We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #189 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I’ve been to India three times in the last three years and I stay at Hotel Empire every time I’m in Bangalore! The Hotel Empire on Central Street (near Infantry Road) is better than the Hotel Empire on Church Street (in my opinion, having stayed at both). The hotel is nothing fancy but it’s clean, Wifi connection is good, the staff are friendly and it’s close to everything. And the restaurant downstairs does great food. It’s also got 24 hour bookings, so if you check in at 11pm, you’ve got until 11pm the next day to vacate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
26
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is in a central location - about 10 minutes walk from MG Road. And for as much as one can expect from an economy hotel, one can't complain too much.

The rooms were clean, and so was the hotel overall. Everything seems in order. If you are prone to dust or hidden fungus (the kinds that is not visible to anyone, but is present because there is not enough sunlight ever entering the room), do not choose this hotel; you are likely to keep sneezing all the time or catch a cold (like I did).

Despite having a restaurant on the ground floor which serves till late in the night, the room service is stopped at 11 PM. The restaurant doesn't have very good vegetarian breakfast choices, but since the hotel is in a central location, it didn't bother us too much to have breakfast at some nearby eating joints.

Room Tip: Avoid taking a room facing the main road - there is traffic on the road most of the time, and passin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChintanLakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was reasonably located to all of the tourist destinations in Bangalore. The room was clean and service was always very prompt. The biggest criticism for this place was the beds (extremely uncomfortable), but for a quick stopover this was an ideal location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elladaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were in 3 different rooms at the Empire over the course of our 2 night stay in Bangalore, all of which ranged from downright awful, to only tolerable. We are on a backpacker budget and are used to staying in very basic accommodation, just as a reference for where we are coming from. The first room we had booked online through Agoda and we had chosen a standard AC room. The room itself was huge, though the furniture was incredibly worn with filthy cloth on the chairs and headboard, and questionable cleanliness for the sheets. We decided to stay another night because the location was good but decided we didn't need the AC. We switched to a fan room and were told the only one available was a deluxe, which was a bit more than the standard. They told us the price difference was due to room size. The room we were put in was TINY by comparison to our standard AC, and I questioned the staff about this, but they assured me this was a deluxe and was indeed bigger than the standard fan rooms. When we came back to the room to go to sleep at the end of the day, we had to kill literally a dozen roaches within the first 30 minutes. We went down and requested that we be given a different room, and we could see they had a room available across the hall as the doors are left open when the rooms are vacant. We were told that the room available was a deluxe AC room so we couldn't move. We told them we'd pay more for it and they still insisted that they couldn't move us. Eventually my husband said he was just going to pack our things and leave and we wouldn't pay for the night at all, so they reluctantly let us move to the other room...which turned out to be A DELUXE FAN ROOM. It was nearly twice the size of the room we had just been in, which they insisted was one of the biggest deluxe fan rooms they had. The staff had flat-out lied to us. We clearly had been put in a standard room and were being charged the higher rate for it. At this point we were livid but stayed for the night because it was so late.

In addition to being lied to, the staff was constantly calling or knocking to 'see if we needed anything', which I can only assume was a way to attempt to be given more tips. Between 6 and 8am we received two phone calls and one visit to our room to see if we wanted breakfast, which wasn't included in the price. They came to see if we wanted laundry done, did we need a newspaper, did we want a tea? It was completely over the top.

The only upsides to this place are that the wi-fi works moderately well, the location is quite good (very close to popular areas at a much lower cost than many places and this is the only reason I give the place two stars instead of one), and the restaurant is reasonably good if you just want something without having to leave the hotel.

I will never stay here again, but if you have very low standards and need a room in the area that won't break the bank, this would work.

Room Tip: If the room seems to be too small for a 'deluxe', it's probably a 'standard'. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParallelLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Empire Hotel has a chain of restuarants in Bangalore & known for their kababs.Kababs are tasty but very oily.Oil literally drips out.
Otherwise food is ok,nothing great.
Beware of take aways.They generally pack smaller pieces of Kababs for take aways unlike dine in portions.
Even on bringing the same to their manager's notice,they act ignorant & assure of rectifying it next time.But it continues every time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepak_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is based right by the main road, and about a ten minute walk to the cricket ground. Very nice local restaurants and bars based nearby. We had a very comfortable stay. The hotel itself needs a bit of a refurb as slightly dated but clean and we slept well. I am a light sleeper and the rooms at the front are very noisy as they are on the street, so there is heavy street noise. We asked to change rooms though because of this and they changed us straight away. Really nice food in the hotel too and complimentary breakfast. A good hotel all in all for the price, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat_lundie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here twice in 1 week while heading up to Hampi then back down to Kerela. It was a good base as it very central and has most things you need. However, the first visit we questioned why we had paid extra for a 'Deluxe' room. Supposedly more spacious as they seem to be at the 'end' or edge of the building with A/C units. However, they really weren't bigger at all, we must have got them to show us about 5 seperate rooms. All the non A/C rooms have fans and to be honest this was enough. The second time we stayed in a normal NON deluxe room - it was so much better and bigger - EXCEPT - We had to get room service to change all the bed sheets - there we fresh tea stains and hairs from the previous occupants.

Its a real shame hotels don't provide the most basic levels of service. If you just changed the bed and had the bare minimum quality control standards it would stop people like me having to write negative comments about the one thing a hotel is expected to do - Provide clean rooms so people can have a comfortable nights sleep - so basic!

Otherwise - Empire is fine and a 3 minute walk to the Hard Rock cafe if you fancy a real western feast, which was great when trying to get over Delhi Belly from a months trip around India.

Room Tip: Don't waste Money on the Deluxe - there's nothing Deluxe about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfcut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Hotel Empire International
Hotel Empire International
#395 of 664 in Bengaluru
92 reviews
The Signature Inn
#134 of 664 in Bengaluru
155 reviews
Kamat's Hotel Mayura
#374 of 664 in Bengaluru
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
#380 of 664 in Bengaluru
30 reviews
The Monarch Luxur
#20 of 664 in Bengaluru
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 78 Central Street | Opp BRV Theater, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Empire Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing