We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay. Stayed some time back.”
Review of Rajmahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rajmahal Hotel
Ranked #406 of 666 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Just average but decent & clean, basic room service & laundry services. Location within half km of railway station & central bus station.

I remember paying about Rs 300 for Non AC room couple of years back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the left side building are very ordinary. More like dormitory rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent_T_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Rajmahal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

I had an interview in Bangalore, so I stayed at the Hotel Rajmahal for 3 days. Prior reservation can be done through email.
The location of the hotel is great. It's pretty near the Majestic bus terminus, but is slightly isolated- which is a good thing, actually. Staying right near a busy city junction involves living near too much commotion. So location-wise, this place is great.
The service is good too. Remember, there is an old wing and a new wing. The old wing looked in bad shape. I stayed in the Deluxe Non/AC double room in the new wing. It was quite good. It costs Rs 1050 per day (excluding taxes). There is a small TV, a nice big bed, a study table and a decent bathroom.
The food is very good- I loved the Prabhu Restaurant situated in the ground floor of the new wing.
There is a small problem of cockroaches. I had to change my room once for this problem. But the people there were really cooperative, and freely allowed me to inspect other rooms.
It was a really satisfying stay. I hope they've managed to sort out the cockroach issue. Other than that, it really is a pretty nice place.

Room Tip: Take the 7th floor rooms
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suvamthegenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Located right opposite the KSRTC Bus Stand and Railway Station at Anand Rao Circle, and a walkable distance from both. But please note that come evening or night, this doesn't look a safe neighbourhood for a family with women and kids. And the restaurant options around are not that great either.

Coming to the hotel, stayed this weekend as a solo business traveler. My office had called up ahead to prepone my advance reservation by a day, and this had been confirmed on phone. But when I reached there tired at 10:45pm from my last flight, the guy at the reception says: "We're full up, no room!" When I tell him he had confirmed availability when we called, he says: "How can we say NO on the phone??!!" And all this rudely.

Anyway, the senior man at the counter reprimanded him, and told me to wait for half an hour as "rooms have become vacant now, but need cleaning;" he suggested I have dinner in their adjacent restaurant. This was a dark dank place that at time of night was occupied by people drinking alcohol in groups. The clientele was 99.9% male - and the lady co-worker who had come to drop me off felt uncomfortable. The cheapest food on the main course in the menu starts at 110/-! (And at the end, they added on VAT to this, making it 125/-!)

By the time I had dinner and was back at the counter, the room was ready. (Non-AC Deluxe Double at 1200/- per day). Looked okay, dismissed the room-boy, went to bath - no towel and soap. Picked up phone, dialing "9" does not connect to the counter. There are no contact numbers or instructions anywhere in the room. Ringing the room-service bell at the head of the bed did not bring anyone. Finally had to go back down to Lobby and have them send it up. The TV had a funny problem - kept switching off at the start, till mulitple attempts when it would stay on. The furnishing of the room is basic utilitarian - cheap plastic and wood, nothing comfortable. The plumbing was poorly maintained - taps had to be screwed back tight, else they would start dripping and leaking at midnight.

Each morning, there's complementary newspaper, but no coffee/tea! Room cleaning is done only if you ask for it (once in my 3-day stay). Again after this, the bath stuff was missing, and had to get towel - soap from room service once more. And though I was alone, I did not feel lonely at all - (the worst part) there were a lot of cockroaches of all ages roaming round the room!

The 2nd day, the guys at the reception took > 5 minutes to locate my room key, and "make sure I had handed it to them that morning!"

There is a vegetarian restaurant in the complex of hotels next to Raj Mahal, but the only things they had available at the time we needed to have breakfast daily (7:45 to 8:15 morning) the only stuff they had available was idli-vada and oily "uppittu." The vadas were lovely and crisp though!

At check-out time, they asked me to confirm booking ahead by e-mail next time, rather than the phone. So maybe they're more geared to this, though their HM software definitely had easy options I could see on the screen to update bookings. And they were loath to give back the entire balance amount, till I asked for it. (Didn't see any reason to tip, given the quality of this stay.)

So at the end of the day, for Hotel Rajmahal,

Pros: Great location, 24-hour checkout.
Cons: Costly for what they provide, poor room service, dank old tired building.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drstrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I would say this is how a budget hotel should be! With so many rooms, 7+ floors in the building, good restaurant and located in the centre of the city! The reception area is very rich looking when compared to the rooms. The rooms are average looking, bathroom looks a bit old. The service was good and friendly. It offers everything that a budget hotel should, but I'd still want them to have cleaner sheets, etc. in the room. Otherwise, its a good budget stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iPilot777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The hotel is located on just walking distance from the main bus stand in Bengaluru (Bangalore). rooms are decent but somewhat need renovation. They dont have business facilities like high speed internet, copier etc. even breakfast isnt complimentary. they have a inhouse small south indian restaurant inside serving veg breakfast. staff is good but service is very poor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuban1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I travel to Bangalore regularly, nearly once a quarter, and always use this hotel for my stay. As the reviewer before me mentioned, the room rates are cheap and everything is so accessible for the hotel.

Normally, if I travel out the same day that I arrive, I book the non-ac room which for about Rs.700 a day are not bad, but you cannot expect luxury. If there is an overnight stay, I normally book the A/c Deluxe room which is excellent for the price it comes at (About 2500 INR).

Guess what? If you have a driver with you, as I have so many times, rooms are available for them as well with common shower and toilets for as little as INR250 ($5).

Since the hotel is at Majestic, almost the center of town, all locations in the city, except perhaps the Hitec City, is close by. You can either book a taxi for the day (the building next to the hotel has couple of travel agencies, but bargain hard) or you could ask the reception for a Limo if you wish to splurge.

Restaurants and food is ok, but again I thought the Multi Cusine restaurant is not bad for the price.

The only grouch I have with this hotel is that it looks as if it hasnt been renovated for a decade or more now.

All in all, if you are in Bangalore on a budget or a frequent traveller like me, this is a great, no-frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forbidden_apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

I have stayed in Rajmahal for multiple years going back to 1995. The last time we stayed was in Mar 2009.

This is a budget hotel with room rates starting at around 15 USD (600 Rs) for a Non A/C and going up to around 40 USD (2000 Rs) for a big A/C room

All rooms are relatively clean. The carpet in many of the rooms are showing their age though. Bathrooms are clean, but do not expect anything fancy.

They have one vegetarian and one Non Vegetarian restaurant. Veg is nothing to write about and the Non-Veg food is average .

They have adequate car parking. They are less than 1 km away from the main Railway station and from the main Bus stand (Majestic).

The key shopping areas are also very easily accesible by an auto from the hotel.

Overall a good budget option in Bangalore

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
0.0 mi away
Chinna's Residency
Chinna's Residency
#227 of 666 in Bengaluru
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bell Hotel and Convention Centre
Bell Hotel and Convention Centre
#287 of 666 in Bengaluru
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Signature Inn
The Signature Inn
#127 of 666 in Bengaluru
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rialto Hotel
The Rialto Hotel
#122 of 666 in Bengaluru
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#562 of 666 in Bengaluru
26 reviews
3.3 mi away
Habitat Suites and Rooms
Habitat Suites and Rooms
#523 of 666 in Bengaluru
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajmahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajmahal Hotel

Address: 33-34, Seshadri Road, Bengaluru 560009, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 666 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range: $22 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rajmahal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rajmahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing