We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Ajantha Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bengaluru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ajantha Hotel
Ranked #181 of 665 Hotels in Bengaluru
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Despite being a Bangalore resident, I had occasion to stay in the Ajantha Hotel in May 2012 to give company to a few friends who were visiting.

There were two big reasons I selected this hotel
a) Location - It's located right in the center of the city, along MG Road with very quick access to the new Bangalore Metro and just about a 10 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of Brigade Road. At the same time, it still manages to have a certain level of seclusion - so you won't be pestered by sounds of traffic (especially through the night)

b) Cost - At BAR, the hotel is surprisingly inexpensive and it's very attractively priced for both short stay & long stay travelers.

About the hotel itself, it does look a tad rundown from the outside but they have done a fairly good job of renovating most of the rooms. The rooms are not very large but they are not tiny either. We stayed in two of the 'Deluxe Rooms With A/C' and were not disappointed with the experience. The rooms were extremely clean and we had no complaints on that count. The hotel restaurant is decent and the price list on the menu is sure to appeal to most. There is a 'hole in the wall' convenience store just outside the hotel and it functions as a mini-department store that sells pretty much everything from cigarettes to noodles to shampoo. I would recommend the tea / coffee they serve here - it's far better than what you'd get in some very expensive places. Another aspect of the hotel I truly appreciated was the practice of dropping the daily newspaper at the doorstep at no extra charge - something that even luxury business hotels fail to do.

The hotel even has a reasonably sized parking lot that can easily accommodate upto 20 cars and two wheelers.

The only drawback of the place is that the 'security' tends to lock the gates of the actual 'residential' section by 11 PM and then vanish. So if you're coming in late, you may need to go around and find a guard who can open up the gates for you - that's what I did.

In summing up, Ajantha truly is good value for money. It's safe, inexpensively priced and most of all, has an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pratish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
8
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Plus'es (at this price range) :
1. At MG road, the heart of the city.
2. Cheaper compared to other hotels.
3. Water and electricity availability 24/7.
4. Attached veg restaurant which will surely satisfy veggies.
5. Internet cafe nearby.
6. Ample parking space.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subith86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candolim
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I would not recommend the Ajantha at the moment, although I have stayed there 2 years ago and found it OK.Made the mistake of checking in before inspecting the room as it was still being cleaned when I arrived. The first room I was given had no shower, just a bucket, which for 1000 rupees per night is not acceptable. I complained and asked for a refund but they would not give it as I had already checked in. Moved to a slightly better room with a hand held shower and cold water which I accepted for one night. Went out but when I arrived back in the afternoon for a rest building work was going on in the rooms below me - a terrible noise of banging. Receptionist said it would only go on till 6pm - 3 more hours! I said that was unacceptable, and this time they gave me a refund.

Room Tip: Do not stay while renovations are in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoartindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

the hotel is located centrally, pretty much all the places you want to travel to near the hotel, the hotel could be more cleaner, hot water was something i had to wait for, had to complain to the staff about and then they brought bucket of hot water, they said its got something to do with solar water heater not working cause "the sun" wasnt helping that day, lol. lill expensive for the rooms and service, its a nice hotel in a narrow lane but quiet and theres a small restaurant. paid 1700 for a double room with a/c. staff werent unfriendly but could be more perceptive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnytripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

As its in main city n on MG road...........Hotel is aslo affordable not too expensive...........no noise of road...........u can say no Noise pollution.............even with good staff who co-operates. In house each n every thing is comforatable including restaurant n other facility.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dushyant786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

They charge diffrent prices for diffrent people, for same facility. shabby and dingy place. unfriendly people who are not ready to listen to the customers.
never make the mistake of going for this place

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kadvasach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

the hotel was a cheap alternative in the rather expensive Bangalore:it's a pretty decent budget option in central Bangalore.The food was good.The hotel is good value for money.Amazing experience. Great frendly staff who make you feel at home. Clean and comfortable.the rooms were very very large and the food was very very good and I was very very happy .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Hotel Ivory Tower
#171 of 665 in Bengaluru
44 reviews
Richmond Town
Komfort Terraces Business Boutique Hotel
Richmond Town
The Curzon Court
The Curzon Court
#196 of 665 in Bengaluru
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
Classic Rooms MG Road
Classic Rooms MG Road
#457 of 665 in Bengaluru
11 reviews
Richmond Town
Ramanashree Brunton Road
Ramanashree Brunton Road
#178 of 665 in Bengaluru
110 reviews
Empire Hotel
#192 of 665 in Bengaluru
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajantha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajantha Hotel

Property: Ajantha Hotel
Address: Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 665 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing