We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sterlings Mac Hotel
Ranked #81 of 669 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We hosted a post wedding celebration at the hotel. We were promised a executive suite but was given a very normal room and from there the problem started.The celebration was supposed to start at 8 o clock and my dress which was given to the laundry at 6:00 for ironing came to me at 8:05 making me extremely late for my own party and embarrassment for my family.After spending lakhs and lakhs of money my father in law was provided with a very small and shabby changing room for the stay and also the next day he was charged for breakfast. Next day in the morning there was no water to freshen up (till 11:15 am) somehow we managed that as well and also missed a very important meeting and if that was not enough the reception called to vacate the room by 12:00 after stating that there was no water and it was really not possible for two people to finish shower and get ready and pack everything in 45 minutes they spoke rudely and said that maximum they can increase by half an hour. I would suggest that if anybody is planning to go there be prepared to leave the hotel next day without shower and also welcomed with rude behavior from the staff.In short the hotel people does not know how to respect their customer which is a complete shame for the hospiltality business.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shankey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    139
    63
    23
    17
See reviews for
69
36
16
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had to stay in Bangalore for 2 weeks for work. Previously I used to stay at a nearby hotel and this time I wanted to give this place a try. I should have give them a try much earlier. This is a great place to stay. Hotel is all new and clean The staff very friendly and courteous. Awesome Buffet lunch at 2char.

It is weird to say, but the only thing that turned me off was the lack of noise. The hotel is very quiet and the bar and restaurant are kinda empty. For someone who stays for 2 weeks it was a bit boring.

But they remedying to the situation as they are adding a nice restaurant and one dance bar.

Going forward they will be my first choice when I travel to Bangalore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya S, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Alexandre,

Thank you for taking time to provide your valuable feedback on your experience at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore.

We are immensely pleased to learn that you had a fantastic long stay and we are happy to learn from your feedback that you found our food, service and facilities to your satisfaction.

As rightly mentioned by you, Yes! we are coming up with a new restaurant very soon. We would love to see you soon to experience our new restaurant once opened.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon at Matthan Hotel.


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am a regular at the hotel.they have a good midnight buffet as well as the bfast
The staff is very polite and friendly
The ambience is fantastic and cosy
They have a vallet parking too.
The hotel is strategically placed as so one can go shopping at Mg road or whitefield ,both equidistance from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAditiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya S, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear DrAditiK,

Thank you for spending your precious time to provide your valuable feedback on your experience at 'The Matthan Hotel Bangalore'.

It is so encouraging to receive compliments from you which will motivate us to be consistent with our services. Our concept on the Food and Beverage has been to keep it fresh, simple and innovative. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the Mid Night Buffet & the morning breakfast.

Thank you for being our regular guest and we look forward to welcoming you shortly.


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Matthan hotel is a very welcoming hotel and restaurant. Its staff is always willing to satisfy the customers, particularly occidental people (at least that's what I seem to have observed). I would definitely return to this hotel if I go back on a trip to Bangalore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya S, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Yavery,

Thank you for choosing The Matthan hotel, Bangalore for your stay and spending your precious time in sharing your feedback with the world on TripAdivsor.

We are immensely pleased to learn that you had a fantastic stay and We very much appreciate your accolades of our hotel staff's helpfulness, we shall surely convey it to them and trust it will help motivate them to remain focussed at all times.

We would love to see you soon at 'The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore'.


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I walked into 20char on Saturday afternoon along with my family for buffet lunch. The restaurant and the hotel have an Indo-Asian theme and they give a perfect ambiance to dine in peace. The buffet spread was very good and the hospitality was great. If you are looking for an escape from the city buzz for a few hours, then you can find that right in here. It is a bit pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syam Krishna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya S, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Syam Krishna,

We thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is our continuous effort to maintain a high standard of quality service. I am delighted to know that my team has taken care of all your needs and comfort during your visit with your family at Matthan Hotel, Bangalore.

I am very happy to know you are impressed with our interiors which is designed to perfection. As rightly said the Hotel is designed to match Indo - Asian culture due to which the interior of the lobby and atrium is very warm and pleasant.

Once again we thank you for visiting us and sharing the valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Matthan hotel located in Old Airport Road, and very close to indranagar & 10mints drive from MG Road, Really nice. Easy access to IT parks and really royal place and enjoy the stay.

Good looks like indian place out side with modern art and good ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckarunkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya S, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear karun Kumar,

Thank you for choosing The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore for your stay and spending your precious time in sharing your feedback on Trip Adivsor. It is so encouraging to receive such compliments from you.

As you quite rightly pointed out our hotel is well located in the heart of the city and surrounded by top corporates like Thompson Reuters, FICO, Intel, Dell, ISRO, Embassy Golf Links, KGA Golf Course etc. Other closest iconic landmark like M G Road and koramangala is just 3 kms & Indiranagar is just a KM from the hotel. Outer ring road which is the hot favorite place for all the top blue chip companies is just 6 kms away from the hotel.

We are also immensely pleased to learn that you are impressed with our interiors which is designed to perfection.

We would love to see you back at 'The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore'.


Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First of all, i would never take the effort to write a comment on my stay at any of the hotels i stay in. Great property, good location. everything perfect about the hotel. missed my breakfast at the coffee shop, as i was not aware of the timings. The person at the reception was kind enough to send me a few selection of eggs to my room on the house. I cant think of any hotel that does that. Everething from the bed, shower, selection of tv channels, wi-fi was perfect. Especially the gym. They have brand new equipment from TechnoGym. the hotel is well managed and the staff are very well trained.Definately going there next time.
p.s. all the people who are giving average reviews. Get a life. Just checked out last afternoon from the hotel (Room 608). it is great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitendra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya S, General Manager at Sterlings Mac Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jitendra,

Thank you for spending your precious time to provide your valuable feedback on your choice of staying at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore.

We are pleased to learn that you had a fantastic stay with us. We are grateful to be bestowed with your accolades on our hotel's ideal location and facilities. It shall be my honour and pleasure to convey to my team your appreciation of their efforts.

We would love to see you back at The Matthan Hotel, Bangalore.

Best Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Domlur
Hotel Royal Orchid
Hotel Royal Orchid
#71 of 669 in Bengaluru
887 reviews
Domlur
The Paul Bangalore
The Paul Bangalore
#22 of 669 in Bengaluru
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domlur
Ramada Encore Bangalore Domlur
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#11 of 669 in Bengaluru
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterlings Mac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterlings Mac Hotel

Property: Sterlings Mac Hotel
Address: 134 Airport Road | Kodihalli, Bengaluru 560017, India (Formerly Matthan Hotel)
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 669 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterlings Mac Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterlings Mac Hotel is the 5 Star Deluxe property located in the heart of the CBD and surrounded by top corporates like Thompson Reuters, FICO, Intel, Dell, ISRO, Embassy Golf Links, KGA Golf Course etc. Other closest iconic landmark like M G Road and koramangala is just 3 kms & Indiranagar is just a KM from the hotel. Outer ring road which is the hot favourite place for all the top blue chip companies is just 6 kms away from the hotel.Sterlings Mac Hotel features the splendid Atrium lobby where the architecture comes to life with Indo-Asian concepts of Infinity and Zen garden. The hotel has 144 well-appointed large rooms with complimentary high speed internet access, large work desk, king size bed, 24hrs In-room services, coffee/tea maker, IP enabled Television & telephone, modern luxurious bathrooms that match international standards to make your stay a fulfilling once. Free private parking is provided. The hotel hosts an outdoor pool with sun lounges, umbrellas & open seating area and offers state of the art fitness centre. The rooms are well equipped with facilities and amenities unmatched in the industry. Each room can be distinguished from another by the uniqueness of elements like bedding, lighting, built to suit each individual taste. 20 Char as the name suggests is a 24/7 coffee shop that offers exquisite blend of ethnic and international cuisines with special emphasis given to south Indian cuisine. WAT Bar is a visual treat with a strong touch of ancient historical architecture. The high energy bar with cutting edge design and ultra blue hues with comfortable seating, offers a wide choice of international wines and spirits appealing to individuals with diverse tastes. Ancient architecturally inspired aesthetics of the bar makes it a unique experience. The bar timings are 11:00 hrs - 23:00 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterlings Mac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing