We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its THE West End Nuff Said!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #12 of 648 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Muktsar, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its THE West End Nuff Said!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This has been my favourite hotel ever since I was a kid. The most amazing thing about the West End is how it continues to reinvent itself yet retains that old world garden charm. Every block of this hotel has its own unique charm and the lush greenery all over gives it an absolutely lovely feel. Just the fact that none of their blocks has a third story gives the place a chilled out hacienda feel and they have done very well in melding the old class with modern design. The service is and has always been top class. The food served at their restaurants and room service is extremely well presented and very tasty too. The coffee shop has a nice chilled out feel to it and though I'm not a big fan of Blue Ginger I must say it has really improved over the years. The Blue Bar though not as happening as it once was has a real therapeutic feel to it with the lovely Bangalore weather (especially for a North Indian visitor in July). Have been staying here for almost 35 years since it was a Spencers Hotel and god willing will visit The West End for many more. Keep it Up guys!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank discerningsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

On behalf of the team from The Taj West End, please accept our heartfelt gratitude for your so kind words for the entire team.

We always endeavor to instill this passion and commitment among the team members and am really glad to know it made a difference to you. I have shared your positive feedback with all my colleagues as feedback such as yours motivate us to attempt superior levels.

Assuring you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj West End…….

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    265
    67
    24
    12
See reviews for
255
237
102
716
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Inspite of bad incident somehow have something that pulls me to this property . Inspite of the fact that my other colleagues would prefer other brand where it is easier to accumulate free nights ...decided to arrive here ....reach there late night 1030 pm ...
checkin a junior guy , silent attitude ....never bothered for even normal courtesies ..which i am used to ...like " welcome back " etc etc ...i am not one who likes to be pampered ...

When i made an polite observation about my displeaure on being asked my ID card , was given reason that IT systems have changed and hence all data lost , but when i insisted he knew my preference of a particular block in hotel , i again expressed my displeasure and then the attitude of the guy came out ...mind it ...i only expressed my displeasure and that too in professional manner ...
When the guy showed me attitude big time , i had to put my feet down and demand an explanation .from duty manager ..he said he is the duty manager ..a 4yr experience guy ..duty manager ( Taj management ..whats wrong with you ?? how can you leave such great luxury property in hand of a kiddo with bad attitude and zero customer handling skills ) ...i am a frequent traveller and highest level of taj hotels loyality program inner circle .

Besides this as always rooms and other things were 5/5 ..somehow ...my polite request Taj management don't make this great property a training ground , this property is jewel in the crown , having stayed in almost most taj luxury properties in india , leaving aside heritage hotels , this is the best when it comes to luxury+business in a metro .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesyHitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your compliments. We are happy to note that you have had a great stay at the hotel.

We have shared your feedback regarding your experience at the time of check-in with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End
Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I'm staying in the Taj West End this week and to be honest I'm disappointed - but not really about the hotel itself.

The Vietnamese restaurant is excellent (the head chef in the hotel is fab!) and the staff are all polite and friendly. The gardens are as beautiful as you'd hope (as are the pools!) and the first couple of days of our stay were nice and relaxed.

I'm sad to raise issues but be honest it seems all the hotels problems are caused by corporate decision making and are probably out the hands of the staff so I don't feel guilt complaining

I have found 3 big problems:

1) Saturday - On Saturday the Blue Bar plays insanely loud club music all evening until 1am. This can be heard across the grounds and makes both the windows and your bones shake. This wasn't something they advertised and really upset me as I purposefully chose somewhere they pitch as tranquil - see youtube and read the website.

2) Internet - The Taj charges over £7.50 per day for WiFi whilst at most Bangalore hotels its now free (or almost). Simply a rip-off. I should say it works well however - but for nearly 10% of the room rate it should. You can buy a 4G dongle in India for £10 a month(!) but it wouldn't work at the Taj because of the trees. Adding effectively the cost of an entire extra night to my hotel bill in WiFI costs is something they should be ashamed of. There is a cheaper 7 day option but only for 1 device so any businessman is unlikely to find this helpful.

3) Hotel Cars/Taxis - The Taj has a HUGE minimum car journey price of £17.50 (this is VERY high for Bangalore (You can get a non-hotel car almost anywhere for £2). I'm told they often send a new white BMW but they picked me up in an old Toyota from the Airport [£40!]).

By comparison, we have friends here staying at the 5* LaLit Ashok, only 2000 metres down the road, where the concierge looked embarrassed charging £5 for a guy to drop them here to visit, hang around over lunch, and drive them back (a TukTuk would be £0.20)

If the Taj sorted these things out it could be rated 1st in Bangalore not 14th!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewTibbitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Tibbitts,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your compliments. We are happy to note that you have had a great stay at the hotel.

We have shared your feedback regarding Blue Bar music with our team and to our Corporate Office regarding the internet charges and car hire charges. Would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End
Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I am finding this review particularly difficult to write. I found the service at the hotel (in particular from Shivakumar M at reservations and Debayan Ghosh at concierge) was excellent. Debayan was very helpful in arranging a lovely trip to Mysore.

The hotel reception was fun, complete with jasmine necklaces and a refreshing beverage and check in was smooth. Meaning well, they upgraded us to a larger room that had two queen beds (we were travelling with our young adult daughter) instead of adding a roll away to our original room. This room, however, was not what we had hoped for. It certainly was not worthy of 5 stars. It was dark with no private terrace and not a particularly nice view from the small window. The carpet needed replacing and the bathroom was musky. This is probably because the tub never completely drained. We would have to stand in cold water at the start of our showers. We brought this to the attention of our cleaning staff who apologized profusely, revacuumed and tried to drain the tub. The problem was not with the drain but with the angle of the tub floor. I would have preferred another room and should have said so.

The gardens were extensive and very pretty. The food was delicious. We enjoyed eating outside on the terrace. The pool we swam in was refreshing (there are two) but the change room was confusing.

Transport to and from the airport was very smooth. Ask the desk for Gurunath M. (919980853704). He is amazingly professional and safe. Excellent driver. Do see Mysore for a day.

So, to recap, the service was great and the hotel has wonderful qualities but we were disappointed with our room.

Room Tip: Check your room upon arrival and don't be afraid to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments. We conveyed your compliments to Mr. Gurunath.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay at the hotel.

We have shared your feedback regarding the room allotted to you with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End
Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are in bangalore for a weekend with friends and want a Sunday afternoon of self indulgence then go no further than the Taj West. Unlimited Moët and a wide ranging buffet covering all cuisines means something for everyone. Moët is an option so for those of you that prefer not to drink you can still enjoy the food.
Staff are attentive and friendly and the general buzz makes for a great time. For those with children there is entertainment for them leaving a chance for adults to sit back and relax.
A must every time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End
Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itchy__feet07
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

By far the best hotel I've stayed in India and most definitely my favourite. Impeccable service, fantastic food and beautiful rooms. Whether your sipping your morning coffee on your balcony, enjoying a dip in the sun-drenched pool or enjoying a fabulous Vietnamese dinner, the Taj West End has the ability to make you feel like royalty. Thank you to all of the staff who made my stay so perfect (especially my housekeeper and room attendant Sarale and Santosh); I was here on business but was made to feel like I was on holiday! Flowers in my room, a rose petal foot spa....this is Indian luxury at it's best. Already looking forward to next time :-)

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank itchy__feet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End
Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

From arrival, at the gate at the baggage security check, all the way to the staff cleaning the room in the morning the chats were pleasant, polite and informative. The garden setting is wonderful esp. to have morning tea on the balconey, or the breakfast on the club room patio and the dinner amongst the trees and flowers on the Mynt lawn! I had forgotten to return the room key when checking out, so when I returne 8 hours later I was met with a smile and a warm, 'No Problem, sir!' Great

Room Tip: On the ground floor, opposite the pool is good. After a quick dip one can quickly nip back into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End
Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 648 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#8 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#15 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#10 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#11 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing