We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative, beautiful, wonderful, you get my drift!”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #16 of 665 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Working for an Indian firm I travel there a lot, to Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad and Bangalore.

I've stayed in many of the best hotels in each place - but not before in the TWE Bangalore ... on this trip I arrived on a Tuesday to go to Le Meridien, then out for three days to a work conference out of the city, then back to the TWE for two days.

I can say, without compulsion, that it became two of the best days I've had in India. The TWE is a beautiful property with lush and spacious gardens - all well tended. Cottages and buildings dotted around the gardens as well as the heritage block house rooms and suites, most with private gardens and terraces or balconies - I didn't see a building over two stories high. My suite was spacious, well fitted and extremely comfortable, the butler efficient without being over bearing, the room staff charming and helpful. I instantly felt relaxed and calm - and after a hectic few days very relaxed.

Several things stood out, on arrival I booked a later car to take me to the Meridien to collect a jacket I had accidentally left in the wardrobe on checking out. I then headed for a drink and some food with colleagues - as we were eating the gentlemen who checked me in came to me and said 'we have collected your jacket, steamed and pressed it and it's hanging in your wardrobe' - service that goes beyond expectation and a wonderful thing too. Other stand outs, the pool, the Blue Ginger restaurant with delicious grub and a very good wine list, the bar where a very acceptable dry martini can be had although it's a little jumping on a Saturday night, the gardens again, the absolute flood of bottled water in the rooms whereas many Indian hotels are very parsimonious with this, the buffet on Saturday (delectable).

Most of all, the peace and quiet and space that it has that few other places in India and certainly Bangalore don't. Of all the areas and hotels I have visited I can see me returning to TWE always for business and taking my partner and friends for holidays.

Guess you see I loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank slinky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
There are newer reviews for The Taj West End
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,490 - 1,496 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vishal_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Stayed: October 2007
Thank palin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SiddMoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I Stayed at the Taj Westend for 2 weeks in the middle of a business trip of 3 months. The Taj is good and has several good resturants on site and you must go to the champagne brunch on sundays as this is truly the best meal in bangalore! Otherwise it is not quite as modern as expected but has a unique charm and quirkyness that you would want as a tourist. For myself on business the Leela Palace was far superior.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank psjohners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Stayed: May 2007
Thank DSGNgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Stayed 4 nights on business--very nice, clean, plush room with a dressing room and a double-sink bathroom. Food in restaurants was good and laundry left in the morning was hung up (with more care than the clothes warranted) in my closet that same night. Problems: "butler" didn't place the wakeup call he specifically asked me about the night I arrived (the morning staff did respond very nicely to my freakout when I awoke on my own, 1.5 hours late), the "rain"-type showerhead got water all over the marble floor (so I switched to the regular shower for the rest of my stay), and the mattress was HARD (couldn't do anything about that). Why on earth the butler even asked about a wakeup call, I don't know; the phone has a button for an automated system that worked perfectly well (and why no $$$ hotels in Bangalore have clocks in them, I also do not know).

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMCPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,987 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#11 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,997 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#10 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#9 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: $186 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing