We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #13 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

The garden is fantastic. Incredibly huge and lush. The 2 pools are not too big, but just nice. Service was good, too. The only thing that was not that great was the massage parlour. Massages were provided in a room without windows and staff didn't seem that professional. That's just a small minus though. Overall the stay was fantastic. Rooms were spacious, elegant and clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FannyBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arindham, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
Dear Guest
Greetings from The Taj West End, Bangalore

Firstly let me thank you for taking your time out to write such a good review about the hotel.

I am happy to note that you found the overall experience to be very positive and thank your for your compliments .

I have also noted your point on the massage parlour and have taken the issue with the concerned head of department and briefed the staff about the same.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience & the gaps in terms of product features and processes.

We immensely value your patronage and would always endeavour to deliver the highest standards in products & services as is expected out of us by our regular and esteemed guests like yourself.

Look forward to the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times.

Thanking You
Arindam Kunar
General Manager
The Taj West End
A Member of The Leading Hotels of The World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    270
    69
    25
    13
See reviews for
265
243
104
727
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

With more than 6 million miles on my frequent traveler cards I can say without a doubt the Taj West End is best hotel I've experienced in any location. The best staff the best food, the most comfortable rooms and choices anywhere.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigIslandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

I was extremely happy with my stay at the Taj West End Hotel in Bangalore. From the first “Namaste greeting” offered by the security guards inside the front gates of the hotel property, I felt welcomed. Everyone treated us with respect and warmth.

On our first night, we dined at the hotel’s Masala Klub Restaurant’s outdoor dining area. We had the chef’s tasting menu and it was divine! I fell in love with Malai Kulfi!!! The hotel’s Mynt restaurant was also great! I was particularly impressed with the quality of the service we received. In fact, we had all of our meals at the hotel as a result of the efficiency of the service and the taste of the food.

The beds and the bathrooms in our hotel suite were very clean and comfortable. There were fresh flowers on the tables that lined the veranda. Our view of the garden was private and inviting.

The hotel staff went out of their way to provide us with great service. For example, during our stay, the pilots of Jet Airways were on strike. As a result, the hotel’s travel representatives took the initiative to rebook our departure out of Bangalore on other airlines. I did not have to worry about anything. Likewise, in order for us to visit elderly relatives in Bangalore, the hotel provided us with a car & driver at a very reasonable rate. I felt safe and comfortable in the hotel’s care.

After staying at this hotel, I became a big fan of the Taj Hotel. Throughout the rest of my trip through India, I dined at the Taj whenever I could!

I highly recommend this hotel chain to anyone visiting India!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leenamerene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arindham, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, September 24, 2009
Dear Guest
Greetings from The Taj West End, Bangalore!

At the outset let me thank you for your taking your time out in giving such a positive feedback about the hotel and its services.

I have passed on your valuable and inspiring comments to all my associates in the hotel.

Positive feedback like these help us in giving our best services to all our guests time and again.

Once again thank you for choosing Taj West End for your stay in Bangalore and i hope you continue to stay and dine at all Taj Hotels.

Thanking You
Yours Sincerely
Arindam Kunar
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore!
A Member of The Leading Hotels of The World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

I went to this hotel last month, and absolutely loved it!!!!
I live in Bangalore , however, wanted a relaxing weekend, so went to this hotel
The staff is excellent, food at Mynt and the Indian restaurant, Masala Klub is awesome too!!!!
Accomodation is very nice, rooms are big spacious, and lots of greenery
5 on 5 stars

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellevart_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed here twice, once in a garden suite and the other time in one of their executive suites. Rooms impeccable, service flawless, food exquisite. Must try the Indian BBQ by the pool - huge portions of the tastiest food. The Sunday brunch cannot be missed - a real occasion, complete with champagne. The outdoor restaurant has superb food and Friday and Saturday night in the Blue Ginger (Blue Oyster) bar is great fun and attracts the right crowd.

One fault though - the second time I stayed, they had double-booked and I had to stay in another hotel for the first night. Not at all amused and against my better judgement, I returned - and still loved it.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arindham, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Dear Guest
Greetings from The Taj West End, Bangalore!

Thank you for giving such a valuable feedback about your stay with us in October 2006.

Its been really long that you have not stayed with us post your last stay.

Things have changed a lot in the last 3 years. the Indian BBQ by pool is now known as Masala Klub.

The Sunday Champagne brunch at our Mynt coffee shop is still on. Mynt was just rated the Best Lebanese Restaurant in Bangalore in the Times Food Guide Awards.

The Blue Ginger restaurant won the Best Vietnamese award in the Times Food Guide Aards.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit.

Thanking You
Arindam Kunar
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore
A Member of The Leading Hotels of The World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

This hotel is an oasis amongst the noise and rush of Bangalore. Located well for reaching the shopping areas in Bangalore, it is a good hotel to select. I felt the pricing was on the high side for the food, especially if you test that against the cost outside the hotel.
Overall I would stay here again. The concierge and polite and knowledgeable. The room sizes are huge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sta108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arindham, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
Dear Guest
Greetings from Taj West End, Bangalore!

Thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel.

I have conveyed your comments to my concierge team.

Looking forward to meeting you on your next stay with us in the garden city.

Thanks and Regards
Arindam Kunar
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore!
A Member of The Leading Hotels of The World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
544 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Taj West End is a lovely hotel. Set in a colonial mansion, the hotel's layout and design take you back to when the British sun never sets. Ceiling fans, mood lighting and Victorian era inspired furniture complete the experience.

My room had a walkway entrance with a metal gate by the pool, with garden chairs and table outside. It felt like I was on a plantation a hundred years ago. The room itself is not large but very comfortable with every amenity. The DVD player and WiFi service ensured you remember you still live in the 21st Century.

The service is outstanding. Smiling faces all around, and little things let you know the hotel makes an effort to look after you. Service is prompt and flawless.

The hotel is located across a racecourse and the street outside is busy at times, but it does not take long to go into the city. If you are heading out of town, that's another story. Allow plenty of time to go to Electronics City or corporate offices.

The food is good but not spectacular. Both Blue Ginger (Vietnamese) and Masala Klub (Indian) have fine food and are above average in taste, presentation and service.

Overall, staying at Taj West End was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arindham, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
Dear Guest
Greetings from Taj West End, Bangalore!

Thank you for giving such a positive feedback. It was great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon to The Taj West End in the near future.

Thanking You
Yours Sincerely
Arindam Kunar
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore!
A Member of The Leading Hotels of The World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#10 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#11 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing