We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet spot in the heart of a hectic city”
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purple Lotus
Ranked #48 of 618 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2013

being to India for the first time, I cannot compare this hotel to the nationwide standards. Nevertheless my impressions:
Location: at the end of a blind alley, this former house of a very popular Indian politician offers silence from the noisy city. Frog croaking seems to be the only noise to be heard at night.
MG road and UB City Mall is close by, Hardrock Cafe is worth visiting in the evening.
The rooms are very spacious and light, but with heavy curtains covering the windows, most of them not able to get moved. TV has Indian channels only.
Very nice environment at the base floor with several ponds and a waterfall.
Room service is ok, but the fridge has not been refilled.
Food: since I only had breakfast, this is the reason of my main critics here. Like other guests mentioned already, it is really poor in choice and quality !
Friendlyness: the staff is very polite and friendly, but extra wishes (e.g. a knife for to cut a pinapple) needed some time to get done.
Internet access is for free and both wired and wireless.
After all, I would recommend the hotel for business travellers, but better have the breakfast outside.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank micha711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for visiting us all the way from Germany. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on improving our breakfast selection. As a small family owned boutique hotel we do appreciate your feedback and will continue to try and improve. Hope to see you on your next visit!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 256 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a super week there, loved:
- the beautiful lotus flowers in the bassin
- the stylish deco
- the lounge with excellent jazz music
- the warm and helpful staff
- the cleaness
- the location, very central in charming Lavelle Road
- the calm

Was a little puzzled though by:
- the really minimalistic b'fast (frankly guys, I do better at home!)
- the attitude of owner when I brought two old friends one afternoon to share a beer and watch a cricket match, I felt I was bringing two dangerous gangsters!
- globally owner's attitude was surprisingly cold, I am used to a slightly warmer behavior when I spend a whole week somewhere, I am not asking for a pad in the back but a little 'hello' would help...

This being said, a great experience and I warmly recommend this hotel for business travelers as well as tourists.
Pascal, French citizen residing in India

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardDelamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for visiting us for a week. We understand that you have options when visiting Bangalore and truly do appreciate your business. I sincerely apologize for not being more friendly during your visit. While it is certainly no excuse, we have had some staffing issues and an issue with a ruckus guest. I will certainly make a more concerted effort to meet and greet guests from now on. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we hope to see you on your next visit!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would like to recommend Purple lotus for frequent Business travelers to Bangalore, It is located close to MG road yet in a peaceful location. Huge room size, perfect ambience and quality food together makes your stay comfortable and memorable. I would give 5/5 to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gotoamit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived in the wee hours of the morning, after all day flying from the US. I had selected this hotel so that we could recuperate before going on our journey within India. And I was not disappointed. The room was spacious and quiet. While the food was limited, it was very well prepared and tasty. And the yoga studio adjacent to the main dining area was perfect for early morning practice. The staff was very helpful in directing us to places we needed to go.
The roof top terrace is a bonus and gives one a good view of the housing surrounding the hotel.
And it is close to the cricket stadium!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAryJoyogateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you selected the Purple Lotus for your stay all the way from Colorado! I hope the rest of your journey through India was enjoyable. As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights bed and breakfast in a superior room. Room was very large as was the bathroom. Nice clean hotel, just off main road but an easy walk to shops and large park. No lounge or bar but mini bar in fridge in room. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

In March 2013 we spent our first 4 nights at Purple Lotus and what a lovely introduction to India . We arranged a driver from Purple Lotus to meet us at Bangalore airport and he was one of the best drivers we experienced during our travels of south India. Purple Lotus is in a very quiet location yet central to shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with ample variety in a lovely relaxed setting near a pond and water feature. Nothing was ever a problem and the service was always excellent from all staff. The accommodation and facilities are very clean and well equipped. We had a room with kitchenette. Anything we did require was promptly delivered to our room. We returned to Purple Lotus for our last 2 days in India and didn't want to leave. The send off by the staff was very genuine and special. Had the same driver take us to the airport that picked us up. Thank you to Melville and all the staff at Purple Lotus for making our stay so special and pleasant. Hope to see you again in the future. We highly recommend a stay at Purple Lotus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pilgrimage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from Australia! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Purple Lotus is a sweet little oasis located in the heart of the city. It is a small boutique hotel impeccably designed to have plenty of indoor/outdoor green spaces, clean and functional but the real treat is dealing with the lovely staff all of whom were gracious and kind throughout our stay.

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from New York! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#115 of 729 in Bengaluru
202 reviews
Casa Cottage
#85 of 729 in Bengaluru
463 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#67 of 729 in Bengaluru
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#7 of 729 in Bengaluru
1,210 reviews
MG Road
Iris - The Business Hotel and Spa
MG Road
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Address: #46 6th Cross, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range: $71 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing