We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Suitable Location Of Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Empire Hotel
Ranked #171 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Suitable Location Of Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is located very near to several shopping malls, restaurants, Metro Station, supermarkets, hotels, cinema, etc. with all modes of transportation available nearby. A perfect place to stay for all sorts of trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Apoorva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
26
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've been in India 9 times since 1981 and in Bangalore 6 times.
This time I decided to stay in the Empire Hotel ( CENTRAL STREET near Infantry road)
I spent 6 nights.First night my room was facing the main road and the traffic noise was bad.
Then I got room 207 and was fully satisfied.Wi-fi is working good.The manager Mr.Gaffar and his staff is efficient helpful friendly and always with a smile.
Very good service and room service.
Location is best it takes only 5 min walk to the MG-Road.
Good restaurant on the ground floor.
There are 4 Empire Hotels in Bangalore.I guess best value in Central Street.
No question I will stay again in the Empire Central Street.

Room Tip: Avoid taking a room to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank condor5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

we stayed twice in this hotel, the first time in a standard room, that was very noisy, because there is only a door that divides you from a neighbor room. when we were there, a man made loud phone calls till deep in the night next to us. the second time in a luxury room, with an interesting view. people of the reception are friendly, and the restaurant on the ground and first floor is popular, there is a nice atmosphere with all the time so many people visiting the restaurant or just standing outside. the location is perfect at church-street, where you easily can get places with western coffee and bars with alcohol. we had a good time here, it felt comfortable and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertsteijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had two stays of 3 days each at the Empire on a recent trip to India in Dec.2012.
First in room 411 - eveything was new , the a/c worked perfectly as did the fan.
The hotel is less than 10 mins walk from MG Rd, so you save Rs600 per day over the Empire International in Church Street.
When I returned I stayed in room 301.
Both the a/c and ceiling fan had two setting , on and off.neither the temperature in the a/c unit nor the speed of the fan could be altered.
The food from the restaurant is excellent as ever.
WARNING ... this hotel is not recommended for vegetarians who are sensitive about meat.
The hotel tends to smell strongly of cooking meat from about 11am until the restaurant closes around midnight.

another warning... book your own taxi for the airport.

I asked the staff on the desk to book me one for 4am.

I was allocated a private car which cost twice as much as a taxi would have , but at 4am there's not any alternatives.

Room Tip: check the fitting before either accepting the room , or/and occupying it on a a/c basis. (most room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staffs help u. Rooms will be cleaned daily. Large size rooms. Men will be available for service at every floor. Be careful with taking out your keys. Doors lock automatically.
Nice restaurant available in ground floor

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Abdul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I came to this country to look at hospitals because I am sick. I chose this hotel based on reviews and wanted somewhere basic, clean and without hassle. I had nothing but headaches.

Room service is not 24 hours fyi. I had to change rooms 4 times. Each time I was mocked by the staff and made to think I was being "difficult". One room they gave me (407) was right next to a very noisy machine. I liked it because it was not facing the front which had lots of noisy traffic and dust but it was so loud the walls were shaking. I couldn't sleep and finally after calling the front desk four times, they moved me to a new room ... At 2:30am!! But this was after walking downstairs in the middle of the night in my pajamas because the forth time they wouldn't answer the phone.

The new room I stumbled into in the middle of the night was extremely dusty, noisy and poor ventilation with an awkward small setup and hard bed- awesome. In the morning, it was so unbearable I had to sit in the lobby and argue for one hour to wait 15 more minutes for a new room to get clean so I could have the "privlidge" of getting switched to another room. Another previous room I was given, the shower was broken and there were ants all over the sink! They cleaned the ants when I complained at first but they kept coming back!! I had to complain about four times to get out of that room.

The staff that helped me change rooms were not helpful at all and also mocked me. My dinner order the first night I had to send back three times too. They also quoted me a price that was much higher than what I owed so I asked to see the bill and sure enough, it didn't match and it was over by more than 200 rupees.

I came here trying to save money with a hotel that had good food and a nice reputation. It just waisted my time, sleep and energy dealing with the staff and changing rooms and trying to order food. And I had to pay for that?

The reviews that say avoid rooms on the front are so true! I'm easy going and didn't pay attention when I read that but wow! Ask for one on the backside!

Pros: wifi connection is good. Restaurant is open later than most. Hot water works. Close to shivajinagar bus station which connects everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkyAvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

value for money, good location, nice room, staff very supportive, easy to reach, nice food specially for non vegetarian. overall very good experience. this is my 6th stay in the same hotel. bathrooms are neat clean and specious.




  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank kaushikpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Safina Hotels
#514 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Richmond Town
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
#276 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
The Signature Inn
#154 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tiara
#228 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Hotel Paraag
Hotel Paraag
#199 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 78 Central Street | Opp BRV Theater, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing