We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect of Taj”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta By Taj Whitefield
Ranked #31 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not what you expect of Taj”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel has deteriorated since the previous time I stayed here, both in terms of quality of infrastructure and service, especially the latter. The washrooms have have problems with an overflowing WC and the staff dont seem to know how to fix it!). The restaraunt ''Lattitude'' has empty tables but still insists that the restaraunt is completely booked. Overall this hotel is turning out to be a low cost version of an airline with a fancy price tag. There is a nice spa in the hotel but the massages are outrageously expensive. Not the Taj I am used to. I would only stay here if I have work in Whitefield and also because there is a mall in close proximity to the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor (pool facing). Since there is construction near by, this will reduc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitP, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Whitefield, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we .pride ourselves in being the first Vivanta and among the top Vivanta by Taj properties internationally recognised for its design and sense of styling, and I apologize your experience at our hotel did not reflect this at all. Public areas are very important to our hotel and the Latitude truly is the nexus connecting public areas to the landscaped Gardens. We have shared your feedback with our team.

Again, Please my apology for your inconvenience and I hope that you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    333
    51
    18
    20
See reviews for
75
35
45
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great food, great service, exceedingly friendly and well decorated Restaurant... not much more needs to be said.

Had one of the best Indian Meals I have had in a while at this Restaurant. To be honest I am not a big fan of yellow Dal , but after the waiter convinced me I should try it I did and for the first time actually enjoyed it.
The food overall was excellent with just the right amount of "hot" -- OK you may have to ask them to make it a bit more spicy, which I did then it was just right!

Would I go there again -- ABSOLUTELY; already thinking about the next visit.

As ot the cost -- well it is the Taj so you don't expect it to be bargain basement prices, BUT i was surprised how reasonable the food actually was. Drinks are a little pricey, but no more than any other Top Notch Hotel / Restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitP, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Whitefield, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to dine at the Terracotta, we love it when our guests are so appreciative of our food at the Terracotta. We look forward to your next visit

Warm Regards
Mukut Chakravarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Unlimited Moet Chandon for Champaign brunch every Sunday at just €40. Great pool too. Strangely the hotel is located in an industrial business park. The benefit is that its quiet, safe and secure but your taxi may have trouble finding it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitP, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Whitefield, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you found value in our offering! The Sunday Brunch has something different every week, it could be the Brunch theme or the Entertainment.

Last Sunday we had an Irish Band the Hibernian Jungle, perform live. The Cascade ( our beautiful ampitheater-like restaurant porch ) turned, literally into a concert venue.

Do call Yountan our restaurant manager at the hotel to know the theme every week. We look forward to having you over for our Sunday Brunch soon!

Warm Regards
Mukut Chakravarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nicely designed stylish hotel with good restaurants and bars, funky fully kitted out bedrooms and a good gym, if you're dashing around on business in Whitefield, this is the place to be I'd say. Service is excellent, as is the food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitP, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Whitefield, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, the Vivanta by Taj Whitefield, Bangalore just got shortlisted for the Building of the year award at The World Architecture Festival. The Festival will announce the winners in early October at the Marina Bay Sands in Singapore! We welcome the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

excellent customer service, good restaurant, clean room , nice design

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Christophe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitP, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Whitefield, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a business hotel serving the nearby offices of the world's blue-chip companies. It provides a good standard of living for the area but still has enough misunderstandings to make you think that you are filming a modern day fawlty towers.

The rooms are fairly large but given that the windows do not open and the aircon struggles with the unshaded glass walls they are starting to smell a little of damp. Some rooms have showers that use an outside wall as one side which is covered by a blind this too adds to the smell of damp. The beds are hard however they will put a soft mattress cover on if requested.

Breakfast has all the makings of a five star hotel with pancake and egg stations and indian offerings too however you generally have to scavenge a plate or spoon or whatever they haven't laid up for you that day. The breakfast room also gets very warm on hot days as again it has an unshaded glass wall.

Internet was quite slow and costs from about £1.80 for half an hour to about £10 for 24 hours. To connect more than one device and not pay twice you have to use 24 hours or longer. Also half way through the stay they decided to change my name on the system which took about an hour to put right just when I had arranged a skype call.

Dinner: the options for dinner are the main restaurant serving all types of cuisine, the north indian restaurant, room service or nandos/dominos in the shopping centre next door. The indian food seems great but the western food still needs work to replicate what a westerner would expect to receive. The staff however were very helpful if something wasn't right often replacing the food for free.

Eco credentials, none that I could see, they have halogen bulbs which are not LED, the unshaded glass walls make the air-con struggle to get rooms below 23 degrees when the sun is out and I couldn't see and solar (although I did not ask).

Activities: Swimming pool, spa and basket ball court. In the spa though it is worth specifying that a massage is done by hand if that is what you want as I ended up with a machine steaming and scrubbing by back for an hour when I wanted a fully body massage concentrating on the back.

Service, they try very hard and sometimes have flashes of excellence in service but the constant requests to review room service or laundry were irritating and several items of laundry were damaged and only covered up to 10 times the cost of the laundry and so I ended up losing quite a lot of money on a Thomas Pink shirt. Also a charge for a car that I did not use appeared on my final bill and took about 10 minutes to remove with several people asking me if I was sure I hadn't hired a car!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the shower does not back on to the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SherborneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitP, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Whitefield, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your detailed and valuable critique of our accommodations, food and beverage product and service.

To ensure that our long-stay guests and international guests feel right at home even if they are thousands of miles away, we customise the menu at Latitude, our global cuisine all-day-diner according to guest preferences.

On our Eco Credentials : Our hotel has been awarded with the prestigious Silver Certificate from the internationally renowned EarthCheck. EarthCheck is the certification program used by tourism organizations around the world to validate their sustainability initiatives related to the protection of the environment.

Your feedback has been shared with our entire team, and as a team that prides in itself for its quality of work, we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve and delight you, more consistently upon your next visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This is my first visit to the Whitefield area of Bangalore, and having reviewed options chose the Taj Vivanta, having enjoyed the Taj West in some time ago.

The Vivanta is completely different. It is ultra modern, clean, and has the usual high levels of attention, care and customer service.

Both restaurants are good with plenty of variety, although not the best food I've had whilst here.

The rooms are packed with technology. The 5 speaker system set up above and around the bed certainly was unusual, although it took two staff to get it working.

The best thing for me though was the shower. Working Uk hours in India usually means the hot water is gone by late morning. Here they were piping hot!

Don't discount this place if you are coming out to this part of town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitP, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Whitefield, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on the Vivanta by Taj Whitefield, Bangalore. It's wonderful to know that a patron of the Taj West End found our hotel equally interesting. Thank you also for expecting the high levels of attentive service that guests have come to expect of the Legendary Taj West End, a legend that 175 glorious years of service in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#32 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,136 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Taj West End
#14 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta By Taj Whitefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta By Taj Whitefield

Property: Vivanta By Taj Whitefield
Address: ITPB, Whitefield, Bengaluru 560066, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#16 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#20 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta By Taj Whitefield 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Whitefield, Bangalore is located inside ITPB, Bangalores International Technology Park that houses 70 corporations, including some of the largest Multinational corporations in the World. Winner of 9 international design and architecture awards. The hotel has a unique façade that changes colour, texture and tone to express the borderless potential of its patrons. With 170 guest rooms and 29 Suites, the hotel offers comprehensive business facilities, an irresistible range of food and beverage options and a well-equipped fitness centre and the JIVA Spa. Vivanta is designed to create a truly memorable experience for you, every single time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta By Taj Whitefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Whitefield Hotel Bangalore
Taj Vivanta Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing