We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had cockroaches for company”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veekay Tourist Home
Ranked #471 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Luckily i had paid online, so i got saved from paying extra for nothing, like other guests there. When i booked online i was told that there was a restaurant and toiletries would be provided. But neither was available. The room was really dirty and there were cockroaches all around. To add to all my woes there were frequent power cuts, and this place has no power back up.

Room Tip: Only deluxe rooms have geysers. And all rooms have Indian toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roshi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed there with my family for 5 days during a sightseeing cum conference attendance trip to Bangalore during September 2013.I wanted an economical and reasonably good AC double bedded acomodation near Yeshwantpur railway station.The offer by Cleartrip was the best so also some reviews by Tripadvisor.The staff were well behaved,and helpful.The room though small was clean with clean toilet.It has 24 hours hot water supply.Even daily newspaper was supplied to each room.Their restaurant section was temporarily closed during our stay.There is a self service good vegetarian eating place only at 5 minutes walking distance from this acomodation.A good place for the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Bibudhendu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice budget hotel with comfortable stay. The rooms are a bit small but ok. During my recent visit the restaurant was also closed. Their rest is good and they serve good quality food. Very close to Yeshvantpur Rail station. Just 2 mts walk from Platform no: 1 exit.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sudeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was a nice trip.. Thanks to clear trip as well Veekay. Food was also delicious and economic too. It is very near to Railway Station and market so it's easy to get anything and the services was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Bikash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Right by major railway junction.
Good area, lots to do in walking and short bus journeys.
Perfectly functional rooms (plus HBO!)
Good restaurant, good service, great food! (egg roast for breakfast, amazing!!) wonderful price!
Veekay gets my vote.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank marekstachera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had paid for a full luxury tour with an independent tour guide. We flew into Bangalore and was taken to this hotel.

The room we were put I to was absolutely filthy. Stains all over the walls, the pillow cases were shredded with sweat and bloodstains over the bed sheets, bugs crawling all over the place, the bathroom was unusable. We used an entire pack of wipes trying to clean the place but it was still filthy an the colour of the wipes we threw in the bin were covered in sludge.

We complained to our tour guide and tried to cancel our tour there and then if this was what we had to look forward too. He tried to explain he chose this place because its outside the city so it's nice and quiet.
What a joke that was, with the mosque calls, constant dog squabbles, train horns blowing all night, and what sounded like a rave going on in the courtyard we never slept a wink.

Back to the room, eventually the tour guide got us to agree to swap rooms with him after the staff had cleaned the place to death. Our tour guide then refused to take his stuff into the previous room and asked if he could keep it in our room then before bedtime he refused point blank to enter that room after spending hours trying to convince us it was standard Indian fare (we have been to India before so we know all the scales of standard India hotel rooms)

Having said all this the staff were really nice and couldn't do enough to try and make us happier and I felt bad having to complain. I blame the tour guide not these people as we had paid for a lot higher class of accommodation. Badly needs a refurb and redecoration and the cleaning staff need to be so much more thorough.

Seems its ok for a one night stop over for Indians who want the cheapest place money can buy and decent location next to the station

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redd16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Veekay tourist home offers fairly clean comfortable rooms for overnight stay. Certainly not good for long stay as the location of the hotel is in more like a slum area, When you come out of the hotel you see all filth and it is scary to look around. But inside the hotel it is fairly decent and the people who manage hotel are courteous and helpful. For the price , it is good bargain and I will not certainly recommend it for long stay especially with family.


Sync your trip calendar

Import your trips into iCal, Microsoft Outlook, Google mend it for long stay especially with family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Vasudevan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
0.0 mi away
Habitat Suites and Rooms
Habitat Suites and Rooms
#529 of 670 in Bengaluru
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
FabHotel RMV Yeshwantpur
FabHotel RMV Yeshwantpur
#261 of 670 in Bengaluru
12 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atlaantic Inn
Atlaantic Inn
#291 of 670 in Bengaluru
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
UG Grand
UG Grand
#602 of 670 in Bengaluru
44 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Prajwal By Mango
Hotel Prajwal By Mango
#141 of 670 in Bengaluru
55 reviews
3.7 mi away
UG Regal
UG Regal
#437 of 670 in Bengaluru
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veekay Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veekay Tourist Home

Address: 91 / 1 Railway Parallel Road | Yeshwanthpur, Bengaluru 560022, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Veekay Tourist Home 1*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Veekay Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing