We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coastal Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
Ranked #18 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coastal Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The last time we visited Dakshin was for the Syrian Christian Community Cuisine, which was part of its “Community Kitchens” series. That was when we decided to follow the Community Kitchens trail as we felt there was something new to look forward to. This weekend we headed to Dakshin to enjoy the quintessential Mangalorean flavour reflected through its Community Kitchens festival “Mangalore Medleys.”

Being a coastal belt, Mangalore broadly is known for dishing up fish delicacies. But then when we tried the food, we realized that there’s more to Mangalorean cuisine than just bajjis or Mangalore curry. Many of the dishes were moderately tempered and felt almost like home food. We then got to know that Mangalorean Cuisine brings together the ‘Tulu Nadu’ region which includes the food of the Mogaveeras, Billavas, Bunts, Vokkaliga Gowdas, Saraswat Brahmins, Mangalorean Catholics and Bearys.

We tried the kadale curry and paired it with Rotti or thin flakes of rice flour cooked on hot plate. The kadale curry was a faint reminder of the north Indian channa masala, while the Rotti was so light, we treated ourselves to a second one. This time, we paired it with a mildly spiced brinjal gravy, which was enjoyable.

My co-diner settled for Istew, served with wholesome sannas. These sannas are fermented and steamed rice and lentil cakes. Like food from the other parts of the South, Mangalore cuisine also uses coconut, curry leaves, ginger, garlic and chilli.

You can sink your teeth into a bowlful of delicious sabbakki payasa, a thick dessert made of sago and garnished with nuts and pistachios. Of course there was the traditional Holige or jaggery-coconut stuffed thin bread, but we were too satiated to have a second dessert.

S. Vathsala

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vathsalasrinivasa423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCWINDSOR, General Manager at ITC Windsor, Bengaluru, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day to you from ITC Windsor Bengaluru

We are delighted to know that you and your co-diner enjoyed the vagaries of community cuisine Dakshin has to offer. You would be glad to know that Dakshin is an award winning restaurant having won the coveted Times Food Guide Award for the Best South Indian Restaurant in Bengaluru.

It remains our commitment to ensure that our valued guests enjoy their stay with us..

We look forward to your continued visits and the pleasure of welcoming you
back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    320
    88
    16
    11
See reviews for
158
109
84
866
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

on my way back from orange county kabani, via mysore i checked-in for a night before taking the next morning flight back home. must say that this property surely needs to be refurbished & upgraded sooner than later. i feel the management of ITC is not interested in upkeep of this property after ITC Gardenia; as thats what is reflected from the interiors. the lifts to the tower rooms starting with room no.'s 2xxx are jerky, old & horrible although they claim they have plans of changing them soon. the interiors of the room including the bath are faded & small besides the rooms need a complete refurbishment. apart from that ITC presently advertises about a complimentary room upgrade for web bookings which this property seldom does on the pretext that the higher category is full which is never true. this is after they first try to falsely convince you that you have booked a lower category room & they have successfully upgraded you to next higher category which is actually the room category which you have booked and paid for. having stayed at all other ITC properties in India i feel this one is a let down till its refurbished & lifts are replaced or repaired.

however the service is prompt & the restaurants / lobby are amazing added to the central location of this property which somehow gives them revenue due to out guests dining in the restaurants / bar.

if you want latest clean big rooms to stay in jump to ITC Gardenia for the time being !

Room Tip: Ask for re-furbished rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imrandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at ITC Windsor, Bengaluru, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of your recent stay at the ITC Windsor.

We have noted your feedback on our Elevators and may we inform you that the elevators are in the process of being upgraded. We have also noted your observations on your Upgrade. Thank you once again for bringing the same to our attention.

Your feedback has helped us take corrective measures and have also helped us synergise and streamline our services.

Your recognition of our services at our restaurants is appreciated by all of us.

It is our endeavour to provide our guests with the highest levels of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable.

We at the ITC Windsor certainly look forward to welcoming you again at the ITC Windsor

Best Regards,


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Amazing place just superb. A must visit place with really good ambiance. Its an experience of a lifetime........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NehaGautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCWINDSOR, Manager at ITC Windsor, Bengaluru, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to share with us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
Your recognition of our product & service is appreciated by all of us.

It is our endeavour to provide our guests with the highest levels of comfort & to make their stay truly memorable.

The team at ITC Windsor is committed to quality service & your appreciation our team, space, cuisine, beverage,ambience is appreciated .

Looking forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

itc windsor is a fabulous place to stay. my room was crisp and clean, with useful amenities. spacious room size provided Breakfast experience is excellent specially with different type of cuisine on one buffet . Employees are polite and fast .. always respond to you quickly

Room Tip: tower room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nidhi1672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCWINDSOR, Manager at ITC Windsor, Bengaluru, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing with your appreciation on our product and services during recent stay at the ITC Windsor.

It is our endeavour to provide our guests the highest levels of comfort to make their stay memorable.

Thank you once again for your comments and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at the ITC Windsor in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had a short but comfortable stay at this hotel. Although the hotel is not the gigantic size I had thought it to be from the official website photographs it was well-appointed and my room was pleasant and clean, with useful amenities. Plenty of bottled mineral water was provided in the room. I found the staff extremely polite and helpful. Standard of the food in terms of flavour and presentation was high, albeit the main restaurant service was a little slow. Was not able to open windows in my room, they are permanently closed to reduce noise. However this was not a problem for me. The hotel has meeting rooms and bars. I would think it a good choice for business travellers and short family stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I had a fabulous experience at the ITC Windsor Manor which I wanted to share.. Everything was just right, from my check-in, the room, the service and the food..

Wasn't overwhelmed by the staff, thankfully, and was pleasantly surprised that I bumped into an old friend, which made the stay even more enjoyable!!

Would highly recommend it to frequent travelers, its on the right side of town if you're coming from the airport..

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himmatanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCWINDSOR, General Manager at ITC Windsor, Bengaluru, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day to you from ITC Windsor Bengaluru..

Thank you for sparing time to share with us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
The entire team feels proud and honoured to read your compliments.

We feel privileged to be appreciated of the Product and Services, along with the cuisines of ITC Windsor.

We would like to extend our heartfelt Thank you for recommending the hotel to the other travellers.

It remains our commitment to ensure that our valued guests enjoy their stay with us..

We look forward to your continued visits and the pleasure of welcoming you
back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our visit to India. We stayed in the side wing the first night (small rooms but very well appointed) and then moved to a suite (spacious and comfortable) in the main building the second night. We used several services in the hotel, including business center, room service, the in-house doctor, the Indian restaurant, the concierge and the bell captain.
Result were mixed. I asked the concierge about shopping nearby and they directed me to a close but basically empty mall. Also, the transfer to the airport was overpriced. The bell captain was extremely helpful packing the cricket bats we had bought and could not fit in our luggage. The staff at the business center was also helpful and let us use the pc for the flight check-in procedure. The doctor came quickly, if not cheaply and gave me medication so that I could take my flight home. Room service was fine but we found the restaurant staff a bit stiff and not paying much attention.
The bad impression I had afterwards is a detail about the bill. I expect my credit card to be charged in the local currency. In this case the amount on the slip was in INR but much smaller it said that the charge would be in my home currency. The employee at the desk did not inform me of this. This kind of tricks is not smart in my opinion.

Room Tip: The manor suite is great if you want extra space. It has a living room with dining area, a desk, a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyGeorgeVwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCWINDSOR, Manager at ITC Windsor, Bengaluru, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ITC Windsor, Bengaluru...

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of the ITC Windsor.

We have noted your feedback on our Concierge,.the airport transfers and our services at our restaurant... and most importantly your detail on your bill... Your recognition of our Bell Captain and Business Centre services is appreciated and has been noted..

It is our endeavour to provide our guests with the highest levels of comfort & to make their stay comfortable...

Looking forward to welcoming you back again at the ITC Windsor, Bengaluru in the near future.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
ITC Gardenia, Bengaluru
#20 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Taj West End
#13 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Le Meridien Bangalore
Le Meridien Bangalore
#28 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Windsor, Bengaluru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Windsor, Bengaluru

Property: ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
Address: 25 Windsor Square, Bengaluru 560052, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#10 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#17 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Windsor, Bengaluru 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Windsor, Bengaluru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Windsor, Bengaluru Hotel Bangalore
Windsor Bangalore
Windsor Sheraton Hotel Bangalore
Itc Windsor Sheraton
Windsor Sheraton Bangalore
The Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing