We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangalore
Ranked #62 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel due to a relocation from the UK. I chose it out of our 3 other options on the basis it offered a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette. We were expecting to stay between 2 and 4 weeks so having some space in the room was essential.

The rooms are very clean and fairly modern with a large bed which was very comfortable. The bathrooms are a good size but they do not have baths. The kitchenette has a microwave and a small gas hob with some basic kitchen utensils. The dining/lounge area is an ok size and has a balcony. They have a lovely pool and the gym is adequate.

The areas I think they can greatly improve on are room services and food/beverage service outside of standard eating times. If you were here on business I don't think you'd have any issues. As I was at the hotel most days I found it very frustrating that I had to call up from the pool area to order a drink or something to eat. Unless I knew what I wanted it could take up to an hour just to get a burger. We also found that they catered for many corporate/special occasion functions and that resulted in its guest not being able to use the pool are or one/part of the two restaurants. I very much felt paying guests came second. The waiters in the restaurants were extremely friendly and efficient and I felt the overall hotel was letting its staff down by its general management.

On checking out after 3 weeks the hotel was insisting we should pay for the 4 weeks as book. We refused and told them to take it up with my husbands company. The week earlier they had forced us to pay the bill up to that date and I was very surprised with their attitude towards a large corporate client who's employees were spending a lot of money there.

Overall I think this hotel gave a poor introduction to a newly arrives resident to Bangalore.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotter010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear GlobeTrotter010.

Many thanks for your time for your review.

I'm glad that you appreciated the rooms & facilities of the property.

Please do accept my personal apology that we were not able to meet your expectations for room services and food/beverage service outside of standard eating times. I will personally look into the concern and see how we may improve on it.

With respect to your check-out experience, it's truly regrettable that it wasn't a pleasant one. The Team is already working on streamlining the process to avoid repeat of the experience.

Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to better our services.

With best wishes,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    166
    39
    14
    13
See reviews for
76
34
30
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great genuine warm welcome on check in, shown to room. Apartment style, clean well appointed. Good small gym, nice pool and deck area. Coffee shop / breakfast room, not the best from a service perspective, good choice of buffet but quality and presentation could be improved. "By the Blue" out door dinning very good. Spa small but good value (very good massage).
A few things could be improved better quality coffee in rooms: al la carte breakfast options: freshly cooked: also better co ordination of pool closures for weddings and events. Some staff training, I hate people standing over me whilst i am eating, re filling my plate every time i took a mouthful of my dinner.
Overall enjoyed my stay and would stay again, with some better management and staff training
this could be a very good budget business hotel.

Room Tip: All the same i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello MikeEdw.

Thank you for your review, it's very much appreciated.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and like the facilities.

I understand your view about overdoing the service by the restaurant team and I will personally get involved to better it.

The Team and I do look forward to be of service to you again on your next visit.

With best wishes,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times on business and I always return- the staff are always friendly and provide a real welcome, the food is always great and the location for me is excellent!

Room Tip: The higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Hi lancashirelass002.

My heartfelt thanks for your continued support. It is really wonderful to know that the genuine efforts of the Team is appreciated and that we are able to make you feel at home with us :)

Rest assured that we'll always do our best to keep you happy .. Sky's the limit for you.

Cheers,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is rather quiet and small, but it makes the place cozy and relaxing. The swimming pool is nice, so is the gym. The hotel is modern and clean. I always try different places, but in this venue I stayed 2 times already, and I'll keep coming back.

Tip: If you use the hotel car service, bear in mind that the car is always late, so order it for few minutes before you actually need to leave and come earlier.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartos999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Bartos999.

Many thanks for your time to give us your review. Greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your compliment on the hotel facilities and it is really nice to know that we are able to meet your expectations. I also appreciate your feedback on your challenge with the transportation; I'll personally get involved to see how we may resolve the issue.

I am truly happy to read that you'll come back and we shall look forward to be of service to you again.

Best wishes,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Its a very nice hotel but as a guest and an accor advantage plus member i didnt get a professional response from the staff. My reservation said

1 Bedroom Apartment 1 King Bed 7700.49 INR
Ultra modern and spacious apartment with a living room, designer kitchen and a balcony. Along with a bathroom with rain shower, it offers an LCD TV, DVD and CD player, USB port and WiFi access. Up to 2 adults and 2 children.
Members' Rate
Exclusive to Advantage Plus Members

When i said i should be given room with balcony they said it cant be done. i had specially selected this room because of balcony even its much more expensive ,as i stayed earlier also in same hotel with balcony and feel suffocated in closed room. As per the reservation text above it seems wifi is included but i was asked to pay for that. I feel a professional business should respect the commitment it makes with its customers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satishjain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnujC, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Mr.SatishJain72,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Bangalore. I am so sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Unfortunately, we didn't have higher floor rooms with balcony available on that particular day and have made a note of your preference.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Tejus Jose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

In a quiet residential area but within walking distance of restaurants. Nandini Palace nearby on main road is a very good banana leaf restaurant. The 2 bed apartment was spacious, well equiped, comfortable and clean. Service was good. Pool was good. Food was good. No negatives really unless you want a noisy location. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hi Michael.

Many thanks for taking the time to give your review. It's very much appreciated.

I am glad that you had a good stay with and we most certainly look forward to having back with us.

Cheers,
Hament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Grand Mercure is perfect for business people on longer stays or families doing the ex-pat gig. They offer suites and apartments that are well furnished, clean and very nice. My suite had a full kitchen (full size refrigerator, sink, toaster, plates, glasses, utensils, stove top, microwave, etc.), a very nice bathroom, living area, deck with table & chairs), tv, and wi-fi. Given my schedule, I was only able to partake in the breakfast (sometimes for breakfast, but also for dinner) and it was fantastic. A great selection, cook to order omelets, pancakes, and Indian dishes as well as a great selection of other foods. The service is outstanding. My room rate included breakfast and wi-fi, so check into that before you book. It is located in a sort of residential area and you do need to take transportation anywhere you go. But that also means it's quiet with no traffic at night as well. The comment about nobody knows where this hotel is located is absolutely true. Nobody knows. So make sure you have the address and phone number handy. As good as a Marriott? Nope - better. My length of stay was 6 days on this trip. I'll be back.

Room Tip: There are no 'views' worth mentioning. So just make sure you get the right size and package...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benchoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hi benchoff.

Thank you kindly for your support, review and generous feedback.

I am truly delighted that you had a memorable time with and will be on your next trip. The Team looks forward to it :)

I would like to add that if it suits a long stay individual .. then you can't go wrong with a short stay too.

Till we see back, best wishes.

Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koramangala
Nandhana Grand
Nandhana Grand
#157 of 652 in Bengaluru
139 reviews
Koramangala
Casa de Bengaluru
Casa de Bengaluru
#156 of 652 in Bengaluru
141 reviews
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#144 of 652 in Bengaluru
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangalore

Property: Grand Mercure Bangalore
Address: 12th Main | Koramangala, Bengaluru 560034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Koramangala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Bangalore is located in the upmarket Koramangala area and only 5km from multinational companies and IT parks at the business district. Besides being located close to the city center, the hotel is only 45km from the airport. Highlights of this all-suite hotel are built-in kitchenettes and private balconies. First class facilities ranging from Princess Floor, 24 hr in-room dining, WiFi, fitness centre, boutique, swimming pool, spa, travel desk, web corner, restaurants and bar make the hotel ideal for business, leisure as well as extended stays. Several software companies are located in Koramangala and also it is home to many educational & medical institutions. The hotel is ideally located and easily accessible from business locations, notably Embassy Golf Links Domlur, Hosur Road, Electronics City, Sarjapur Outer Ring Road, Bannerghatta, Old Airport Road and MG Road at the center of Bangalore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing