We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“collected 50% extra room charge while check out. horrible”
Review of Goldfinch Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goldfinch Retreat
Ranked #32 of 605 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2013

i express my deep concern about the hotel reservation staffs. People are a bunch money eating greeders.

i had booked a room for my parents n my child at this hotel through makemytrip-a superior double room fr sm 5k.
initially i ticked only 1 adult n voucher ws issued.so i called up the hotel to change the occupancy thn they demanded Rs.2200 extra and so i called up makemytrip and changed it to double occupancy and aftr 2 hour long talks with the hotel n makemytrip (which was 100% customer hostile). they agreed for Rs.1000 extra( if no extra bed was taken) as ws the price mentioned in makemytrip..n mails wer sent to me and the hotel rearding the matter.

i thought everything was solved ..happy..bt not for long.
WHILE AT THE TIME OF CHECKOUT, they demanded Rs.2200 extra. the reservation staff the receptionists were so terrible that that my father had to hand ovr the whole money coz they wer late fr their flight.

i mean this is real cheating. initialy it ws agreed for 1k extra n grabing double the amount frm the customers. a very very bad experience. i would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank frtrehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreat123, General Manager at Goldfinch Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest
We are posting this response late because we were coordinating with Coordinating with our travel partner to get more clarity on this regard.

We strongly protest to the wrong review posted by “frtrehman” (BOOKER) on 30 March 2013.

Here reviewer himself has accepted that he wrongly booked on 22 March 2013 for “one adult” through Make My Trip (MMT) and generated voucher accordingly. Later on 29 March 2013, when BOOKER wants to accommodate additional “one adult and one child” along with the original guest, he called our reservation team to make necessary amendment to which my team politely quoted the additional cost as Rs. 1100/- nett for additional “one adult and one child” with complimentary breakfast for all or Rs. 2200/- for additional “one adult and one child” with extra bed and complimentary breakfast for all, and since the booking has been done through MMT, my team requested him to make desired amendments through MMT only.

After due discussions occurred separately between BOOKER & MMT and MMT & our team, MMT wrote to us saying “addition of 1 adult and 1 child has been done so please amend the booking without any extra bed and guest will pay directly at the hotel 1100 INR. But breakfast will be provided to him”.

And, at the time of CHECK-IN, the guest requested our reception to provide an extra bed for the child to which it has been provided accordingly and applicable charges are collected at the time of CHECK-OUT as per the conversation and email from MMT.

So, we would like to bring to the kind notice of all the portal users that this review has been done wrongly without understanding the information passed by our reservation team or MMT and we would like to reiterate that Goldfinch Retreat and its staff are always ready to serve our guests at any given point of time.

Thank You
With Regards
Mukesh Keserker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 296 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Been today for a day out in Goldfinch retreat. It was a nice and memorable experience at the hotel. It was a deal from Snapdeal and it is well worth the money we spent. The day went like this
1) Reached the resort at 10 AM and did our registration. The reception was very good and they have good people manning the reception. I gave some suggestions about adding their hotel to Google maps.
2) Had the welcome drink and went through the resort facilities. They have a limited facilities like carrom, table tennis, pool table and hand football and outdoor like swimming pool, badminton, volley ball. We played a bit of badminton and then started with our swimming pool.
3) The swimming pool is a best part in this resort. They have a pool side bar and with good music played althrough the day. The chat counter and the dosa counter is also set near the pool and so if someone is really hungry while swimming can fill their stomachs. They have a huge TV in the pool area where they were playing the cricket match between India and Australia which was a unique experience watching it from a swimming pool.
4) The Lunch was good with only complaint that they didnt have a Veg/NonVeg starter. The staff was good at the restaurant with getting the refills at regular intervals.
5) I saw a huge group of tourists who were playing water polo in the swimming pool having a lot of fun. it is a good place for team outings.
6) The evening high tea was ok and it was a memorable day overall.


I think with respect to the rooms it should be good as the entire hotel was maintained very well

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baski26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Arrived late night from an international flight.actually I had given the wrong date and arrived one day early.The guy at the desk went out of his way and got us a room ready with an extra bed in no time. Breakfast was ready early morning and transport was arranged to airport. Good rooms and good food.
K.Naidu

Room Tip: Ask for airport transfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KONDASWAMY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved staying here with family.
It's super, well maintained, clean. The towels, toiletries, hair dryer..bottled water..everything was always available.

There was a guy at reception who went out of his way to get my cell phone charged when I couldn't - they are very friendly.
I even got a complimentary ride to airport from the hotel..but you got to ask it :)

Oh well only catch point is their dinner was sooooper expensive. I wish that was a bit reasonable...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kusukusu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreat123, General Manager at Goldfinch Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest.

It was our pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel. And thank you for reviewing us in this platform to meet your objective.

Thank You
With Warm regards

Mukesh.N.Keserker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked 5 rooms for a family get-together over the week-end as we wanted to be not too far from home for this short stay. We enjoyed the peace & quite with nice & comfortable rooms and enjoyed swimming in the pool though the water was a bit cold initially. Most of the ladies
used the Spa which they claim to have enjoyed as it was not to pricy. The high point of our stay was the Banjara restaurant and bar... it was fine dining and would beat some of the Star Hotels in the city in our opinion. The sunday afternoon Barbeque & Grill with the Chat counter at the pool was really nice. Will recommend this Hotel especially for those who arrive from other cities having to catch flights out of Bangalore International Airport and for those who want a quiet & peaceful break or celebrate an event not too far from Bangalore city.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floor & the suite rooms facing the pool are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chacko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retreat123, General Manager at Goldfinch Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest

We take this opportunity to thank you for recommending our hotel in Trip advisor; this will keep us on our toes all the time.

Thank you,

With Regards

Mukesh .N.Keserker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A great place, near the airport and filled with all the amenities one would desire after a long and dusty trip across India, including a fine restaurant and bar. We were able to have a late dinner and early breakfast with no trouble, and the bedroom and bath were well appointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mondorbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked this hotel because it is so near the airport. It is in a newly developed area, so there is little around it. But the hotel is light, airy and clean. Our room was well appointed & quiet. The pool area is lovely. Our meal in the restaurant was excellent. What stood out for us was the attitude of the staff: nothing too much trouble: so concerned that we were leaving too early for breakfast that it was sent to our room at 5am.This hotel made our last night in India a real treat.We would certainly return, & would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephmuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
15 mi away
Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore
Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore
#134 of 725 in Bengaluru
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarks Exotica Convention Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Signature Club Resort
Signature Club Resort
#147 of 725 in Bengaluru
51 reviews
5.2 mi away
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#220 of 725 in Bengaluru
423 reviews
8.1 mi away
Royal Orchid Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldfinch Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldfinch Retreat

Address: International Airport Road, Behind Itc Factory | Tarbanahalli, Chickajal P.O, Bengaluru 560084, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 605 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldfinch Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of 36 acres of sprawling landscaped and manicured lawns, Goldfinch Retreat is one of the finest four star hotels in Bangalore featuring the latest technology along with trendy guest amenities and services near Bangalore International Airport. LOCATION: The hotel is strategically located just 7 kms from the New International Airport, Bangalore.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goldfinch Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing