We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Ajantha Hotel' nice family hotel on Mahatma Gandhi Road” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ajantha Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bengaluru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ajantha Hotel
Ranked #167 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“'Ajantha Hotel' nice family hotel on Mahatma Gandhi Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel has clean rooms though not very flashy. It also has suites. Has conference and function halls. Has nice vegetarian restaurant attached and other facilities.

Though on the MG Road, as it is slightly inside it is calm and comfortable. It comes in mid range and well located.

Room Tip: ac rooms have better furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumar803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
8
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Average hotel with smelly rooms. Little inside from MG road and that saves many a noise. Good restaurant, thought food is not great is definitely ok. But then be it the restaurant or the rooms, they are old buildings with average maintenance. If you are allergic to see marks /stains then this hotel is not for you. If you are ok with things as long as things are decently clean (acceptable to get on with) then you may consider. But still there is a far bette hotels for the same price on the same road in Bangalore

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balajhi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at AH for 2 nights over New Year's 2013.
1) Non-AC room was as-close-to-zero-frills-as-you-can-get-without-going-into-the-negative. Room is old and dark, the shower is a bucket, bed mattress is thin and worn, sheets are stained but clean and the towels are like sandpaper.
2) Breakfast was included and was very good. They were happy to refill our chais.
3) Location is very central, just off MG Road.
4) Staff was friendly.
5) You pay for a 24 hour stay, from the moment you check-in. Back-up generator kicks in immediately if necessary. All taxis know the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KWO333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Read about this place in lonely planet, and it seemed good and cheap - called and made a reservation, they then forgot about. anyhoo - prices have gone up since their 2011 entry in LP, fair.

Staff is friendly, the non AC rooms are clean, but smell like bonfire when they light that insane fire! There was a wedding going on, but that's hardly any reason to fill all the corridors with smoke? Breakfast was nice, when the staff remembered we ordered something. Good travel service nearby, and this hotel has a very nice location!

Helpful?
3 Thank Søren S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ajantha has the most amazing reception area, so clean and fresh, I thought I hit the jackpot but the room are at the back, not as snazzy as the reception, smelt a bit but it was ok, the shower is a bucket and 2 taps, fun times. the reception was what made the room seem like an anti climax, however the staff are great, if u need to exchange money, they give the best rate, I know I'm a Jew. The only this is the fumigation smell, maybe it was just my timing but overall it's a good place, cheap and located in a very good area.

Room Tip: Carry a spare sheet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanmadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is probably the cheapest option near MG Road. Unpretentious hotel with a good South Indian breakfast and thali meals for lunch and dinner. Rooms may be a bit musty but if you intend just to sleep,have breakfast and head out, a good option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank premsubramaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed a few nights in this Hotel. Rooms are dark, old and not very clean, some smelling of smoke. Expensive for what you get. We found some bed bugs in one room and could change to a different room. This room didn't have shower so we asked again fo another room. We were told that there were no other rooms left and only got a different room after showing on the computer all the green marked (free) rooms. No apologizes or proper reaction regarding the bed bugs.
The last night we came back to the hotel late at night and saw two very huge rats (30cm without tale) in the hotel corridor.

Staff was friendly and helpful most times (apart of the room changing). The hotel has newspaper service, every morning we found a newspaper in our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruno_auf_Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Empire Hotel
#171 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Richmond Town
Suvarna Inn
Suvarna Inn
#140 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Adarsh Inn
#391 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Hotel Paraag
Hotel Paraag
#199 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#4 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
HM Suites & Studios
#120 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajantha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajantha Hotel

Property: Ajantha Hotel
Address: 22-A, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing