We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway with some pitfalls!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galibore Nature Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very easily motorable from Bangalore, this place has the following pros and cons -

Pros -

- Very nice place located on the banks of the cauvery
- Very friendly staff - Exceptionally friendly
- Hammocks and other fun activities available if travelling as a group


Cons

- Not worth the price you pay. Tents and bathrooms just not good enough
- They have a bonfire in the middle of march! It gets hot as hell - Very silly idea this!
- The rooms can get very hot during the day. There's just a table fan and it can get very uncomfortable
- The road leading to the place is an unpaved road which is extremely uncomfortable
- There is a very uninteresting wildlife movie shown during dinner - This is listed as an attraction of the place
- Food is so so. Not worth the price charged
- Table fan is switched off at 6 AM leaving the last few hours of sleep annoying!

Im pretty sure there are better places than this in and around Karnataka

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prashanthkumar1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

The place as such is amazing, with cauvery river just next to the resort. Food is average, not too many activities to spend time, but ok for one visit.
The last strech of road is really bad and need to take care whle driving.
If you take a trek , you could really enjoy getting into the river, but need to be very careful and not recommended to go around alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was a bit concerned with this being an Indian government owned and run resort, however, was very pleasantly surprised. Went with family and friends.

Starting from the registration desk, to welcome drink,s to luggage being carried to our rooms, to food, fun, hiking, cleanliness, swings and climbing trees, etc for kids, everything was well taken care of. We also took a boat ride.

The only disappointing thing was that we were told there were alligators, however, could not see any in the day and half we were there. However, that did not impact the holiday, whatsoever.

If you are looking for a weekend place and live close to Bangalore, this is a highly recommended place for kids, adults, families....

Room Tip: All of the rooms were clean and had clean bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsliDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Did the day package trip to Galibore 3 months back ... the drive after kanakapura to maintain the sangama-muttathi road needs a little bit of guidance with couple of very important turns ... so keep asking until you reach the deviation into the last 9 kms mud road stretch to the camp ... the mud road drive sends your expectation of the place very high as your mobile network drops (that is if you are not on reliance) ...
The place is well maintained, but the rooms are a little damp and not well maintained .. but that does not deter you from enjoying river flowing right in front of you. Staffs are very friendly and the activities are well packed to keep you occupied through out the stay .. food was decent . Fishing was a highlight we did not expect to catch fishes not less than one kilo ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VigneshBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you don't expect a 5* facility in the jungle, you will not be disappointed!

The place is absolutely beautiful! You get off the beaten path (9Kms of mud road from Sangam). The site is surrounded by hillocks that give immense character to this riverside retreat. The tents are comfortable, clean and well ventilated. We stayed in the older tents that have the bathrooms outside, with an open roof. The toilets were very clean and well maintained. There are some tents that are being refurbished that will have better access to the toilets.
We spent an entire day and night at Galibore. We took a ride in the river on the coracle and in the evening we spent time feeding the fish. We were fortunate enough to see Maha-Seers of different hues. The next morning was a hike into the jungle; as most of us were not in very good shape, we spent about an hour loitering close to the campsite.

The food was simple, tasty and nutritious. Being a vegetarian, I had quite a spread of good curries, rotis and South Indian Rasam and Sambar, for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was also good.

The thing that was outstanding throughout the stay was the service! The staff were absolutely fantastic, without being too obtrusive. They were knowledgeable, helpful and courteous, They were enthusiastic to show us the place and take us on the river. It was a pleasant stay mainly because of the way the entire staff interacted with us.

It was a fantastic stay, one I would recommend to any people looking to stay in a quiet, pristine place, just outside Bangalore.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeeharRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Though Galibore is situated only 90 kilometers from Bangalore, travel time required to reach the destination will be approximately 4 hours.

Day visits are scheduled from 10.30am until 5.30pm. You are allowed to stay a little longer than that, but you need to leave before dinner.

Room facility is provided for day trippers. Hence, your car is your shelter. That apart, you can spend time in the Gol ghar or pitch a stool on the river's edge and watch as an ocassional Cormorant flies past.

Reception is very warm with the staff identifying you with name and offering you a welcome drink (nimbu paani). You can order other kinds of drink too.

Food at Jungle Lodges is something you need to look forward to. Their understanding of reaching the heart of the guest through their stomachs is unbeatable.

After food, you are taken on a coracle ride. Starting a little late (towards 4pm) would be ideal as your chances of sighting elephants become brighter at this time.

Other wildlife you can sight in the morning are fresh water Otters, Grey Headed Fishing Eagle, Darter, mongoose, and other birds of prey.

Elephants are best sighted in the evenings.

Besides sighting wildlife,You can indulge in a river rafting experience, go on a boring coracle ride which gets interesting if the guy taking you on the round boat has a headspin (and they usually do), you can cycle in the forest tracks, climb the ropes and replace the monkeys or simply laze around and look at the tall trees that adorn the forest or even worse, look at nothing at all.

Jungle Lodges also sell some of their memorabilia. So, keep some cash in handy.

When you go on a 1 night stay, there is an option of trekking in the morning atop the near hills which will give you a breathtaking view of the forest and also you can spot several birds of prey.

This is one of the most easily accessible places around Bangalore and definitely a place to chill out.

Room Tip: Tents are the only option and definitely the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mahesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Let me start with the good things. The area around the river cauvery is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, and so is the area where galibore is situated. The drive there is stunning and fun. And if you're coming from bangalore, it is really very closeby. The food is good, with a veg and non-veg option.

The camp is setup in a similar fashion as other jungle lodge retreats, large communal eating area with around 20-30 private huts or in the case of galibore tents. And thats where it goes wrong. The tents are moist, damp, very filthy and in general very unpleasant to be in. The bathroom is a concrete block without a shower. The bed is old and hard and all other items are either cheap, old or broken. Did i mention dirty already?

All of this would be OK if they wouldn't ask 5-star prices as if they are a taj or something. When i pay those prices I expect more. I've been to bheemeswari (same government run group) a while ago and that was acceptable. This is a dump. We tried other huts, but all had the same problem (and these were called the luxury tents, we didnt try the regular tents).

The filthy tents aside, what is ABSOLUTELY UNFORGIVEABLE is the trash (bottles, plastic, etc) lying around on the river bed in the camp. These guys are there to protect this piece of nature, and instead they ruin their own area and likely the area downstream of the camp. Shame on all of you that run the camp!!!

The good: being in beautiful nature and the food
The bad: filthy old horrible tents
The ugly: trash in and around the camp

We left after one hour and never saw our money back (although they did refund us for the extra money i paid as foreigner, while as a resident, i only needed to pay local fees). There are much better places to stay in this beautiful area, I would recommend you to avoid Galibore

Room Tip: Bring your own tent and (illegally) camp in nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Victor_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bengaluru
3.3 mi away
Holiday Village
Holiday Village
#163 of 681 in Bengaluru
161 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
4.7 mi away
The Signature Inn
The Signature Inn
#125 of 681 in Bengaluru
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bannerghatta Nature Camp
Bannerghatta Nature Camp
#1 of 1 in Bhoothanahalli
217 reviews
20.2 mi away
Our Native Village
Our Native Village
#9 of 854 in Bengaluru
321 reviews
5.5 mi away
Treebo Orchard Suites
Treebo Orchard Suites
#6 of 854 in Bengaluru
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galibore Nature Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galibore Nature Camp

Address: Uyamballi Post | Kanakapura Taluk, Sangam, Bengaluru, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 854 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range: $153 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Galibore Nature Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing