We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sterlings Mac Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$137
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace Bengaluru(Bengaluru)
$266
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj West End(Bengaluru)
$266
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$323
$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lalit Ashok(Bengaluru)
$131
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St Mark's Hotel(Bengaluru)
$84
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveler rating
195
158
72
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
158
72
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold airport roadarabic restaurantmanipal hospitalleela palacevalue for moneyrooms are comfortablepleasant stayexcellent servicewill visit againin room diningbusiness travelerbuffet dinnerenjoyed my staybreakfast spreadroom servicebusiness tripdosa
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 470 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed an entire week at Matthan. Decent price per night, very friendly people, good breakfast (if you like Indian cuisine). Lots of TV channels, cheap rental car with driver. Not crowded, silence anytime during the day.
Location very good if you need to be near Bagmane Lake Tech Park. Only 30 minutes by car during rush hour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback. It is our continuous effort to maintain a high standard of quality service. I am delighted to know that you are happy with my staff, food and hotel room offered to you. The hotel is designed to match with fusion of Indo - Asian culture due to which the interior of the lobby and atrium is very warm and pleasant. We do have outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre to cater the need of the buisness / leisure travellers. Our hotel is just 20 Min away from Bagmane Tech Park where the top MNC like Volvo, HP, Cognizant , Samsung to Name a few which are located at the close proximity .

Once again we thank you for staying with us and sharing the valuable feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Matthan to offer our candid services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had to attend a conference in Leela Palace Bangalore and I was travelling from Mumbai to Bangalore. As I had stayed in Bangalore for 5 years, I knew Leela Palace was very expensive for a one night stay. So, after some search I found Matthan (bang opposite Leela Palace). Considering this was a business trip, I wanted a smart hotel where the service was good and the price was reasonable. This was my first stay with them and when I reached and saw the hotel I liked it a lot. I stayed with a colleague of mine. We both were amazed that how fast the hotel service is... The interiors are done in a wooden style material, I am not sure if it was wood though, but it gives a nice feel to the overall hotel. The staff was courteous throughout our stay and very helpful too. We went to a nearby pub and returned late. Watched TV and there was a good selection of channels available. The best thing was free 24 hours WiFi internet connectivity. I could connect my iPad and Laptop easily. Got a good sleep as the bed was very comfortable. Next day morning woke up early, got ready, the services in the room was good and the bathroom had all the necessary equipment. Got dressed and had a sumptuous breakfast at the cafe (and yes, it was complimentary :-) )! Kept my luggage with them throughout the day, even after checking out and picked it at night around 10 PM and it was all safe and secure. Enjoyed my stay overall and I would recommend it as well as I will stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SachinU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback. It is our continuous effort to maintain a high standard of quality service. I am delighted to know that you are happy with my staff and hotel room offered to you. The hotel is designed to match Indo - Asian culture due to which the interior of the lobby and atrium is very warm and pleasant. We do have outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre to cater the need of the buisness / leisure travellers.

Once again we thank you for staying with us and sharing the valuable feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Matthan to offer our candid services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Everything is said in the tittle !

Hotel is located opposite of Leela palace (a complete different story)
If you can avoid it just do so.
Rooms are OK (but small) , amenities are good, I really liked the soap, bedding is fine.

This place is really not a five stars.
The building is awful to start with.
The room are all organized around a huge internal square which is supposed to be the bar, very poor design... the outside is ridiculous with some fake statues.. it is like a bad Bollywood décor…
The swimming was closed and anyway badly located between to building and in a very poor surrounding.
The restaurant is a disaster.
The breakfast was real bad.

So it is ok for a short night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback. It is our continuous effort to maintain a high standard of quality service. I am delighted to know that you are happy with my staff and hotel room offered to you. The hotel is designed to match with fusion of Indo - Asian culture due to which the interior of the lobby and atrium is very warm and pleasant. We do have outdoor pool with sun lounges and umbrellas, open seating area and offers state of the art fitness centre to cater the need of the buisness / leisure travellers.

Once again we thank you for staying with us and sharing the valuable feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Matthan to offer our candid services.

Warm Regards,

Arya Srini Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I liked this hotel the minute I stepped into the room. Very modern and classy.
I like the see thru glass from the bathroom to the bedroom (of course if you're shy, you could draw the curtain with a press of a button).
Location is good near the city area.

I am going there in 2 weeks' time, and probably would stay there again...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzy_Jayzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback. It is our continuous effort to maintain a high standard of quality service. I am delighted to know that you are happy with my staff and hotel room offered to you. The hotel is designed to match Indo - Asian culture due to which the interior of the lobby and atrium is very warm and pleasant. We do have outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre to cater the need of the buisness / leisure travellers.

Once again we thank you for staying with us and sharing the valuable feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Matthan to offer our candid services.

Warm Regards,

Anurag
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are in India on a short business trip flying in from a different time zone you need a hotel that lifts your spirits. Matthan does not. The staff have friendly smiles but from there the rest is downhill. What is the style of the hotel? A fusion of something and something else without character. Rooms are clean but oh so boring. The pool was under renovation, but I suspect that was as well when I checked the surroundings. The restaurant was dark, completely lacking any ambiance and to top it off, the bar was completely out of stock of local beer, including Kingfisher.
Value for money? Well, the benchmark is across the street, Leela Palace. Leela costs approx 50% more than Matthan but is propably 200% better in any department judging from what we experienced while dining there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anders014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews