We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ambience, courtesy with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vembanad

Vembanad
Ranked #563 of 10,835 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This multi award-winning restaurant invites you to savor a cuisine as exclusive as an ethnicity and loved irrespective of boundaries. At Vembanad we bring to you the renowned flavors of Kerala and from the wide and varied coasts of India. Treat yourself to an exotic culinary voyage amidst a glorious ambience of luxurious heritage at its finest.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ambience, courtesy with good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We keep checking the best review/deals online and try the food in different hotels/restaurants, however the courtesy shown by The Paul was extremely nice and so I thought to pen down this for all…
Me and my wife went to this restaurant through a discount deal for dinner buffet. Staffs were really polite and knew how to manage the customer. I forgot the name of the lady who was serving us was full attentive and graceful in her job. Interiors were also tastefully done of Mughal Dynasty era.
We liked the idea that buffet will be served in table itself and no need to go and stand in line and it was served hot.
However the options were not much and location is bit inside the main road but who cares till the time they have shown sign board to reach the hotel.
Only request to hotel management is to increase the buffet option as it is in any other 5 star hotels. We had food in Zuri, Marriott and The Ashoka and all had given wide range of buffet option with almost in the same price range. 

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Tilak_Pun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best South Indian Food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you want to have authentic Kerala food this is the place in Banglore to. They have Chef from Kerala who prepare authentic Kerala Veg and Non-Veg/Seafood. The staff is very helpful at the restaurant. and Not expensive too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ramachandraniyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Vembanand restaurant at The Paul hotel in Bangalore is one of the restaurant serving Kerela cuisine, with a very ethnic look, proper wooden traditional interiors, it is a proper fine dine Indian restaurant. One should try the spicy fried karimeen fish, prwns coconut fried, for maincourse one should try attirachi mutton curry with malabari biryani and chicken ishtew with appams(my favourite) not to miss the jaggery payasam and the caramelized bananas with ice cream for desserts. Twice i happen to dine at this place while travelling to Bangalore, each time with a more rich experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delicious food from the Kerala region”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you happen to be in Bangalore and are looking for great Malayali food (i.e. food from the Kerala region of India), in an attractive setting, try the Vembanad Restaurant at the Paul Hotel in Indranagar, a suburb of Bangalore. The restaurant is named after the Vembanad Lake in Kerala which is the longest lake in India.

The traditional décor adds to the ambience of the restaurant. On entering, one sees carved wooden ceilings. The tall beautiful lamp and wood boat which is floating with fresh flowers calms the senses and prepares one for the edible delights to come!

However it is the food coupled with great service provided by the staff which makes for a pleasant experience. One of our orders was "hoppers", a bowl shaped light rice pancake which is served with curries of one's choice. The menu may describe the pancake as an "appam" which is the same as an hopper.

It is customary to have the first hopper served with an egg in the centre. Your subsequent selection of curries will typically include chicken, fish or mutton. They were delicious to say the least. Malabar chicken biryani and "thoran", another traditional vegetable dish from the region of Kerala is a must have if one decides to visit this restaurant.

All in all, it is a visit well worth it. In the city of Bangalore some restaurants serve similar food at twice the price. At the Vembanad the cost falls somewhere between the middle and upper middle range. In my opinion, the extra travel time to get from central Bangalore to Indranagar is well worth the value factor for superb Kerala food given the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to this place on a weekend just by chance, as we really wanted to have Appams and stew that day. Its starts with the moment you enter, the ambience is excellent. You would feel you are actually sitting somewhere in Kerala, definitely not Bangalore.
The staff was very courteous, unlike a lot of other Kerala joints it had quite a lot of vegetarian options. The baby onion and tamarind curry was outstanding, so was the little appetizer basket they served before the meals, which had fried chillies, papads and banana chips. A very cute gesture. The rest of the food was also great.
Pricing is on a higher side, but definitely worth it!! A great find for us in Bangalore :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanika05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vembanad also viewed

Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 

Been to Vembanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing