We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sterlings Mac Hotel
Ranked #92 of 729 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was staying across the street and saw a big sign announcing the opening of a new restaurant in the hotel so I went over. I was delighted with the physical appearance of the hotel being authentic Arabic. The lobby has a large tree growing into the reception desk. The very exciting bar is a copy of Angkor-Wat. The lighting are either authentic from Arabia or a copy of something from Arabia (Iran, Qatar, Saudia Arabia, Iraq, Jordan, etc.). Service was fabulous and we dined in their new, Arabian restaurant "Shebestan."

The decoration took my breath away because the owners bestowed on the restaurant antiques from their own personal collection (daggers, plates, hookas, chairs, etc.). I spent 30 minutes just walking around to see all the collection. The dining room is designed to look like you are in some Arabic hideaway and is visually very appealing. All table decorations are made in one of the Arabic countries.

I met the chef, Ibrahim and he said he would make a special lunch for us which he surely did. The mezzes were all absolutely fresh along with the wonderful breads. The scented water dish to wash your hands before and after the dinner was a nice touch. The wait staff are dressed in Arab clothing adding to the feel of authenticity. Vinood, the food and beverage manager was very generous with his time answering all our questions.

I left sooooo full with the not only the food, but wonderful teas and unusual desserts. Best part...$10 each including tax and tip. Do not miss this place.

Room Tip: Ask for road NOT on Airport Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StoryGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Leeinn,

Thank you for spending your precious time to provide your valuable feedback on your experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We appreciate your feedback on the New Restaurant "Shebestan" an authentic Arabian fine dining restaurant that has just opened. The one-of-its kind specialty restaurant is dedicated solely to the exotic cuisine. The menu has been crafted keeping in mind the traditional cooking styles across 24 nations and provinces in the Middle East. The restaurant's decor reflects Arabic culture and traditions in the designs, artifacts and handicrafts.

We are immensely pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Arabic cuisine served at the 'Shebestan' restaurant and also thank you for showering your accolades on our hotel staff's helpfulness, we shall surely pass this on to them.

We would love to see you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 452 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went for a leisurely lunch last Sunday to this newly opened Arabian restaurant in Matthan hotel in Bangalore. Can surely say it was worth every bit. Had a really warm welcome by a very courteous staff.. the decor and ambience were excellent and authentic. The food was out of the world. The service also is too good, the staff take extra care to make you feel at home. And they just keep on feeding you, the complimentary starter and dessert itself can make you full. Overall a very very enjoyable experience for my family, Highly recommended if you are looking for authentic and appetising Middle eastern cuisine. Am looking forward to revisting it. And please go there with an empty stomach if you want to relish the food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Anwesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Anwesha,

We appreciate the review you posted of your recent visit at The Matthan Hotel on Trip Advisor, we are much thrilled on learning of your enjoyable lunch at Shebestan.

You have been kind to express your happiness at our service levels. We are extremely encouraged to have your appreciation on this and its going to motivate my team to stay focused and stay committed.

We would love to see you soon at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is of a very good standard well serviced and clean, bathrooms are a bit strange but nothing to worry about. The hotel is a business hotel with everything you may need .Good restaurant to match, location is good for the city entre, just make sure you leave a substantial amount of time to get to the airport, traffic is shocking

Room Tip: City traffic is shocking, make sure you leave loads of time to get tot he airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakefield_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Wakefield,

Thank you for choosing The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore for your stay and for spending your precious time in sharing your feedback on tripadivsor.

It is encouraging to receive such terrific compliments from a senior contributor on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you appreciate the Ideal Location, stay, food and service in the hotel.

We request you to try our New Restaurant "Shebestan" an authentic Arabian fine dining restaurant that has just opened at your next visit. Shebestan- The one-of-its kind specialty restaurant is dedicated solely to the exotic cuisine. The menu has been crafted keeping in mind the traditional cooking styles across 24 nations and provinces in the Middle East. The restaurant's decor reflects Arabic culture and traditions in the designs, artifacts and handicrafts.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently celebrated our son's Birthday Party. Excellent Service by the staff Mr. Salauddin, Mr. Anil Shetty & Mr. Ritesh & team. I am very much thankful for the team for making my son’s birthday party most memorable one. Food & banquet hall arrangement was very good. We got very good feedback from our guest’s. Hotel’s ambience is very good. What more can I say … everything was “excellent”

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Divya,

Truly appreciate the review you posted on TripAdvisor of your experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We are much thrilled on learning of your enjoyable Birthday Party of your son at The Matthan Hotel. You have been generously kind to express your happiness at our service levels. We are extremely encouraged and its going to motivate my team to stay focused and committed at work.

We would love to see you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I visited and stayed in this hotel for business purpose. Though from outside it looked small but after entering I found it quite spacious. Nice architecture on the walls and the ambience was good too. The room was decently sized and spacious with clean bed and linen. I found the programmable unit of TV not so intuitive and user friendly. Internet connectivity was decent.
The food during the dinner was just about average.

Room Tip: Get the room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anupamtiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Anupam Tiwari,

Its fabulous that you could take time out of your busy schedule to review on tripadvisor about your stay experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We are immensely pleased to learn that you are impressed with our interiors which is designed to perfection and for appreciating our quality of room & the facilities of the Hotel.

We wish you to try our New Restaurant "Shebestan" an authentic Arabian fine dining restaurant that has just opened. The one-of-its kind specialty restaurant is dedicated solely to the exotic cuisine. The menu has been crafted keeping in mind the traditional cooking styles across 24 nations and provinces in the Middle East. The restaurant's decor reflects Arabic culture and traditions in the designs, artifacts and handicrafts.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon at Matthan Hotel.


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

First with the positive:
Property looks nice with decorative entrance of horses and lion carved columns. Check in was very quick and 2 staff in front was very polite and professional.
Rooms are nicely styled. Big bed. Big window. Very efficient A/C.
Nice bathroom (bit small for a deluxe room though). Good shower!
Nice layout of the restaurants in the centre of the hotel.
Good variety of food available.
In room dining very quick!.

Negative:
For a "5star", the wireless connectivity is surely a bummer in the rooms. In the restaurants it's extremely fast and effective. In the room it kept on disconnecting and the signal was so weak!
Called reception and the sent IT within 5 min. He checked my laptop and did a speed test and the result ended up as: 0.60mbps!!! Unacceptable for a business hotel. I told him to bring me a cable to plug in directly to the socket. This helped a bit by eliminating the constant loss of connectivity. Speed remained the same though. :((
TV channels was "hanging" and after numerous calls to the call centre and IT it was useless. The tv will come on and for 5 min you can watch a program and 3 min later..... "Stream not available" !! It's irritating.
Bathroom washbasin can surely be cleaned with something. Looks like the sink was mended by a very bad installer and the grooves in the sink is very dirty. As far as I'm aware that in today's hotels, especially 4-5 stars, it is not allowed to have basins with corners! Health risks.

This hotel can be very nice with some touch ups.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gdxbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We are immensely pleased to learn that you are impressed with our interiors which is designed to perfection.

Please do accept our sincere apologies for not having met your expectations and the inconvenience caused to you. The feedback has been shared with the team members and it is to assure you that we will take all necessary measures to improvise on the areas of concern as highlighted by you.

I really thank you for bringing this to our notice and welcome your feedback in this regards as it helps us in enhancing our service levels and exceeding the guests expectations. I would sincerely urge you not to judge us solely based on this stay and definitely look forward to welcoming you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Along with my friend family visited the Arabian restaurant for a Friday dinner. Staff gave us a very warm and courteous welcoming. The restaurant has a royal and elegant setup with a soothing Arabian music. And most important - the food was excellent . Every dish was perfectly prepared and delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Surya,

Thank you for spending your precious time to provide your valuable feedback on your experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We appreciate your feedback on the New Restaurant "Shebestan" an authentic Arabian fine dining restaurant that has just opened. The one-of-its kind specialty restaurant is dedicated solely to the exotic cuisine. The menu has been crafted keeping in mind the traditional cooking styles across 24 nations and provinces in the Middle East. The restaurant's decor reflects Arabic culture and traditions in the designs, artifacts and handicrafts.

We are immensely pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Arabic cuisine served at the 'Shebestan' restaurant and also thank you for showering your accolades on our hotel staff's helpfulness, we shall surely pass this on to them.

We would love to see you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Domlur
Hotel Royal Orchid
Hotel Royal Orchid
#72 of 729 in Bengaluru
979 reviews
Domlur
Hilton Bangalore Embassy GolfLinks
Domlur
Ramada Encore Bangalore Domlur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#11 of 729 in Bengaluru
2,200 reviews
J.P. Nagar
Icon Premier Hotel
Icon Premier Hotel
#105 of 729 in Bengaluru
57 reviews
Koramangala
Grand Mercure Bangalore
Grand Mercure Bangalore
#80 of 729 in Bengaluru
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterlings Mac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterlings Mac Hotel

Address: 134 Airport Road | Kodihalli, Bengaluru 560017, India (Formerly Matthan Hotel)
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 729 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range: $98 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sterlings Mac Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterlings Mac Hotel is the 5 Star Deluxe property located in the heart of the CBD and surrounded by top corporates like Thompson Reuters, FICO, Intel, Dell, ISRO, Embassy Golf Links, KGA Golf Course etc. Other closest iconic landmark like M G Road and koramangala is just 3 kms & Indiranagar is just a KM from the hotel. Outer ring road which is the hot favourite place for all the top blue chip companies is just 6 kms away from the hotel.Sterlings Mac Hotel features the splendid Atrium lobby where the architecture comes to life with Indo-Asian concepts of Infinity and Zen garden. The hotel has 144 well-appointed large rooms with complimentary high speed internet access, large work desk, king size bed, 24hrs In-room services, coffee/tea maker, IP enabled Television & telephone, modern luxurious bathrooms that match international standards to make your stay a fulfilling once. Free private parking is provided. The hotel hosts an outdoor pool with sun lounges, umbrellas & open seating area and offers state of the art fitness centre. The rooms are well equipped with facilities and amenities unmatched in the industry. Each room can be distinguished from another by the uniqueness of elements like bedding, lighting, built to suit each individual taste. 20 Char as the name suggests is a 24/7 coffee shop that offers exquisite blend of ethnic and international cuisines with special emphasis given to south Indian cuisine. WAT Bar is a visual treat with a strong touch of ancient historical architecture. The high energy bar with cutting edge design and ultra blue hues with comfortable seating, offers a wide choice of international wines and spirits appealing to individuals with diverse tastes. Ancient architecturally inspired aesthetics of the bar makes it a unique experience. The bar timings are 11:00 hrs - 23:00 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterlings Mac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing