We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sterlings Mac Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sterlings Mac Hotel
Ranked #81 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is of a very good standard well serviced and clean, bathrooms are a bit strange but nothing to worry about. The hotel is a business hotel with everything you may need .Good restaurant to match, location is good for the city entre, just make sure you leave a substantial amount of time to get to the airport, traffic is shocking

Room Tip: City traffic is shocking, make sure you leave loads of time to get tot he airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakefield_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Wakefield,

Thank you for choosing The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore for your stay and for spending your precious time in sharing your feedback on tripadivsor.

It is encouraging to receive such terrific compliments from a senior contributor on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you appreciate the Ideal Location, stay, food and service in the hotel.

We request you to try our New Restaurant "Shebestan" an authentic Arabian fine dining restaurant that has just opened at your next visit. Shebestan- The one-of-its kind specialty restaurant is dedicated solely to the exotic cuisine. The menu has been crafted keeping in mind the traditional cooking styles across 24 nations and provinces in the Middle East. The restaurant's decor reflects Arabic culture and traditions in the designs, artifacts and handicrafts.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    122
    58
    18
    17
See reviews for
63
30
14
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently celebrated our son's Birthday Party. Excellent Service by the staff Mr. Salauddin, Mr. Anil Shetty & Mr. Ritesh & team. I am very much thankful for the team for making my son’s birthday party most memorable one. Food & banquet hall arrangement was very good. We got very good feedback from our guest’s. Hotel’s ambience is very good. What more can I say … everything was “excellent”

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Divya,

Truly appreciate the review you posted on TripAdvisor of your experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We are much thrilled on learning of your enjoyable Birthday Party of your son at The Matthan Hotel. You have been generously kind to express your happiness at our service levels. We are extremely encouraged and its going to motivate my team to stay focused and committed at work.

We would love to see you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I visited and stayed in this hotel for business purpose. Though from outside it looked small but after entering I found it quite spacious. Nice architecture on the walls and the ambience was good too. The room was decently sized and spacious with clean bed and linen. I found the programmable unit of TV not so intuitive and user friendly. Internet connectivity was decent.
The food during the dinner was just about average.

Room Tip: Get the room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anupamtiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Anupam Tiwari,

Its fabulous that you could take time out of your busy schedule to review on tripadvisor about your stay experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We are immensely pleased to learn that you are impressed with our interiors which is designed to perfection and for appreciating our quality of room & the facilities of the Hotel.

We wish you to try our New Restaurant "Shebestan" an authentic Arabian fine dining restaurant that has just opened. The one-of-its kind specialty restaurant is dedicated solely to the exotic cuisine. The menu has been crafted keeping in mind the traditional cooking styles across 24 nations and provinces in the Middle East. The restaurant's decor reflects Arabic culture and traditions in the designs, artifacts and handicrafts.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon at Matthan Hotel.


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

First with the positive:
Property looks nice with decorative entrance of horses and lion carved columns. Check in was very quick and 2 staff in front was very polite and professional.
Rooms are nicely styled. Big bed. Big window. Very efficient A/C.
Nice bathroom (bit small for a deluxe room though). Good shower!
Nice layout of the restaurants in the centre of the hotel.
Good variety of food available.
In room dining very quick!.

Negative:
For a "5star", the wireless connectivity is surely a bummer in the rooms. In the restaurants it's extremely fast and effective. In the room it kept on disconnecting and the signal was so weak!
Called reception and the sent IT within 5 min. He checked my laptop and did a speed test and the result ended up as: 0.60mbps!!! Unacceptable for a business hotel. I told him to bring me a cable to plug in directly to the socket. This helped a bit by eliminating the constant loss of connectivity. Speed remained the same though. :((
TV channels was "hanging" and after numerous calls to the call centre and IT it was useless. The tv will come on and for 5 min you can watch a program and 3 min later..... "Stream not available" !! It's irritating.
Bathroom washbasin can surely be cleaned with something. Looks like the sink was mended by a very bad installer and the grooves in the sink is very dirty. As far as I'm aware that in today's hotels, especially 4-5 stars, it is not allowed to have basins with corners! Health risks.

This hotel can be very nice with some touch ups.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdxbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We are immensely pleased to learn that you are impressed with our interiors which is designed to perfection.

Please do accept our sincere apologies for not having met your expectations and the inconvenience caused to you. The feedback has been shared with the team members and it is to assure you that we will take all necessary measures to improvise on the areas of concern as highlighted by you.

I really thank you for bringing this to our notice and welcome your feedback in this regards as it helps us in enhancing our service levels and exceeding the guests expectations. I would sincerely urge you not to judge us solely based on this stay and definitely look forward to welcoming you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Along with my friend family visited the Arabian restaurant for a Friday dinner. Staff gave us a very warm and courteous welcoming. The restaurant has a royal and elegant setup with a soothing Arabian music. And most important - the food was excellent . Every dish was perfectly prepared and delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Surya,

Thank you for spending your precious time to provide your valuable feedback on your experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We appreciate your feedback on the New Restaurant "Shebestan" an authentic Arabian fine dining restaurant that has just opened. The one-of-its kind specialty restaurant is dedicated solely to the exotic cuisine. The menu has been crafted keeping in mind the traditional cooking styles across 24 nations and provinces in the Middle East. The restaurant's decor reflects Arabic culture and traditions in the designs, artifacts and handicrafts.

We are immensely pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Arabic cuisine served at the 'Shebestan' restaurant and also thank you for showering your accolades on our hotel staff's helpfulness, we shall surely pass this on to them.

We would love to see you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Matthan Hotel (opposite to Leela Palace, Bangalore). Excellent Location, Awesome Ambiance, a good set of restaurants and service. Only issue was the inexperienced house keeping staff but the management rectified the issues very quickly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REJI0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AryaSriniRao, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Reji,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

We are immensely pleased to learn that you are impressed with our interiors which is designed to perfection and also enjoyed the cuisine at "20Char" restaurant. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We have made a note of your feedback on the House Keeping Service and shall work with our team to find an appropriate solution to make your future stay comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore!

Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

How should I start? So I checked in to this property, looked "different", interiors were bold and low light (may be a gothic theme, I dont know!). Overall it looked interesting to stay before I went into my room. First of all, they took crazy 30 minutes to assign me a room (I was pre-booked and my wife and parents in law were waiting in the lobby during that time - it was supposed to be a corporate booking, and I was looking no more than a fool wondering about that).
Anyway, my in-laws left, I wanted to relax a little, so I decided to take a bath and horror started, the bathroom sink had few hair strands, there was no toilet paper roll, and the most terrible thing - bad bad smell, why, someone didnt flush or the cleaning person decided to leave a hint of his last presence in my room! Anyway, I washed my face and went to the bed and I found a dirty linen and few more hair strands...I was patient may be to test myself! (note: I gave up Leela which is my regular hotel, just to have a taste of this hotel since my company admin guy recommended it). Anyway I sat for sometime and I heard crazy banging all over the place as if someone was trying to break in with hammers. I called the manager, he assured he would take care of it. 15 minutes past, 1 hour past - NO ACTION. My wife complaint about headache, I called the manager again atleast to change the room, he promised to come in 5 minutes, and no sign even after 45 minutes. I finally told the lady at frontdesk about leaving this hotel immediately so if she could call a taxi! (Leela was just opposite, but I needed a taxi for my luggage). Another 45 minutes, no sign of anything. I went down, tried to talk calmly, her response - our duty manager is busy with workers, and they couldnt entertain "low priority" request on priority. I was furious, I demanded his presence and after some time she finally agreed that she would send him to my room. No luck yet, and its 30 minutes over. My wife asked my to calm down and watch some TV. And another disaster - TV doesn't work, why? Remote control had no batteries. OK, no biggie, I tried manual controls, TV was on but no channels, asked my wife to call reception - response was "may be signal was out, we could get it fixed next day as electrician was busy/not available". Anyway, after 1 hour the manager finally arrived, and I must describe him - unshaved guy, normal pants, shirt was not tucked in, and wearing bathroom slippers! wow, please dont get me wrong here, no mean intentions, I dont want to sound rude here, but this was supposed to be a "5 star" property, atleast they say so! But this was not expected. I started talking to him in English, but he couldn't utter a single word. Somehow I realised and started talking in Hindi, and here you go. "Sir, sorry. Sir, it was a mistake Sir, it wont happen again. Sir, dont go and all those things". I asked, did you call a taxi yet, his response was NO. I asked, can you give me another room which is quiet and clean, his response - "Sorry sir, we cant. If you want upgraded room, please book it and we can give it to you". He said he didnt have "power" to allot me another room, which was really really funny. Anyway, finally I picked my stuff, went down, left the hotel, refused to sign on checkout paper and asked them to follow up with my corporate team.
This was worse than my horrible dream till date, I would never ever go to this hotel!!! I hope this review can save you to make a terrible choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ansh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Domlur
Ramada Encore Bangalore Domlur
The Paul Bangalore
#20 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elanza Hotel
#51 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Domlur
Hotel Royal Orchid
Hotel Royal Orchid
#58 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterlings Mac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterlings Mac Hotel

Property: Sterlings Mac Hotel
Address: 134 Airport Road | Kodihalli, Bengaluru 560017, India (Formerly Matthan Hotel)
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sterlings Mac Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterlings Mac Hotel is the 5 Star Deluxe property located in the heart of the CBD and surrounded by top corporates like Thompson Reuters, FICO, Intel, Dell, ISRO, Embassy Golf Links, KGA Golf Course etc. Other closest iconic landmark like M G Road and koramangala is just 3 kms & Indiranagar is just a KM from the hotel. Outer ring road which is the hot favourite place for all the top blue chip companies is just 6 kms away from the hotel.Sterlings Mac Hotel features the splendid Atrium lobby where the architecture comes to life with Indo-Asian concepts of Infinity and Zen garden. The hotel has 144 well-appointed large rooms with complimentary high speed internet access, large work desk, king size bed, 24hrs In-room services, coffee/tea maker, IP enabled Television & telephone, modern luxurious bathrooms that match international standards to make your stay a fulfilling once. Free private parking is provided. The hotel hosts an outdoor pool with sun lounges, umbrellas & open seating area and offers state of the art fitness centre. The rooms are well equipped with facilities and amenities unmatched in the industry. Each room can be distinguished from another by the uniqueness of elements like bedding, lighting, built to suit each individual taste. 20 Char as the name suggests is a 24/7 coffee shop that offers exquisite blend of ethnic and international cuisines with special emphasis given to south Indian cuisine. WAT Bar is a visual treat with a strong touch of ancient historical architecture. The high energy bar with cutting edge design and ultra blue hues with comfortable seating, offers a wide choice of international wines and spirits appealing to individuals with diverse tastes. Ancient architecturally inspired aesthetics of the bar makes it a unique experience. The bar timings are 11:00 hrs - 23:00 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Sterlings Mac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing