We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow...very good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belair

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Belair
Ranked #528 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wow...very good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

I found this hotel very good as it was perfect as a business hotel in reasonable budget, keepin in mind that you are in Bangalore. Rooms are very spacious and services were up to the mark. Have good restaurant and pool also. In total...it was really fine.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naveengup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
3
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Bel Air is neither a hotel nor a service apartment. My experience with the hotel staff was a nightmare! The rooms was very spacious but the restaurant was poor. The AC did not work, no hot water in the wash rooms, dysfunctional room locks, linen not clean, phone not working and the list could go on.... The service of the hotel staff, especially the front desk was pathetic. They are rude, arrogant and above all will try to bluff customers. The restaurant is small and looks more like one of those road side restaurants. The food was tasteless. It looks like the hotel staff will pay attention to bigger corporates who may have blocked this hotel for their employees for long duration stay. They just do not bother about transit travelers. I would strongly recommend fellow travelers to stay away from this place. They just do not know what hospitality means!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pkbdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Have stayed there in 2009 and again Mar 2011. Good value at around Rs 3000 -3500, good rooms overall, decent breakfast (better in 09 than this time). Problem is that basic services you might expect from even a mid-range suburban hotel like this are not consistent. Worst problem was wireless Internet access, which didn't work despite not being free and the front desk staff was unable to fix the problem for 2 days. No reliable access for 2 days, after which I checked out. If they fixed this prob, it would be a reasonable value choice in the East Bangalore/Whitefield area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offshore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

Overall a no frills hotel, with a clean room and bathroom. Good breakfast (complimentary).

Gym has broken equipments so exercise with care. The A/c in the Gym was not working.
The A/c in the rooms were not working as well. I think this was due to the power cuts in bangalore.
The TV reception is not good for all channels.
The room service is good but not enough choices for food. The restaurant too is not frequented by many visitors.

The pickup and drop service to the office is a good plus.

Room Tip: Value for money. No Frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smart_Traveler_2K10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed here because the typical hotel I use in Bangalore was full.

I booked a Club Class room and was given #202 (the one from the hotel pictures).
Plus sides of the room:
- room very large, well organized
- bed is large and comfortable.

Minus sides of the room:
- TV is LCD, but too far from bed (or too small), and too close to desk.
- no lightning suitable for work at the desk, with no direct light next to it.
- windows do not close properly and do not block noise from outside. It is OK if you do not face the street, but if there is noise on the street... no chance of sleeping or working
- floor is made of black cement tiles (or "rough marble"), not the right choice for a hotel room. They are meant for exteriors, not interior.
- bathroom floor and walls are made of the same black cement tiles, which makes it look rough, tough and not-welcoming. Also, needs constant care from hotel staff
- fridge stops working when you go out. If you go to work for 9-11 hours, no chance of a cold drink when you return.
- sitting chairs and coffee table are worn and not suitabel for a "luxury business" hotel room.

If I got used to the room, it was the services which really make this hotel "special":
- Internet is sold at Reception, but does not work. It is slower than dial-up, breaks down at random times of day and night, and takes almost one day to be repaired. It only allows one computer per room connected at one time. For a business hotel, this is the biggest draw-back, and main reason why I will avoid this hotel as much as possible. Internet is resold from Airlink, and it took the hotel 30 minutes to find a working passcode, from a long list given by Airlink.
- lightning inside hotel stops after 23:00. No automatic movement detection, simply turned off. You need to navigate blindly to your room
- breakfast is un-edible if you do not like indian food. No cheese, no ham, no edible jam, no drinkable juice, just some specific indian dishes. The hotel offered to prepare custom-made omelette for me (plain omelette, no spices), they forgot after the third day. As a European I chose not to get up for breakfast, it was pointless.
- hotel does not serve any kind of alcohol, at no time of day.
- my room entry system broke down 2 times during my stay, and once it took 30 minutes for somebody to realise they do not have the backup key, so they had to escalate from the nearby room. What would have happened if that room was occupied?
- pool is a 30cm "puddle of water", last cleaned sometimes last year. Also, being positioned between the hotel restaurant and a nearby restaurant, why would anybody use it, when other guests would have lunch 2 meters away?

Overall the only problem with this hotel is that it looks very good rom the outside, well-designed in the inside, strangely furnished rooms, but with absolutely no hospitality for business travellers. If they would brand it as an "average family hotel" it would do itself more justice. "Luxury business hotel" only makes me laugh when I think about it. If they fix the internet I would stay there again given proximity to office, otherwise I'd rather spend few more thousand INR per day to stay in a decent "business" hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexC_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I was suppose to stay at this hotel for a month, on t 3rd day, one of my guests had arrived to see me, they did not allow. Tats horrible.
Also rooms r not clean, no lcd tv, old tvs, no internet, costly, rooms r too small

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chaitali2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

The hotel is very much comfortable & nice. Service is good. The only downside I felt was the costly internet charge. As it's near to the Whitefield area, the eastern Bangalore IT hub, most of the customers are for business trips & internet should be provided free. This is one thing the hotel should consider, in my opinion. Otherwise the service was satisfactory, staffs are friendly & always willing to provide their best.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MohdAnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Sherwood Suites
#169 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Treebo Cartier
#124 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koramangala
Princess Square Service Apartments
OYO Rooms Marathalli 2
#81 of 547 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 649 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belair

Property: The Belair
Address: 320/321 Silver Springs Layout Old Airport Varthur Road | Airport Varthur Main Road, Marathahalli, Bengaluru 560037, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belair and its open spaces - In a city that is rapidly becoming an urban nightmare, The Belair comes like a breath of fresh air, taking you back to a gentler time when Bangalore was known for beautiful buildings and its gardens. The designers resisted the impulse to build from wall to wall and have left space for a beautiful garden, dominated by a rugged granite rock feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belair Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing