We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to the airport... but so quiet and peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort
Mumbai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“So close to the airport... but so quiet and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Olde Bangalore is vast! For someone who comes from claustrophobic Mumbai, it's especially so! The biggest thing going for this resort of course is its incredible proximity to the Bangalore airport. Yet its quiet, secluded and peaceful. Since I went during May, it was quite warm during the day but I am sure it would be terrific in the winters. I stayed in one of their tents which was superbly appointed and classy in an 'olde' fashioned way. The tents are really special and is a unique experience as opposed to long hotel corridors and cookie-cutter rooms. The service is quite good and so's the food - especially the south Indian stuff. The grey granite blocks that are used extensively in the hotel can be a little depressing - it's not an architectural marvel. Given the space, it could have been ethnic yet modern with courtyards and natural light. Still, Olde Bangalore is a good enough, relaxing place to chill for a day or two...

Room Tip: The tents are a refreshing experience. May be expensive, but try them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srinik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    94
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
64
28
8
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DXB
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Most people turn up here on business as part of corporate training jigs that are routinely hosted here. However, the serene location, almost evangalistic eco-friendly nature of the community, the MANIC attention to detail, cheerfully friendly staff and the extremely well-maintained faclities make it ideal for a family getaway too.
Just 5 minutes from BIAL, yet it could be on another planet altogether - those who lived in Bangalore in the laid '70s and the cheerful (and not so busy) '80s will instantly identify with the place.
Atmosphere, architecture, layout, food, accomodation - this place challenges established expectations on each of these counts.
That said, there are some irritants - things that can be quickly fixed. It took 3 visits from maintenance to get the wireless Tata Walky phones in the rooms to work. Then the TV refused to work when my son tried to watch his toons - not much of a worry because we werent there to watch TV, but a failure all the same. The bicycles on the resort are direly in need of maintenance - my guess is that they arent used very often by guests, but that shouldnt be an excuse. Besides these minor issues, the food, service, accomodation (WoW!) and all other facilities are really commendable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

The primary reason for staying at this place was to facilitate an early morning departure from Bangalore as this place is just about 15 mins from the airport. We were really happy with the choice in the end. Spread over a lovely green patch, this is a welcome change from the over-crowded city. It does give you a great chance to unwind and rejuvenate the senses before the travels ahead. The Caravan - tent styled living areas are beautiful and cozy. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Simply put, Olde Bangalore is an excellent place to stay, best we have ever stayed in so far. While, we had to cut our trip short the 1 day we spent was fantastic. The food, service, staff, the complex are supperb. Its a perfect weekend getaway for a couple / family. Theres a large pool and tented cottages, th AC are not that effective but that can be overlooked with the other benefits that come along with the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raahularora81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

I had booked through IRCTC. Initially I booked for 2 days and had extended for another 2 days. It is different. Simple. Tranquil. Has state of art facilities in the tent. Fit to have leisure and should do nothing to enjoy. You can forget the rest of the world.

No health equipments for doing routine excercise.
Food quality: You can have only at restaurant. Room service not available. Limited choice/variety. Don't expect
South Indian food especially in the evenings. Access only by car (private conveyance). Hotel can arrange for taxi. Personal safe to secure your valuables overnight will ensure sound sleep.

If you go as a team of minimum 10 you can have excellent time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vssivapprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at Olde Bangalore Hotel and Resort December 18th and December 19th as attendees of a wedding party.

Olde Bangalore is off the beaten path a bit, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

When we were told that we were staying in ‘tents’ I grimaced at the idea…but boy was I wrong...it was BEAUTIFUL!

As you arrive on your lovely private patio, of two chairs and a table, you notice the door bell, which is a rope that extends from the outside of the tent to the inside that is really attached to a ‘bell’...We loved our doorbell. As you unzip your door you first notice the king sized bed with nice linens, which sits in a fairly large room with two wardrobe closets (with locks), a small fridge and a flat screen TV and other small furnishings. The floors are done in wood Pergo. The next ‘room’ is the bathroom. We unzipped the door to the bathroom that had a full length mirror and small stool, a porcelain sink and toilet and white tile throughout. It was perfect. My husband used the term ‘Glamping’ (combining the words Glamorous Camping)

The main building to the hotel is nice, and kept very clean.

We enjoyed a few King Fisher’s at the bar and the bartenders were loads of fun to talk to. We only had one breakfast and one dinner on location, both were good.

One night we tried to go to the restaurant for dinner at about 8pm and it was closed.

We thought the indoor badminton was awesome and many folks enjoyed the yoga in the mornings and the fitness facilities.

The staff could not have been more attentive to our needs and I REALLY enjoyed waking up to the sounds of the birds in the morning, which you simply don’t get when you are staying in a hotel room.

We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Naito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We decided to spend the weekend in a quiet and classy resort and headed for olde bangalore after reading the reviews here. That was the biggest mistake I made this year. On reaching we were greeted by a bunch of noisy people who had decided to spend the day there. It seems they encourage group bookings and were massively overbooked. I had read that they had short stay facilities and decided to head for the quieter tents instead of returning back all the way. The front desk woman was extremely dis-interested and rude. She said she needs to have proof that we were transiting through the nearby airport to give us short stay. As if they were doing us a favour. Anyway on enquiring about the overnight stay they jacked up the price to 10K. We just went around to check the acco quality to see if it was worth that much. To our disbelief it was a standard acco with absolutely basic facilities and they were just trying to rip us off. The food at the restaurant is pathetic and so is the service at the bar. It seems that resorts like this in bangalore are riding high on quick cash with no regard to quality, comfort and service. The place is completely desolate with nothing else nearby. Definitely worth giving it a skip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
1.3 mi away
Clarks Exotica Resort & Spa
Clarks Exotica Resort & Spa
#46 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
4.3 mi away
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#188 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#123 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
7.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Resort & Convention Centre
23.0 mi away
Holiday Village
Holiday Village
#160 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort

Property: Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort
Address: 206 Utopia | Tarabanahalli, Chikjala, Near Bangalore International Airport, Bengaluru 562157, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 795 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Olde Bangalore (pronounced as "Old Bangalore") is like taking a slow and lazy trip back in time - hard to imagine something like this in the middle of a city gone wild! Waking up to bird-song and retiring to the sound of silence are luxuries now available only miles away from habitation, unless you are at Olde Bangalore. As the cool breeze of nostalgia wafts through your mind, prepare to soak yourself in the soul of a Bangalore. Come, let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Olde Bangalore Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing