We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for money”
Review of The Woodrose Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodrose Club
Ranked #217 of 695 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I stayed at Woodrose when I moved to Bangalore from Delhi. Pleasant place, quite functional. Gives you access to South Bangalore areas (Jayanagar, JP Nagar, BTM Layout, Bannerghatta Rd and Kanakapura Rd. Stayed here till my residential apt got ready for occupation. Nice, comfortable and secure. Friendly staff. Good place for children -- clean swimming pool, sports and other activities. Decent restaurant, nice ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajay97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at The Woodrose Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear Kajay97,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us this positive review here. We hope you have moved in comfortably and will allow us to serve you or your friends and family on their visit to Bangalore.

Thank you once again for noticing the facilities and amenities available here at the Woodrose Club!

With Warm Regards,
Gurmeet Singh
Dy. General Manager
Woodrose Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 78 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

It was real nice and pleasant environment and the staffs are well trained. This was an invitation for membership. Entire process is been proffesionally done and Hospitable enough right from the reception with welcome drink followed by escort showed around and explained in detail on membership.Its worth to be part of club,than any other club i had come across. Over all Nice place for a weekend with family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangaloreInox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at The Woodrose Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear BangaloreInox,

Thank you so much for all your positive feedback for our membership invitation program. We appreciate the time you took to visit us and write about the hospitality of the staff along with your pleasant experience.

We hope to see you more often at our facilities in order to serve you once again!

With Warm Regards,
Gurmeet Singh
Dy. General Manager
Woodrose Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I was booked at the Woodrose prior to traveling for Cervical Spine Surgery at a nearby hospital through a Medical Toursim agency. The pictures and brochure we received made it sound very luxurious.

Our room was located on the 1st floor under what we can only guess was the laundry room. It was very noisy above our heads most of the daytime. We ate at the restaurant the 1st night. We weren't impressed by the service or the food.

The room itself was decent. The bathroom was poorly lit. We asked the front desk if he could help direct us to a place to get currency exchange from US to Rupees. He said he'd let us know. We called the next day, still didn't know. Finally I contacted the Concierge at the Leela Palace a 5 star hotel and they were happy to tell us where we could find a money exchange at the Garuda Mall. The Woodrose front desk was notified we needed a taxi to take us to the hotel and we were told it would be at least 4 hours wait to have one arrive.

We were excited to use the jacuzzi and get massages during our stay. The day after our check in we were told the jacuzzi was not working and wouldn't be and there were no more massage services available. No one told us this prior to booking.

We booked for 11 days. Once there, unable to stomach the food, unable to get the needed services of massage and heat from jacuzzi we asked the front desk if we could get a refund if we checked out early. We were told twice that it would be no problem. So we looked for other facilities and found one, booked it and checked out. Our travel agent was informed through the entire ordeal. Upon arriving back in the US we were told that the Woodrose would not refund our money for early checkout and we had to pay for the unused 7 days.

After spending 5 days at the Woodrose, the day after we checked out I came down with a severe case of dysentery. Needless to say, the rest of our weeks stay was not fun. We drank bottled water and actually ate mostly crackers we brought from home, only eating the room service food at night as neither my Dad or I could handle the food.

Didn't live up to the brochure and I wouldn't recommend it to foreign travelers.

Bernadette Dickinson - Colorado USA

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BernadetteColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, General Manager at The Woodrose Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2010

Dear Ms. Bernadette

Greeting from The Woodrose!

First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay with us. It is rather unfortunate that we could not meet your expectations and make your stay comfortable. Please accept our heartfelt apologies.

While we will look into the origin of noise in the room and rectify the same, we would like to clarify that we do not have the Foreign exchange facility with us and there is no such facility available nearby, our Front office staff took time to revert to your query as he was trying to locate such a facility near by. Our Front office staff has been briefed about the agency nearby now and it is due to you that no guest in future will go through what you had to.

We do agree that we should have posted about the refurbishment of the spa facility on our website, we apologize for this lapse on our part. We regret to note that the food served to you was not to your liking, we do have guests staying with us from all over the world & we always try to find out their special requirements in terms of cuisine & taste, however, we deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you due to this.

With regards to the refund of non utilized balance days, please contact your travel agent. As a policy, he should refund 50% of the amount paid extra(for the non utilized days). We have not charged you for the entire 11 days stay.

Hope you are recuperating well. The Woodrose team joins me in wishing you a speedy recovery!

Kind regards,

Gurmeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I had got a call from this club recently saying that they were celebrating the anniversary and would want to invite me and my family to a presentation followed by a dinner. The promise was that this was going to be an exclusive, entertaining event and somebody would escort us right from the time we reach the main gate of the apartment complex. It was also promised that a reservation would be made in the parking lot. Initially I thought it was a prank call and didn't read too much into it. However there was a follow-up call from the "manager" of the facility and at this point I began considering the option.

However I was down with a lot of official work that evening and just to be courteous I called up and informed the people there that I will not be able to make it on time. At which point the "manager" told me that he was busy with the "decoration" and they were really eager to see us and it would be okay even if we were late. There appeared to be a lot of sincerity in his request and so we finally headed to the club on a week-day leaving behind lots of work to take care of.

On reaching the club we were asked for visiting cards and asked to fill up a form. To our surprise we didn't find any hint of anniversary celebration and when we looked at the form and there was a mention of a 90 minute presentation I knew we had been conned big time. Anyway decided to go with the flow. We were assigned an escort around the facilities which are wide ranging and many - almost any conceivable thing one could imagine in a routine life. While on the tour we were asked things like the car we own, the place where we stay, interests etc. Also many hints were thrown in about the utility of membership to such an exclusive and safe place. But our contention was that it was too far to be useful - and this is the one that stuck.

Finally after an hour or so of touring the facilities we were escorted to the restaurant and the waiter there was asked to "take care of us". This was a very far cry from the sumptuous exclusive veg buffet that we had been promised. The menu card was not given because this was supposed to be free. The pre-dominant feeling now was that we were under their obligation and mercy but decided to play along till the end so that the experience was completed. For about 15 minutes nobody attended to us. Then suddenly there was soup served - this was lukewarm and reeked of something non-veg. None of us managed to take in more than a few teaspoons of this. After this we were again left to our devices and there was no attention from any quarter. (Another poor family whom we had met at the reception for a similar presentation gave up at this stage and left the restaurant but we were hell bent on going through the entire thing). I beckoned the waiter and asked him how the rest of the dinner was planned for us. He told us that we will be served "chef's choice". I asked him what is the "chef's choice" on that particular day and he said he will call the chef and find out.

Then we were again left to stare at each other and the beautiful decor and ambience of the place to some pretty unseemly stares from the "paying" diners at adjoining tables. Fed up of waiting we called the waiter again and asked him what was on our menu for that day. We were again told "chef's choice". To which I asked what vegetables, breads, etc. make up the chef's choice. He again had to go back and check with his chef about this. Finally he came back saying that there was a non-veg curry, dal, veg curry, biriyani and rotis on the chef's choice menu that day.

We earnestly requested him to get the veg part immediately because our 5 year old son was getting hungry and restless and also asked him if it was difficult to serve free dinner could we order from the menu. He said that he will bring the food quickly. In another 15 mins he brought the order. The first thing he placed on the table looked like non-veg so to be sure I checked with him about this and he confirmed our fears. I told him to remove the same immediately from the table and serve us only the veg dishes. The food turned out to be good but the manner and attitude with which we were served seemed inappropriate for such a reputed place. It seemed like they were doing a charity and a huge favour by organizing the same - and there was no choice offered, not even of *not* requesting for things like the choice of default soup which we would have told him not to bring and waste. After the dinner we waited for some time trying to attract the attention of the waiter who served us and hand him over a tip, but there was no such luck. We gave up after trying for some ten minutes.

After the ordeal was over we decided to meet the escort and narrated the incident to him. He seemed very concerned initially and told us to wait for a couple of minutes while he brought his manager over to meet us. However a few minutes later he returned with the form we had initially filled and asked us to pen down our feedback on the same in a corner. We did that and canceled names and contact numbers of the references we had given so that we can save them the embarrassment.

The lessons that we have learned from this are:
1. there is no such thing as a free lunch / dinner.
2. don't go by the cold call alone. Ask them who gave them the reference and check with the person who referred about the experience.
3. if you get stuck in such a situation, keep the other party engaged by evincing enough interest and exuding hope of joining the club sooner or later. That way they are most likely going to be taking better care of you.
4. we should have questioned the absence of a buffet immediately upon entering the restaurant as this was what was promised. If the food has to be served on the table there are a number of games that can go on - and the delays can be timed to be nerve-wracking.
5. I think it was expected that we would leave after a couple of waiting periods.

All in all not a nice experience - feel like having wasted three and a half hours on a busy week-day and being cheated big time. If it was not that lie of anniversary of the club we might have requested them for a rescheduling to the weekend. Unlikely to ever join a Brigade club. This is not expected from somebody of the repute of Brigade group.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nitinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at The Woodrose Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Dear Nitinpa,

At the outset, I express our sincere apologies for this mishap. Anything that we say or do now may seem like a poor consolation, but please do accept our sincere most apologies and allow us to explain.
The Woodrose Club was developed by the Brigade Group to enhance the quality of life for the residents of Brigade Millennium by providing superlative sports facilities and ambience. The club is currently managed by Brigade Hospitality ( a subsidiary of the Brigade Group) to take care of the day-to-day operations of the club.
Brigade Hospitality, in turn, has hired Vacation Club International Ltd. (VCIL) to sell a limited number of outside memberships.
On the day of your arrival, there was a miscommunication between VCIL and Brigade Hospitality. We were not informed of the nature of your visit and hence could cater to what promised to you appropriately.
We strive hard to keep our 1300+ members and their families happy and are sad that we could not do the same for you.
On behalf of Brigade Hospitality, I would like invite you and your family to experience a memorable evening at the Woodrose. Please contact me on 98804 05401and let me know any day convenient to you for usage of our facilities and a meal at the restaurant. Do give us a change to serve you again and I am sure you will have a totally different impression about our services.
Lastly, while VCIL can get a bit aggressive with their marketing approach, we have strictly asked them to refrain from doing so and to keep us better informed to avoid a similar experience for any other of our guests.

With Warm Regards,
Gurmeet Singh
Dy. General Manager
Woodrose Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We booked this hotel for my 2days stay in Banglore.
I have stayed at many hotels over the years, But i find this experience one of the good.. It was very formal and friendly service by the hotel staff. In the Morning, regularly i got snacks and coffee before living to office.

This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room i had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good.The garden may be small, but it’s a relaxing and quiet place – one where you really don’t mind spending an afternoon or two with a good book.

A liitle word that i want say about staying in this hotel was "Awsome"

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbymayur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at The Woodrose Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear Bobbymayur,

Everyone here at the Woodrose club wishes to thank you for your extremely kind review. It is our pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our stay with us.

We hope that every time you travel on business or even with family you will consider staying with us in order to allow us to welcome you and make your stay in Bangalore more comfortable!

With Warm Regards,
Gurmeet Singh
Dy. General Manager
Woodrose Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was my third time in this place. The rooms are nice, spacious and quiet. The bathrooms are nice but not very well-lit. Food is excellent and room service is very prompt - one of the fastest room services I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarshwardhanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at The Woodrose Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear Harshwardhan Gupta,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with the Woodrose club yet again along with your kind words about the service and the rooms.

We immensely appreciate your patronage and hope that we shall be able to welcome you time and again.

With Warm Regards,
Gurmeet Singh
Dy. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Holiday Village
#177 of 695 in Bengaluru
165 reviews
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#126 of 695 in Bengaluru
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramee Guestline Hotel Bangalore
#169 of 695 in Bengaluru
171 reviews
Fantasy Golf Resort
#214 of 695 in Bengaluru
150 reviews
Happy Home Resort
#335 of 695 in Bengaluru
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodrose Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodrose Club

Address: Brigade Millennium Campus, 7th Phase, Bengaluru 560078, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > J.P. Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 695 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range: $46 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodrose Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodrose combines the graciousness of a classic club with tasteful, contemporary design & decor. Located within the city, The Woodrose is a distinguished club, with 30 well-appointed guest rooms and offers a resort-like ambience. The club offers a first class multi-cuisine restaurant and a bar, dedicated areas for meetings and gatherings, a well equipped gym, a swimming pool, indoor entertainment facilities, a spa and a salon and fully furnished, serviced guest rooms. It is an ideal place for a quiet getaway, well within the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Woodrose Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing