staff was as usual impeccable.
I do have the usual gripes for hotels like this and that is the fact that they will still insist on charging a lot of money for the internet and the hotel cabs seem to be 3 times the cost of regular cabs.
All in all though, I would stay there again. In fact I tried too recently but it was fully booked. Can't be a bad hotel really !!

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up as the noise of the traffic lessens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelhiGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed at Taj Vivanta, MG Road Bangalore for 3D/2N in June 2011. Must admit that i have never been dissapointed as far as brand Taj is concerned. You can expect a certain level of offering that will be associated with Taj (even with a business class brand - Taj Vivanta) and believe me you will not be dissapointed. About the hotel, the location is perfect if you want to be close to the city centre, the place is slighty chaotic because of the Metro construction right in front of the hotel, however the rooms are be very nice and quiet. Suggest you opt for higher floors with a lake view. Food is good, especially the morning buffet breakfast, which has a nice spread. The chinease restaurant also serves good authentic chinease dishes and can be tried once. The staff are friendly and always ready to help. All in all a highly recommended option for business travellers (or for short trips).

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnkurMunjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

placed at very nice and well reachable area. But very near to heavy traffic (Trinity Circle) road, so alot of noise from here and there. But apart from that every thing was good specially the food and the room service.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor, to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brajesh_upes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The property is not constructed as a Taj hotel and understandably so since it was not built by the group but bought over. The maintenance, however, is disappointing. The breakfast spread is good, though. The staff- courteous and ever so spontaneously friendly. But the garden is adjacent to the MG road flyover and isn't a sight for you watch if you wish to have your morning tea on cane chairs in the balcony. The club- Ice- is supposedly good for youngsters, the poolside pleasant for an evening snack. But with twigs all around, only very basic amenities in the tiny bathrooms, tv speakers hanging above your bed (not embedded in false ceiling, as they should be) and poorly maintained plants all around, the property disappoints. Considering you're paying as much as any other hotel, you'd rather stay at the adjacent properties by Oberoi or Park.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floors are non-smoking while those on the upper floors are for smokers. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snigdha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just off the most crowded area of Bangalore, MG Road, the location leaves you worried about the noise. The approach is not too impressive either. But the service, so typical of the Taj group, leaves you completely satisfied. The rooms are standard and just what you would expect at any Taj across the country. The food is outstanding with a fantastic buffet spread in the evenings. I had an emergency situation: I left behind a pair of trousers and the Taj team took care to courier it to me at no additional cost, and even followed up to ensure that I had received it. What more does one want?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManishR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

As put above, it wins as a 3-star hotel !

I went there to attend a one day conference by Mentor Graphics. The halls and partitioning methods they have are ideal for such conferences. The hospitality was nothing to write home about, but not below ordinary either. The architecture and interior surroundings of the hotel are nothing less than classy.

One thing I would have liked better was food. I expected it to live up to the expectations of the name "Taj". But it was slightly on the lower side. It was decent though.

All in all, I would not mind paying 2 to 3 thousand per day to stay at the hotel (inclusive of food). The location is the best in Bangalore, if you are a tourist. M. G. Road has all the class and facilities a visitor would like to experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vsuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was by fifth time staying at the Taj Vivanta in Bangalore. It is a great hotel, rooms are spacious and I love the fact that they all have balconies that you can look out over the pool or the city. Its unique to have a balcony in a hotel room and it gives you a real sense of space, and light in the room and gives you a chance to experience some of the unique sights and sounds of India all from the comfort of your hotel room. I love the pool area at the Taj Bangalore and there is also lovely seating areas for the restaurant and bar round the pool - this is also unique and its lovely to have breakfast outside in the fresh air and an after work drink overlooking the beautiful lit pool (especially for business travellers like myself when it seems that you spend your whole life in air conditioning!) The restaurant has a wonderful breakfast selection and nice,prompt dinner service. The gym is fantastic and has great modern equipment and loads of treadmills so you can always get a good workout even in the peak morning times and/or when the hotel is at capacity. As always, Nazim on the front desk is wonderful and friendly and remembers you by name and your preferences for the room. On my last visit I was able to experience the spa for the first time - all I can say is WOW. A one hour massage was just the thing for the jet lagged over worked business traveller, the spa was beautifully decorated, clean, friendly and opulent. Gold or silver taj card members get a discount on all spa treatments so its worth booking in if you have the chance. The Vivanta Taj Bangalore is one of my favourite business hotels in india.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soapieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
#93 of 670 in Bengaluru
738 reviews
The Taj West End
#16 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#33 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,185 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,012 reviews
Vivanta By Taj Whitefield
#36 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Address: 41 / 3 Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Ulsoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#21 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#23 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: $123 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the space that's bang in the centre of Bangalore's business and entertainment areas. Drive in from the airport delighting in backseat surprises (we're not revealing here). You'll see how we mean business in a quiet efficient way from the moment you step in. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - m g Road, Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Taj Residency Bangalore
Taj Residency Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing