We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tom's Hotel Bangalore
Ranked #150 of 658 Hotels in Bengaluru
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

A good spot, friendly staff, spotless rooms, and a good reliable taxi service to the airport / railway station
Breakfast isn't ideal, but fine for the price. Try and take a room with a balcony. I heard that kitchen smells affect the ones at the back. 

We'll be back. It's hard to find accommodation in Bangalore at this price 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redfeatherboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
34
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Tom's is a well run hotel and its price,s are ok for what you get. It doe's seem high for the type pf room you get as you can get much better de core for the same price but where it comes into its own is with the free wi-fi, newspaper at your door with breakfast token which again is free. I booked one night before arriving so had to have AC room so paid 1880rps. I arrived at 9pm yes 9pm to be told my room would be about another hour. Luckily for me I had a local friend with me who took me to dinner. I got back about 10:15pm and was then able to check in to my room but you can then check out at 10:15pm the next night so it is a TRUE 24hr check in & out. The AC was not working so I had the usual two or three guys coming to fix it. In the end with some large sticky tape. The bed was hard to say the least and not that comfortable but I had tv and a good clean toilet with a shower that sprayed the whole room and some on me :O) ... As I said the staff made it a very good hotel as they where very happy and helpful with regards to giving directions to banks and mobile top up ect plus info on the bus to Bannerghatta which runs directly outside the hotel no G4 at15rps if you want go..

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the front of the hotel as the traffic will get very very noisy by about 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Really good value for INR 2206/- per nite all inclusive - most decent serviced apartments or rooms begin at INR 4k. Do ask for a rear facing room as the front facing rooms will be very noisy as Hosur Road is a major artery. Staff were super helpful, ready for us at 6.30 am as requested & nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Can be improved by not adding chillies to the eggs, & offering brown bread from the fantastic Tom's Bakery next door. The room cleanliness was better than the dining room.
Wifi worked a treat! Hot water is iffy - it's solar heating with electric backup but they have certain times when they turn it on/off so after a bucket or two if you still don't have any joy you need to ask. We will certainly use it again if we need a good value deal in Blr. We had an a/c room with a little balcony but never used the a/c as Blr is very pleasant (cold by Indian standards) in Dec-Jan.

Room Tip: rear facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuppyBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Location is ok, not to far away from MG road. You can also reach the botanical garden and the park with a short rikshaw ride. Room was nothing special but very spacious and has been clean.

The staff has been very helpful and friendly. We have been upgraded into an AC room at no extra cost, because all non A/C rooms were booked and the helped us a lot in booking our next guesthouse.

Restaurant and Food were good. Breakfast included, but nothing special.

They recently raised the prices, so we considered it rather expensive, but Bangalore in general is ridiculously expensive in general so it is probably in line with the price level.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is nice and cheap, don't wait for the confort but it's clean you have Internet and international television. The breakfast is Indian but good. The service is great they help you best they can.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wernili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed two nights at Toms. It was a nice change after the very basic guesthouses in Hampi! Our room was very nice; bright colors, lots of ligth, with modern furniture and it was clean. We had a non AC room for about 1800r, a bit expensive maybe but it was worth every rupiee!

As the weather was pretty bad and the room so comfortable we didnt go out much, just enjoyed the many movie channels and the free wifi (really fast) to chat with the people at home and plan the rest of our trip. Breakfast is free (and comes with a free newspaper!) - mostly south indian food but also toast and cornflakes. Most guests were Indian, on business it looked like.

We had lunch in the restaurant once but we didnt like it too much (surprisingly its mostly meat on the menu; beef, chicken and even pork and being vegetarian it was difficult to find something we liked). The service is really good though!

The location is pretty good; a 15 min walk to the MG road. Its next to a big road and a gas station and the street is pretty noicy but our room was quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

We would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back where it is more quiet and further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had an AC room, no balcony. The room was clean, well maintained and spacious but a bit dark as the windows faced up against another building. The bathroom was good but we had a problem with the hot water. No hot water one night but the next night it was fine. Wi-fi was complimentary and it worked great. The room was a bit on the high-side for a budget room at 2200 rupee, breakfast included. The breakfast was an Indian-style buffet breakfast at the attached restaurant. The real draw at Tom's hotel was the super helpful staff. The staff went above and beyond to be welcoming, helpful and friendly. This included coming to our defense when a dishonest "metered" taxi driver tried to scam us. The staff take this hotel to the next level.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Vellara Hotel
Vellara Hotel
#59 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Richmond Town
Treebo Select Stylotel by Jagadish
Richmond Town
The Curzon Court
The Curzon Court
#197 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
Ocea International Hotel
Ocea International Hotel
#370 of 658 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Richmond Town
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
#235 of 658 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#55 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Hotel Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Hotel Bangalore

Property: Tom's Hotel Bangalore
Address: 1 / 5 Hosur Road | Next to All Saints Church, Bengaluru 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 658 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tom's Hotel Bangalore 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Hotel Toms is one of the best value hotels in Bangalore. It offers 20 rooms in its 2 storied building. The rooms are spacious and well furnished and come with 24 hours room service. They are equipped with modern amenities. An in-house restaurant serves an eclectic blend of traditional Mangalorean and Continental cuisines. Voracious readers can enjoy reading good collection of books in the reading library. There are a plethora of other guest services, some of which are laundry and dry cleaning service, luggage storage, free and ample parking space, and a front desk to assist the guests with their queries all round-the-clock. The hotel is located in the Central Business District of Bangalore and is in close proximity to the local tourist attractions and shopping hubs as well. It is strategically located close to MG Road. WHY YOU SHOULD STAY HERE: Complimentary breakfast with both Indian and continental cuisines and free Wi-Fi service within the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tom's Hotel Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing