We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Masala Klub : wonderful dinner !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #13 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Masala Klub : wonderful dinner !”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We went just for dinner at the Masala Klub and were really delighted by this place.
Ambiance is very quiet and pleasant
Staff is great, listening to all your wishes
Food is delicious. We had degustation menus (Indian food) that were really tasty and delicate.
The Chef came to see if everything was fine. And it was !

Price was moderate, considering the place and the food quality.
We definitely recommend for an unforgettable dinner

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pdardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    270
    68
    25
    13
See reviews for
265
243
102
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Taj West End is a paradise tucked within the chaos of Bangalore.

I have stayed at other Five star properties in Bangalore and Taj West is a definite winner for me. It’s a true heritage type property with the old Raj feel with its rain forest like amazing gardens and villas.

I extensively travel all over the world and one thing that most Indian Five star hotels offer is unsurpassed level of service. And Taj excels at that! Like other Taj properties, I have stayed, the service at Westend was outstanding and just for that one reason, I would give it 5 Stars all the way. The duty manager Paramjeet Singh went out of his way to help me with everything from my arranging a rental car to helping me with other logistics. The other staff members were very helpful as well.

I didn’t try all the restaurants on the property and the main lobby restaurant which stretched out to the gardens appealed to me the most and that’s where I had most of my meals which were very good.

Overall a great experience and I definitely plan to stay here again the next time I am in Bangalore.

Room Tip: The rooms at the heritage wing might be a bit musty and you should look at the newer rooms on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent 1 night here. The hotel, room and service were exceptional. We ate at the Masala Klub restaurant in the hotel and had the best lamb chops that we have ever eaten. Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ads78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Taj Westend, stayed in December 2011 and in December 2012 and when in Bangalore again we will definately stay here. The hotel has all the facilities you will need and some more, staff are friendly and caring, room we stayed in was excellent and well maintained. The atmosphere here makes you feel at home and adds to the enjoyment of your holiday. Special mention of people who really walked that extra mile to make you feel welcome are Paul Dokka, thank you Paul for the warm welcome you extended to us, Pooja Bailey that you for being at hand always to see to oue needs and to Harsha Jade our pianist friend for the great music you played..For a great experience visit the Taj Westend in Bangalore.Gony, Gita and Tasha Pillay -South Africa.

Room Tip: Club rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tash1990_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to Mr.Paul Dokka and Ms.Pooja Bailey team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Purpose of stay: Official. 3-day National Conference in October (apologies for this late review). Hotel selected by employer.

Returned to chaotic Bangalore, after more than 20 years. Bangalore can no longer live up to its serene "garden city" name of old. The traffic, pot-holed roads are as maddening as Kolkata.

Step in to The Taj West End - celebrating 125 years of welcoming travellers - and you are cut off from the hustle and bustle just outside the massive gates.

A quick check-in and a brief walk through a cobbled pathway, lined with trees and bushes and guests enjoying drinks and dinner in the the lawn and I was in my allotted Luxury Grande Room with a private verandah.

The breakfast selection was so varied that even after a 3-day stay, I had still not sampled every dish available. Service was great and those serving remembered your preferences, after just 1 breakfast.

After the official part of the stay concluded each day, it was easy to hop into an auto rickshaw easily available outside the gate to roam the city.

The Taj West End cocooned me in luxury for 3 wonderful days. Thank you Taj!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Mynt team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are visiting Bangalore and think the city is chaotic, noisy and ridiculously crowded - step into The Taj Westend. Within seconds of going through the main gates, one is transported into the beautiful regal city Bangalore once was. A thick layer of very old trees protect the hotel building from all the noise and dust - while the building itself oozes old Bangalore charm. Unlike the rest of Bangalore, the place is completely noise free with soothing greenery all over the place. The excellent display of heritage art pieces around the hotel takes one back in time instantly.

Amongst the several restaurants and bars this hotel has, I simply love 'Masala Klub'. The tasting menu they have is to die for! The food is simply made to perfection. If you are someone like me who enjoys innovative ways of serving food - watch out for the tamarind sorbet that comes between the first course and the main course. While it serves the purpose of neutralising your taste palatte, the dish itself comes with some dry ice in a larger container that spews smoke from little holes.. Looks like a volcano just about to go off - Glorious creativity!

I simply cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank row_heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Ambience was good and lobby restaurant good for breakfast meetings. I didn't stay here, but spent one day for a conference. Service was good and food also very good. People were very helpful and arranged the transportation for city trip with nice guide. Looking forward an occation to stay here in future. It is near to most happening places of Bangalore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great conference with us.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,808 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,830 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 652 in Bengaluru
538 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#11 of 652 in Bengaluru
864 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#10 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing