We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth for the price you pay for the hotel”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #189 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Jorhat, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth for the price you pay for the hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I booked this hotel by online one month before for 8th jan,2012 check in to 9th jan,2012 checkout. On the way to hotel i also call the front desk office to offer me good room. Unfortunately on reaching the front desk office person told me that have got any intimation my mail from travelguru. But, after waiting for 20 minutes they give me two AC standard room facing the street. Room was clean but very small and not worth the price. Shape of room was even triangular not rectangular. Also room was very noisy as i cant sleep properly in due to noise of traffic outside. Besides there own restaurant has only choice for non-vegetarian not for vegetarian. So, averall my experience with this hotel is poor. I will never recommend anyone this hotel as there are many big, spacious ,new hotel in bangalore offering best service as the same price. Most importantly hotel Empire is known for Bangalore for their Restaurant (Non-veg meal especially Mughlai) rather than hotel offering accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
26
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Empire hotel is part of a group of hotels, and besides the property in Central Street there is another one called Empire International close by - so make sure you go to the right one!
It is a basic hotel with old decoration, but has all the facilities including free WiFi. The restaurant in the ground floor is a busy place serving South Indian food. The best part about this hotel is the location in the heart of Bangalore; M.G. Road, Cubbon Road, Residency Road are all in walking distance, and it takes 5 minutes to walk to Shivaji Nagar, one of the main bus stations. Environmental tip: If you don't have much luggage you can take a bus from there to Mekhri circle and then take an airport bus. The whole trip from hotel to airport by bus takes a little more than 1 hour and cost 1/10 of a private taxi or car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel is located centrally and near to the happening places like M.G. Road, Brigrade Road. Rooms are neat and clean. Room service is good. WiFi is complementary and excellent signal strength. Food is excellent , specially the Kebabs. Rooms are a bit small though. Reception is helpful and waiters are very polite. 24hrs check in and out. Had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms where the noise from connecting neighboring room is a bit disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Empire Hotel is situaated in the heart of the city and a great place...You have all places to visit in banaglore and all with in radius.. The hotel has a nice quality of south and north indian type of food..... Speacially Non Veg variety..... The staff is good and friendly also rooms are nice...I would recoomend every one if u in bangalore try it once.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravinder82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

we had a pleasant stay there w e spent there 3 nights... the prices were amazing and the room was clean but a bit old, it needs renovation and it will be just perfect.. the location is great, we haven't tried the restaurant yet but it was surely looking amazingly delicious and smelled good, the staff were extra helpful and customer service oriented, we were well treated and appreciated, haven't pain a penny more than what we were told :) we had good times there :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Nice hotel, good price, good location, and very impressive staff. We arrived from the airport at around 4:30 am on Sat., spent two nights and were leaving at 6:00 am on Sunday. When we checked in, I paid for two nights (Fri. night and Sat. night). When we were checking out, the manager suddenly returned me the money for the second night because, as he said, we stayed there hardly more than 24 hours. Wow! So honest!!! Thanks!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexm262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed at The Empire Hotel at Church Street with a friend. We chose this particular hotel for the superb location it offers. It is situated in a wonderful place close to some really great pubs, restaurants, discotheques and what not. Moreover, I love the food at the Empire restaurant so I was looking forward to a pleasant experience.

The staff at the reception was friendly, but I was a little uncomfortable when he repeatedly asked me if only two men would be staying there. We were given a room only when he was sufficiently sure that it would only be us two gents.

The room itself was very ordinary, although the air-conditioner was good. My friend and I were lucky to run into two friendly young women who were also staying at the same hotel. The 4 of us had dinner together at a restaurant nearby, and came back to the hotel. Since all of us had had a tiring day, we decided to exchange facebook contact information and retire to our rooms. But I later learnt that the hotel staff was constantly monitoring our actions over the CCTV cameras, and came hollering at us when we were exchanging emails.

I found this very very unpleasant and a complete invasion of privacy. The hotel staff claimed that it was against "hotel rules" to get friendly with other guests - how utterly ridiculous!! I was appalled at such a "talibanistic" treatment meted out to us.

I would never stay at Empire Hotel again, but would rather prefer similarly priced alternatives even if it would mean compromising on the location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GoogieGoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Hotel Empire International
Hotel Empire International
#397 of 668 in Bengaluru
92 reviews
Richmond Town
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
#377 of 668 in Bengaluru
31 reviews
Treebo Silverstar
#58 of 668 in Bengaluru
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Hotel Paraag
Hotel Paraag
#281 of 668 in Bengaluru
38 reviews
The Signature Inn
#132 of 668 in Bengaluru
159 reviews
Grand Continent Hotel
#108 of 668 in Bengaluru
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 78 Central Street | Opp BRV Theater, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Empire Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing