We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Oasis”
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purple Lotus
Ranked #35 of 555 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
New York, NY
1 review
“Beautiful Oasis”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of December/beginning of January. The place is truly an oasis from the loud, bustling streets of Bangalore. The beautifully-done surroundings with waterfalls and lotuses and the open-air design instantly relax you. We took a yoga class one morning in the yoga studio and had massages done as well. The staff were friendly and helpful. The history of the space made it even more special, as it was the site of the home of one of India's freedom fighters and ministers of agriculture.

It's perfectly located, as it's a short walk from MG Road, UB City and other gems. Opt for one of the king suites with a view of UB City--it's worth the extra cost. The rooftop space was great for watching the sunset. We'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: Go for the king suites on the top two floors for a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkrishnaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
As a family run boutique, we rely 100% on satisfied customers like yourself. It was my pleasure arranging the yoga class for you and I hope you are able to keep it up! Hope to see you and your husband back in Bangalore soon!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    72
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
59
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Purple lotus is a very nice property in the epi-center of Bangalore. Rooms are modern, stylish and clean, staff is helpful, food is very good, Internet connection is reliable. The staff helped us use this location as a base for travel around southern India, holding bags for us and ferrying us from and to rail stations and airport. Made the trip very easy for us. We would certainly stay there again for a return to Bangalore.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thanks for the kind words! Hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay at The Purple Lotus with a wedding party for over a week in December 2011 This beautiful boutique hotel offers serenity and a friendly staff who will attend to every detail and request. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, great bathrooms and easy wifi access The roof garden offers city views as well as respite both day and night. Meals, including a delicious breakfast, are served ajacent to a floating garden. Most importantly, each day I felt as if I were returning "home" from the busy streets of Bangalore. And all the other guests I met felt the same. Truly a very special place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sommerfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
As a family run boutique we strive to make guests feel at home, so I am very happy to read your review. I hope you do return for another wedding or just on your own to explore our wonderful city!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Purple Lotus is the perfect home-away-from-home - a gorgeous and peaceful oasis, hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Bangalore, with all of the modern conveniences you may need. My husband and I stayed at the Purple Lotus for several days as part of a wedding party in December 2011. The staff was super friendly and helped us with everything from getting my sari dry-cleaned to arranging airport pick-up/drop-off. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable with a modern decor and excellent wi-fi. The hotel is also centrally located within walking distance to several great shops and restaurants. We highly recommend the Purple Lotus!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you so much for submitting your review and for the very kind words. Also, thank you for sharing your hotel stay photos for the TripAdvisor community to see! Hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We (my parents and I) stayed at Purple Lotus for 2 ½ days from Nov 29th to Dec 1st and the experience was wonderful…

We arrived a little earlier than the scheduled time, but the staff were ever so courteous about it all and immediately made all arrangements to check us in.

The rooms were awesome..quite minimalistic in design but spacious & csuper clean, with all the amenities required for a short stay (TV,cable, microwave,fridge,kettle,spacious cupboard,safe,basic toileteries etc).just loved the bathrooms, especially the shower area with glass doors..had a bit of a problem trying to adjust the taps for hot water..we called room service and they promptly sent one of their staff to fix it..
the beds were comfy with plenty of pillows, neatly made and the sheets were spotless..I just wanted to sleep in it the entire day ! didn’t get the chance to check out the wifi, cos I had bought my own usb dongle which worked perfectly fine..

I love taking photos and my joy knew no bounds when I saw the gorgeous pond in the lobby with purple and white lotuses…we had a major photo session going on..the ambience in the breakfast lobby was lovely, with twinkly glass tables (my mom adored it) and white globe lights and fans…an added attraction was the waterfall..the complimentary breakfast was mainly continental..bread,jam,muffins,cereal,juices etc..they also made some lovely masala omlette upon request..Although nice, still think this could be improved with more Indian options..a nice touch were the black n white photos of various politicians from the olden days hung across the wall..they have a nice rooftop café as well..though we dint dine there..took plenty of pics..

Checkout was quick and they arranged a cab for to take us to the station..

All in all, we had a nice & memorable stay in Purple Lotus .Please do keep up the good work in maintenance and staff courtesy and we will certainly look forward to more stays there..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Reviews like this is what keep us going. I am so glad to hear you had such an enjoyable experience. Thank you also for sharing your photos. We sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Purple Lotus is a stunning boutique hotel centrally located in Balgalore, but tucked away in a lovely residential area where you are shielded from the sounds and whir of the city proper. It is modern, comfortable and stylish. The staff were very helpful and the food was fantastic! The rooms were spacious, clean and the bathroom was immaculate. Our stay in December 2011 will not be forgotten, and we can't wait to return!! Definitely check out The Purple Lotus if you can.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Glad you were able to stay with us for the wedding! I hope to see you again the next time you visit Bangalore. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My friend and I travelled to Bangalore for a wedding and chose Purple Lotus. It was a fantastic hotel with great large size room and very helpful and magnificent staff. Loved the peaceful and serenity of the place. As it is a little secluded, would be a good idea to take a Map along, incase the taxi driver gets lost.
A fantastic experience..will definitely go with the whole family next time!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rozilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review! I too hope you bring your family next time you visit Bangalore ; we can arrange some good city tours for you! Hope to see you soon!


Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#143 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Ulsoor
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
#49 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Koramangala
Grand Mercure Bangalore
Grand Mercure Bangalore
#58 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Cottage
#66 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Domlur
The Paul Bangalore
The Paul Bangalore
#20 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Richmond Town
juSTa MG Road, Bangalore
juSTa MG Road, Bangalore
#54 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Property: Purple Lotus
Address: #46 6th Cross, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing